We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT ACCOMODATION FOR 4TH VISIT TO WOODLANDS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Woodlands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT ACCOMODATION FOR 4TH VISIT TO WOODLANDS”
Reviewed 6 August 2011

This was my wife & I's 4th stay at the Woodlands in a beautiful part of the Pembrokeshire National park, Saundersfoot. Mine hosts Mark & Nicole as friendly & welcoming as ever. Nothing is too much trouble. Stayed in room 10, on this visit, that overlooks a gorgeous well stocked rear garden that has plenty of room for morning exercise with the collies Gypsy & Indi after a large Welsh breakfast. Good breakfast choice with plenty of variety. All accomodation, dining room, TV lounge & bar area are spotless. Plenty of free parking at the front of the hotel. A 3 minute walk down the lane opposite the Hotel to the beach from where you can walk around to Saundersfoot Harbour & thence into the village. Alternatively walk down the road into the beautiful village of Sandersfoot. We use our stays at the Woodlands as a base for visiting surrounding beauty spots such as Barafundle Bay, Bosherston Lily Ponds, Newgale & St Davids..Plenty of information in the Hotel for where to go & what to do as an alternative to relaxing on the beach. I/we would recommend this Hotel to any one who requires good accomodation, excellent food & a welcoming atmosphere at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Make Mark & Nicole aware of your requirements. They will oblige if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidayadvice186368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    21
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
29
98
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We have just come back from Saundersfoot and stayed at the Woodlands Hotel. Nicole and Mark made us very welcome when we arrived, our room was overlooking the beautiful garden and it was very clean and comfortable, the decor was traditional, the breakfast was fantastic, one of the best we have had. The only thing for me was that although the hotel was only a few hundred yards from the harbour, village centre and beaches it was located on a very steep hill which as a person who has problems with arthritis and mobility I could not climb the hill, so we had to go out in the car all the time, I did give it a try on the first night before I realised quite how steep it was and it almost killed me walking back up!! I had to stop several times to get my breath and to rest. Having said that if you are fit and healthy it would be no problem and many people were walking up and down the hill without any trouble, just be warned if you have mobility problems, because I had not realised quite how steep and inaccessible for me, it would be. We did enjoy our stay at the Woodlands and loved playing with the owners dogs in the garden, we would return and would recommend it to others wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the garden which was beautiful, the front rooms offer a partial seaview though I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissieh9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This is a lovely small and friendly hotel only 350 yards from Saundersfoot centre (which is reached down a steep hill). Mark and Nicole are great hosts, with a huge knowledge of the surrounding area and local eateries. Breakfasts are wonderful and the only time we ate an evening meal there it was also delicious. There is a beautiful rear garden which is spacious and full of colour and the energetic collies will keep you entertained for ages with a game of fetch! Everywhere was spotlessly clean and well maintained and all in all we had a most enjoyable stay and would recommend it to all. For the small extra cost book a superior room as they are more spacious.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dukieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Mark and Nicole are superb hosts and made us extremely welcome, They were a mine of information about the area recommending restaurants and places to visit.
Nothing was too much trouble for them. Breakfast was delicious and set you up for the whole day.
Our room was at the front of the hotel with a delightful sea view. The whole hotel was exceptionally clean and furnished to a very high standard. We had a wonderfully comfortable bed and slept well each night. Every extra you could wish for was provided as standard.
There is a garden at the rear of the hotel, a bar and a comfortable lounge for guests to use too.
This was the best hotel, by a long way, which we stayed in on our tour of Wales. Better than the four star hotel which we visited a couple of nights later.
The Woodlands is superb value for money and we hope to return before too long.

Convenient location for visiting all the south Pembroke attractions, which are many and varied. We had not visited this part of Wales before and found it charming.

Room Tip: Exceptonally clean. Great attention to detail and everything was provided for maximum enjoyment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cgreenhough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

nicole and mark made us very welcome and colin even carried our bags to our room (no 7 ) which was large and bright with a splendid sea view and spotlessly clean. breakfasts were first class.nice overall a great stay and we would highly recommend it

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpmderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Mark and Nicole are excellent hosts who make you feel very welcome. Nothing is too much trouble even providing towels for the beach. The rooms were spacious and scrupulously clean. The beakfasts were first class if you want a drink in the evening bar prices were very reasonable. Would highly recommend this.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 999jasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire Moorlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Seems ages since we last visited Saundersfoot. Its probably three years. We opted for the tried and trusted Woodlands run by Mark and Nichole Bowles. We arrived Sunday 26th June and stayed till Saturday 2nd July 2011. Stayed in room 2. A massive bed very comfortable got a great sleep. The breakfast is superb. Have the full Welsh and make sure you have mushrooms and tomato. I don't know how they do it but they taste superb. Evening meals at the Woodlands are well worth a try and the bar is open every night for residents. You can unwind in garden and plan your days out. I have no reservations at all in recommending this hotel for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pschmgoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saundersfoot
0.0 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Merlewood Hotel
Merlewood Hotel
#4 of 5 in Saundersfoot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cwmwennol Country House
Cwmwennol Country House
#5 of 5 in Saundersfoot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Hotel

Property: The Woodlands Hotel
Address: St. Brides Hill, Saundersfoot SA69 9NP, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Saundersfoot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Woodlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small guest accommodation 450 yards village centre and 200 yards from the beach, all rooms en suite, superior rooms are larger with sea view, standard rooms overlook the garden. Free off road parking. Fully licenced, bar leads onto the beer garden. On the Pembrokeshire coastal path route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Saundersfoot
The Woodlands Hotel Saundersfoot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing