We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
St Brides Spa Hotel(Saundersfoot)
US$313
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Malin House(Saundersfoot)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Merlewood Hotel(Saundersfoot)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Claremont House(Saundersfoot)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pinewood B&B(Wiseman's Bridge)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
104
87
39
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
104
87
39
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar park at the rearsunday lunchlarge corner bathtwin bedded roomthree coursesone night stayrecommend this hotellovely hotelfull welsh breakfastshort breakfamily roomlovely atmospherepleasant staybit datedtwo nightsyorkshire puddingbreakfast menu
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed here recently with a friend, the room was clean and tidy, the hotel restaurant looked lovely even though we went out and the service was exceptional, from the time i arrived i was helped with my parking, and then later in the evening i had to leave the hotel to return home at very short notice, my car had been blocked in by another guest, i called the late night number as it was 11.30pm and the gentleman who came and helped me was excellent! he contacted the guest who's car was in my way and they came to move it, he could not have been more helpful so if you are looking for somewhere to stay where the guest experience is really valued then look no further

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamj j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Gower Hotel for one night only. Andy and staff very helpful. Had a room at the front, good double glazing so no noise. Room not huge but large enough, clean and modern as was the whole Hotel. Fantastic central location. We had a few enjoyable drinks in the Bar and breakfast was ample and very nice. Did not eat in the restaurant apart from breakfast but it was a very nice room. Would definately stay again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Straners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Came down here for food with friends, the service was very good, main man was very welcoming. The starter and main meal was delicious and plenty of veg came along side the meal. More bread was brought out for the starter after we had asked. We were slighly let down by the puddings. They were not great but did not ruin the meal xx

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank pembsgirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

For almost £100 per night you could do better booking elsewhere. The rooms and common areas are clean and tidy however the furniture such as the bed has lost its spring.

For breakfast -it was uncomfortable. With no one to direct us as to where to be seated. However once we choose a table we were requested to move as it was set for dinner???!
Already the awkwardness by the silence and everyone now focusing on something to occupy the time whilst waiting for their orders.

For £100 per night there are various other options available. Despite mentioning sea views this is true if one makes an attempt to see in between the construction building in front.

This place is not an experience - it's a factory with no heart.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bnaicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGowerHotel, Owner at The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Firstly, we take all complaints seriously. We believe, as do the guests that return here time after time, that £94.00 is very reasonable in our main season for a 'Welsh Tourist Board' rated '3 Star' Hotel. This price has not risen for over 8 years and is based upon feedback from guests relating to our tariff.
All too often we find it a shame that if something had been mentioned to us at the time then we could have made the stay more enjoyable or switched rooms. Guests also have the right not to stay with us if they believe conditions are not suitable for them.
The building site opposite is totally beyond our control and when finished, will make a very nice improvement to the village. The work is only carried out on the site between 8am and 4pm Monday to Friday. We do not state that all rooms have a sea view. We can sometimes provide guests with a sea view if and when available. Obviously the building work at the moment will possibly hinder this in some rooms but is again beyond our control.
During our breakfast we have one or two staff out front (depending on how busy we are) to meet, greet and seat the guests. Obviously though from time to time they need to go into the kitchen to place orders, make toast, stock up on juice etc. There is never more than a few minutes when the staff are away from the dining room to see to the guests. We do share the function of the dining room between dinner and breakfast and so therefore sometimes it is possible that a guest will sit on a dinner table by mistake. That is no problem whatsoever and we are always on hand to direct the guest to the right table as we did on this occasion. Every morning we have Radio 2 on in the dining room so there is certainly not an 'Awkward silence' although we appreciate that Chris Evans is not to everyone's taste. There was one morning where the radio was broken but that was replaced within the hour.
All mattresses are replaced every year although as is the way of the universe things like springs do eventually break and need replacing. Again, if we were told at the time then we would have rectified the problem immediately.

All our reviews will tell anyone that contrary to these comments, that our staff are ALWAYS, polite, helpful, friendly and courteous.

To say that we are a factory with no heart is deeply offending and in no way true as our many loyal friends, locals and regular guests will testify (Again please read our other reviews). We are rated highly for many reasons and for many hundreds of positive reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

we went to the gower as we couldn,t find any other accommodation, it was quite expensive we were the only 2staying in whole hotel . breakfast was lovely, room was good only thing that let it down was flag outside window made a lot of noise and hairs in bath. and there was a strong smell of vomit on stairs.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liz p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews