We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel with good facilities”
Review of Merlewood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Merlewood Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Certificate of Excellence
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel with good facilities”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Our second visit to the Merlewood and still as good. The heated outdoor pool was our granddaughter's firm favourite. Breakfasts were very good and staff are very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RogerA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    55
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
59
53
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We made a last minute booking after stumbling across this hotel (it's location has prime views of the bay) They staff were truly lovely, and found us a great room at a great price! The rooms were very clean and bright, exceptional en suite bathrooms were a real plus! Breakfast was a variety of hot and cold, anything from fruit and cereal to a fry up was catered for. We also took a chance in the pool (in British summer it's always a risk!) but the pool was lovely and warm, with gorgeous views to soak up around the pool after... I found it was a great place to stay and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trysomethingnewmissg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

On top of a very steep hill, so don't go if you cannot walk easily. The views over the bay with the swimming pool in the foreground are wonderful. Food good, staff excellent. Fair sized room with plenty of hot water. Walls a little thin, so what. It didn't bother us. Recommended.

Room Tip: We were in room 20. View of the sea if window open. Excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Had our usual week in Saundersfoot. Met up with some families who had been there before, so good to chat. Nice breakfasts, we stayed half board, food is good, simple menus (to our liking) Nice view over the village, and the new decking is a nice addition. Pool fresh as usual, but it all adds to the fun. Lol

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BootsMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We've stayed here now for the past 15 years on our summer holiday break and we love it. You read some of the reviews below and in some ways wonder what people expect!!

Merlewood Hotel is a 2 star hotel (not a 5 star or chain hotel!) with a large lounge/bar area, swimming pool (which has never ever been discoloured as someone mentioned below..!!)

Yes, maybe some parts may need refurbishing but they do what they can a bit at a time and since we have stayed there's a new patio area and decking area by the pool, they are putting new bathroom suites in to the ensuites and so they are refurbishing things!!

If you look on booking.com there are some great reviews and I think that it depends on the type of person you are as to whether or not you like somewhere. Young people like myself may want somewhere modern and funky...Merlewood isn't that but it is a lovely place to stay, the staff are all friendly and it's always clean (including bedding - i've never had stale sheets as mentioned in another review) and tidy and that's what you want for a place you are staying in overnight and then out to visit tourist attractions for the day.

From someone who's stayed 15 years now, please look at what some people are mentioning and then look at the positive reviews....some people just like to pick and pick!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GEF1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I stayed at the Merlewood Hotel for three nights with my friend and our three young children. Having read the latest entry on here before we left, I had low expectations! I am pleased to say we were pleasantly surprised. No, it's not a five star hotel and some of the decor is dated but we didn't experience the staff rudeness or cleanliness issues mentioned in other reviews.

We had the family suite which was ideal for us. The decor wasn't to our taste but it was clean, didn't smell and the bathroom was clean. It is clearly run on fairly low staff levels and they did have to jog between the bar and reception desk (both of which had a bell) but we didn't have to wait long. The staff we encountered were very friendly. The hotel pool was open and clean and the kids loved playing in there. There was a good family atmosphere, with entertainment on some nights. Many families staying there were on repeat visits which I think speaks for itself.

The location was good, with a short (albeit steep hilled) walk down to Saundersfoot beach.

We had a full breakfast everyday, with a selection of cereals, yogurts etc for the healthier guests. The choice included bacon, sausage, eggs, hash browns, tomatoes, baked beans, fried bread, toast - what more do you need?! This kept us going until teatime.

The dinner menu was limited and we only chose to eat there one night but the meal was fine (not gourmet but it was off the bar menu).

If you are looking for a no-frills but comfortable stay in a hotel where you don't have to worry about the kids running about a bit, then this is ideal. If you hate kids running about, it's probably not for you.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

been here 2 hours and already planning our escape!!! planned to come here with my fiance for his birthday and its totally rewaned evrything!! i arrived with un welcome man behind the desk running round (seemed like he was the only one running the place!! was given our room which has mold all up the wall and hair all in the shower the bedding was smelly!! ..went to see the pool it was very discouloured!! there was no staff behind the bar never anyone around to advise or give you any infomation!! i payed 225!!! for 3 days and its not worth this money at all!!! i am now trying to get a refund which he said he cant give me!!he has to speak to the boss!!! i would rather sleep on the street!! its like a drugged up hostel!!!! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY OR TIME ITS VERY DATED SMELLY AND HORRIBLE!!!! NO PIECE NO PRIVACY NO CLEANESS!!! DISCUSTING CUBARD DRAWERS LINED WITH WALL PAPER MOLED UP THE WALLS HAIR IN THE SHOWER BROWN STICKY STUFF IN THE TILES!!!! SERIOUSLY DONT GO THERE!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kelsy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saundersfoot
0.2 mi away
The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant
0.1 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saundersfoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlewood Hotel

Property: Merlewood Hotel
Address: St. Brides Hill, Saundersfoot SA69 9NP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Saundersfoot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Merlewood Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Merlewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlewood Hotel Saundersfoot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing