We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“POOR FOOD”

The Captain`s Table
Ranked #26 of 33 Restaurants in Saundersfoot
Price range: US$2 - US$3
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Captain's Table is currently undergoing a refurbishment. We look forward to welcoming back old and new customers for Easter 2016.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
“POOR FOOD”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We took the family here for lunch,when we eventually found something from the menus that was available the quality was not of the good standard from previous visits,the meals vairied between us tepid tasteless burnt and over cooked,no staff during the meal asked if everything was satisfactory, wont be returning Pity !!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaundersfootInns, Owner at The Captain`s Table, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Hi
We welcome all feedback on TripAdvisor but feel that both points of view should be fairly put.
From your review clearly you are a returning customer which in itself suggests that we must have met your expectations on several occasions previously.
On Friday there was one item not available from our "Specials menu" - the £5.95 winter warmer stew. Given the size of our standard menu/specials board and the fact that all dishes are made from fresh local produce is it really fair to say "when we finally found something from the menus that was available" when in fact all except one item was available?
In fairness we appreciate that you raised your concerns about two of your three meals whilst you were still with us. However, what you fail to mention is that we offered to change your meals and when this was declined we did not charge you for them.
I think this level of customer service is important to note to report a balanced view.
We have sold many portions of the liver and bacon and of the minestrone soup without a previous complaint. Sometimes these things are a matter of personal taste but having apologised that you did not like them, offered to replace them and then having not charged you, what else could we have done?
From the vast majority of our reviews it seems we are largely getting things right. That said there is always room for improvement and we constantly monitor all feedback and try to react to it.
Having been satisfied customers before I hope you do give us the chance to show that your previous experiences are more typical of what our customers normally enjoy.
Ian and the crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    57
    43
    38
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saundersfoot, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“brilliant sunday lunch”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

we went to the captains table for sunday lunch, we were served quickly, there was plenty of veg and meat, the yorkshire pudding the a home made one, will defo be going again, they also had the children's running so my kids were happy

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LukeEdwards_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaundersfootInns, Owner at The Captain`s Table, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to post your review.
It is pleasing that you had a good experience and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Ian & the crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

We had the captains stew with dumplings very nice it was piping hot as was the bowl it was served in would recommend this on a cold day very tastie

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaundersfootInns, Owner at The Captain`s Table, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Hi

Thank you for your review. It's the little things like warming the crockery that make a difference, so it is really pleasing when someone recognises and appreciates these little touches.
We hope to see you again soon.
Ian, Gareth & the crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

If your looking for a place to eat I would recommend the captain s table there were 4 of us 2 adults and 2 children and all had an excellent meal you really do get what you pay for, good service and friendly staff would definitely visit again if in Saundersfoot

Helpful?
Thank Marcus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaundersfootInns, Owner at The Captain`s Table, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hi
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review.
It is very pleasing to hear that you experienced exactly what we strive to achieve - good food, a n excellent range of drinks, value for money and excellent service.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Ian, Gareth and the crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor food but helpful staff”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I went for a winter warmer special of large Yorkshire pudding filled with roast dinner. The turkey was not fit of consumption and the Yorkshire was a very thick flat round of batter. It was raw in the middle and dry and tasteless on the edges. It's a real shame because a Yorkshire pud is pretty straight forward and for the price of £5.95 it would have been fantastic value. When I showed the food to the man behind the bar he agreed to not charge me for the meal and was apologetic. My partners bangers and mash was fine, but they certainly weren't good quality sausages as described in previous reviews. It's a real shame the food was so poor as the ambience was good and the staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aw19862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaundersfootInns, Owner at The Captain`s Table, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hi
I have just read your review with something approaching disbelief.
I have spoken to my manager. We do not do the winter warmer menu on a Sunday but when you arrived yesterday and asked for it, shortly before sevice was due to begin, he did do it for you because we always try to provide our customers with good service.
The turkey in question is local Pembrokeshire turkey crown and we sold many further portions yesterday without issue or complaint.
The Yorkshire pudding is homemade and in truth will therefore vary in size etc but my manager says it was cooked.
Because we do not normally offer the winter warmer menu on a Sunday we had to use breakfast sausages but again these are not cheap and please remember you paid £5.95 for a plate full of freshly prepared food..
My manager did not agree about the Yorkshire pudding being undercooked but when you refused an alternative meal he offered not to charge you as a goodwill gesture.
Sadly his efforts clearly did not buy any goodwill.
We are trying to provide good fresh homemade food at affordable prices with excellent service. Most of our customers seem to agree that we are achieving this and indeed you agree in terms of ambience and service.
Sadly you clearly think £5.95 should go further than it does. Given your review I wish we had just said that we don't do that menu on a Sunday. trying to be nice clearly didn't pay off.
Ian and the crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Captain`s Table also viewed

Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Captain`s Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing