We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't understand how the Merlewood is only 5th of 5 in the rankings-it should be much higher”
Review of Merlewood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Merlewood Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a recommendation and we'll definitely be back. Lovely clean spacious room, very friendly welcome at all times and nice breakfast too all for a reasonable price. I can only assume that the hotels in Saundersfoot which are currently rated higher on Trip Advisor than the Merlewood must all be of exceptional quality with reasonable prices to match .

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jinman72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

Clean hotel, bar serving hand pulled ale, ok breakfast, but if you want a good night sleep I'm afraid you need to go elsewhere.
We were in the annexe across from reception and the walls and floors were paper thin. We managed to get off to sleep (the miracle of ear plugs), but nothing could withstand the couple above us having a bust up at 2.30am. I'm not exaggerating when I say we could hear every word. When they eventually stopped arguing the bloke nodded off fairly quickly, leaving the building reverberating with his snores. His wife woke him up and shouted at him again a few times, but eventually she gave up. As did we on the hope of getting any sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SiobhanMacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
view2012, Owner at Merlewood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for your valued comments, We really appreciate them.

I am sorry you had a bad experience with noise. It would be helpful if you could let us know the dates you stayed, so that we can look into this further. I have noted your comments, and will certainly look into this.

We hope that we can accommodate you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Pauline Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We just arrived home from the merlewood hotel saundersfoot, what a lovely hotel and nice welcome we recieved from the lady on reception. Myself my daughter and my mum had a twin and a single room. The rooms were spotless and clean, we had a lovely walk in shower a very spacious bathroom and really comfortable beds with lovely crisp white bedding. we had tea and coffee facilities and lovely new refurbished room. My mum had the same with her single room. The hotel was situated on top of the hill as you drive out of saunderfoot, it was a five minuite walk down hill into saundersfoot, where there are lots of lovely little shops to explore and lots of restaurants and bars, We took a long walk along the front through a couple of dark tunnels into wisemans bridge, where you can have a well deserved drink and meal. Then look forward to the walk back. The hotel was central to tenby and narberth and haverfordwest, and lots of lovely places to visit.
We enjoyed the breakfast , the selection was fantastic from cerials to fresh juices and as much cooked breakfast you could eat, the dinning room was lovely with nice white tablecloths and as much good food you could eat.
In the evening after a full day out you could relax in a nice bar and entertainments room, where you can get a bar snack if you need one.
Overall we had a lovely weekend break away, and we will be back to the merlewood hotel again.
Thanx for making our break a lovely one.

Room Tip: WE had a ground floor room num 3. very nice but next time we would like a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank diane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We visited the Merlewood hotel from the 4th-8th August and had another lovely stay.

The staff were friendly as always and the room was spot on - comfortable, clean and well furnished. It was serviced every day and we could not complain about any aspect of it.

The breakfast is fantastic with a choice of fruit juice, cereal, toast, fruit, yoghurt and full english fry up! It was a full house when we stayed but we did not have to wait for fresh items and it was all cooked to perfection. We also had the evening meals of which there was a decent choice and were also cooked well. Catering for gluten free was also good.

We also enjoyed the entertainment in the evenings with a quiz, bingo and music and enjoyed a swim in the pool before lunch albeit a bit nippy! The hotel is well situated so that we could wander down to the town after dinner or to the beach during the day.

A pleasant stay - thank you to all the staff :0) x

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bexltl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We've been to this hotel for over 15 years now and normally we meet with friends and stay for the week but this year we could only make it for the weekend.

Lovely welcome as always, staff friendly, bedrooms have had new tv's in the rooms too.

A great hotel for a family wanting somewhere with entertainment, a pool and lots to see and do around!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GEF1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The hotel is clean, the breakfast is serve yourself with plenty of choice. The staff are very friendly and helpfull.The pool was a welcome feature after hot days on the beach. Not sure it would be good for older people or people that find walking uphill painfull. It is quote handy for everything. Its the first time I have visited Saundersfoot, what a pleasant surprise, no tacky shops,rubbish chippys and scruffy bars. We used the beach the first day but went to Manorbier beach the next day whch is great.

Room Tip: We had a family room with a double and single in it which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BillCRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Nice hotel, clean rooms staff helpful and breakfast help yourself and plenty of it,only drawback it1s on top of the hill., took about 8 minutes to walk up from Saundersfoot, some good pubs in Saundersfoot and weather good.Booked the trip online and cost £150 for 2 nights a twin room,bathroom good excellent shower.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KelvinPugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saundersfoot
0.2 mi away
The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant
0.1 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saundersfoot
1,216 reviews
2.7 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
2.5 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
739 reviews
3.5 mi away
Penally Abbey Hotel Ltd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlewood Hotel

Address: St. Brides Hill, Saundersfoot SA69 9NP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Saundersfoot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Price Range: £62 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Merlewood Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Merlewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlewood Hotel Saundersfoot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing