We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Merlewood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Merlewood Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Just stayed over for a couple of days while on business. The hotel overall was clear and tidy and very comfortable, and was pleasant to spend time on paperwork overlooking the sea with a coffee.What was more surprising was the level of service and how helpful the staff were. Couldn't do enough for me which considering the price was brilliant. Oh, and the breakfast was great as well.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank PaulW-360720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have stayed in many hotels and guest houses in Tenby and Saundersfoot but this is by far the best. The staff were amazing, so helpful and friendly and it was one of the cleanest hotels we have ever stayed in. The food was wonderful and the views magnificent, you would pay five times as much for the view from the St Brides Hotel which is opposite if you stayed there. It certainly surpasses the 2 stars it has. Another bonus is that it has plenty of parking and it also has a lovely outdoor swimming pool.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This hotel has a lovely friendly touch with the staff making every effort to get to know you. I last stayed a year ago and the manager (or he might be the owner, I'm embarrassed to say he remembers more of me than I do of him) remembered me and information about me in a way that is incredibly impressive given he must have seen thousands of customers in the intervening year.
Ok. Its a seaside hotel in a small town. It has obviously been renovated a couple of times. The rooms aren't huge, neither are the en-suite bathrooms - nor are the prices. Everything is clean, fresh and well decorated. You wouldn't want to stay in the room beyond sleeping in it, but then there is a large comfortable lounge with loads of space. I do feel I have to comment about the shower - the shower was amazing - it was hot and the pressure was fabulous - I could have stayed in it all day!
Meals were pretty much what you would expect for this type of hotel. Simple fare, well cooked, simply presented. It isn't 5 star restaurant material, but neither are the prices.
So, all in, good value for money. Somewhere I'd definitely go back to. It isn't the Ritz but it doesn't charge Ritz prices :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Just had a wonderful break at the Merlewood Hotel in Saundersfoot. We looked after royally . The staff could not do enough for us. Entertainment and meals were extremely good but weather not so good but more than made up for by the way we were treated by the hotel staff.Went with GB tours and driver Dennis was great (lakeside caches). Happily recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hyundai7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My wife and I booked a short break in Pembrokeshire through GB Tours. After a drive through the Welsh countryside, we arrived at the Merlewood Hotel in Saundersfoot. We were welcomed on arrival by the Front of House Manager and the booking in formalities were very quickly carried out and our luggage delivered to our room. We spent 4 comfortable nights at the hotel, food was excellent throughout, with choices for breakfast and evening meal. Entertainment was provided each night and the staff went out of their way to ensure all the guests had a pleasant stay. The hotel is situated on St Brides Hill which is quite steep downhill to reach the town, but buses do pass the hotel. On our departure, the staff turned out to wave us off, a nice touch to a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

OH MY GOD! This hotel is AMAZING ! I have been going to the Merlewood hotel for 12 years. If Pauline or Russell are reading this then we are also known as the RUDDY'S! Our rowdy bunch love going to the Merlewood hotel, especially Russell who organises all the quizzes just for us. Sandalwood are the best performing act there and their song which our family can't stop singing 'Africa'. The best song EVER ! The service, cleanliness and location are really good. The swimming pool is great for all 5 children. And the breakfast is nice but the service is quite bad at breakfast ever since Russell stopped serving at that time. To sum up, Russell is the best and the Merlewood hotel is the best hotel ever!

Room Tip: The room at the top of the stairs is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed for 6 nights at this hotel as part of a shearings group, very disappointed! we were treated as second class, Staff surly and unfriendly except for Russell the barman he was brilliant, food although well cooked was served in very small portions (salad garnish- 3 pieces of lettuce half a ring of red onion and a slice of tomato, gammon very bad half a slice over cooked and dry served with jacket potato, again half a potato dried up in oven, inedible! Porridge served in an ice cream sundae dish 2 tablespoons maximum. Ended up telephoning Shearings to complain, food portions improved slightly after that. Toilets in bar not cleaned properly, dirt and fluff behind door there all week. Breakfast was good you helped yourself, I would recommend Bed and Breakfast only if you don't want to go to bed hungry.

Room Tip: Downstairs courtyard rooms noisy from rooms above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peruphasma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saundersfoot
0.2 mi away
The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant
0.1 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
1,179 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saundersfoot
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
568 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cwmwennol Country House
Cwmwennol Country House
#5 of 5 in Saundersfoot
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlewood Hotel

Address: St. Brides Hill, Saundersfoot SA69 9NP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Saundersfoot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Price Range: £54 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Merlewood Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Merlewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlewood Hotel Saundersfoot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing