We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch at The Orangery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Visited for Sunday lunch with family. Enjoyed a drink in the bar first, with just a short wait for our pre booked table to become available. The welsh beef was delicious, as was the turkey my partner ordered. The yorkshire pudding was very overcooked but that was the only criticism. A good experience overall, fast service, hot tasty food and very courteous staff. Would visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

We booked last minute for two nights and were delighted to get a very nice large room with a fantastic bathroom (bath and shower). The staff were very pleasant and interested in how we were enjoying our stay. The breakfast was served hot and appetising, we enjoyed one evening meal which was well presented and tasty. Very good location for beach and shops - no problem finding car park as directions given by receptionist were very accurate and easy to follow, we will stay again!

Room Tip: Room 21 suited us fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and very pleased we chose this hotel.
The hotel is in a perfect location, beach on the door step and all the shops were in minute walks.
The car park was round the back of the hotel which was easy to get to, the staff were very friendly and always available to help, the breakfast menu was really good and catered for pretty much everyone and very large portions.
The rooms were very well cleaned and very comfortable beds.
Would not hesitate in recommending this place to anyone and can not wait for our return.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welshie212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed at the Gower Hotel for two nights last week to celebrate our Anniversary and had a lovely time.
The hotel is in a great location and Saundersfoot is a very nice little seaside town.The weather was kind to us as well.

We opted for the dinner,bed and breakfast option and had no complaints with any of the meals that we had.The food was freshly cooked and plentiful,in fact neither of us could manage the three courses plus coffee as they were huge portions.
Breakfast offered lots of choice and was also very well cooked.All members of staff that we met were also very polite and helpful.

When booking I mentioned that it was our anniversary and asked for a nice room,which was exactly what we got.It was on the third floor at the front with a partial sea view.An adequate size double room with an en suite including a corner bath.
The room was clean and towels changed daily if required also tea/coffee etc.replenished if necessary.
The hotel bar was comfortable and the drinks were reasonably priced as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvonneF471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed at the Gower hotel recently - we took a short trip to Wales stayed a couple of nights in a very superior hotel near to Tenby then decided to try one night in Saundersfoot - The Gower hotel looked ok from outside booked a double room for 1 night which was £94 per room per night. We assumed for this price it would probably be of the same standard as our Tenby experience ( that room had cost us £90) We were very disappointed with the standard of the rooms, they were however very clean but definately out dated decor, beds were the worst I have ever slept on in a hotel. Our first room had broken springs in mattress and to be fair to the staff they changed the room immediately. Although that bed was better it was still poor for the price of hotel. Maybe slightly picky but sheets didnt match, lighting in room was very poor, bathroom was very small with just a shower, the door wouldnt open fully as the toilet was in the way so would be difficult for someone larger than average to get out. Car park is not well sign posted and difficult to find. Having said that hotel was clean, in a good location to beach and town and staff were pleasant which is a bonus just didnt feel it was worth £90 per night !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andrea w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed with my husband for 2 nights short break away from the phones! Booked last minute.
We had a room at the rear of the hotel overlooking the car park. Room was clean and comfy with the usual t.v. coffee/tea (replenished daily) LUSH! Beds + pillows were comfy no lumps or bumps! Bathroom was good size(corner bath with overhead shower) again spotless!
Overall hotel was clean and tidy. Staff chatty and helpful and very polite.
We didn't have evening meal so sorry unable to comment - but breakfast was lush - lovely hot food and plates, not greasy and my husband being a butcher was loving the sausage! lol :)
This has become our new "bolt hole" and would have no hesitation in recommending.
p.s. Rooms on the front of the hotel would be subject to traffic noise - glad we had rear room.

Thank you Gower Hotel and see you all again soon! :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 220chris220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We were disappointed with The Gower Hotel. Our room was satisfactory, but the bed linen didn't match and the headboard on one of the beds was not attached to the bed properly and squeaked all night. Our room looked out over next door's hotel, and there was an air conditioning unit below which made plenty of unwanted noise.The car park is very difficult to manoeuvre round and find too. Bar is not that inviting as it's so dark. Firniture in the whole hotel needs an upgrade. More positively, the staff were welcoming but it would have been nice to been shown to our room; also, there was no info on the hotel or area in the room which would have helped. We booked ages in advance and didn't get a sea view either.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacki n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saundersfoot
0.2 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
1,197 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Lamphey Court Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
737 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cwmwennol Country House
Cwmwennol Country House
#5 of 5 in Saundersfoot
146 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant

Address: Milford Terrace, Saundersfoot SA69 9EL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Saundersfoot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Price Range: £81 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gower Hotel sits just back from Saundersfoot vibrant centre - the ideal spot to escape for a touch of peace and quiet, yet close enough to step right into the life of the resort.Comfort and Quality are the key notes of the decor, a theme which extends to each of our 20 en-suite rooms, some of which have balconies and some of which enjoy views across the bay. We have a choice of twin, double and family rooms, all equipped with tea and coffee facilities, colour TV, telephone. A secure, off-street car park is behind the hotel. We're a hands-on business, so the staff at the Gower share the enthusiasm for understanding the value of a first class standard of service, and we're always ready to be flexible in our arrangements for group visits, small conferences or business meetings. All are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gower Hotel Saundersfoot
The Gower Hotel And Orangery Restaurant Saundersfoot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing