We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful 4-night stay at The Woodlands”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Woodlands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Certificate of Excellence
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A wonderful 4-night stay at The Woodlands”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have recently returned from a 4-night stay at The Woodlands Hotel where the owners, Mark and Nicole (who also run it on a daily basis) can be justly proud of the service they provide to their guests. This is an extremely well run small hotel, primarily offering B&B accommodation but with the option of an evening meal if required. A warm welcome greeted our arrival, and plenty of infomation on Saundersfoot and surrounding area was available.

Breakfast was substantial, superbly cooked and beautifully presented. Choices included cereals, fruit, fruit juices, yoghurt, full Welsh/English breakfast, with variations on the theme, toast and preserves and ample tea/coffee. We dined in one evening and, again, we were able to select from an extensive A La Carte menu. The evening meal was probably the best we sampled during our stay in Saundersfoot, which was comparable in quaity to any 5* restaurant meal. All meals are prepared by Nicole herself, and served by Mark.

Our en-suite bedroom on the second floor, with a sea view, was large, airy and spotlessly clean, with full bathroom, toiletries and quality towels.

The well kept gardens, which are open to guests, comprise a large lawn with borders containing colourful summer flowers and plants and, whilst not obligatory to play with ther friendly dogs, we enjoyed their company and 'throwing the ball'.

This was our third visit in recent years and we would not hesitate to stay at The Woodlands again in the future. Extremely good value for money.

Well situated and within walking distance of he beach, restaurants and other attractions.

Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the owners are to be congratulated on their hard work and dedication in ensuring their guests enjoy a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    25
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
31
108
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Lovely clean hotel, rooms were spotless, great welcome when we arrived where we were given a lot of advise on where to go and the best eating and drinking places in the village. Our initial chat with Nicole when we arrived actually planned out our whole weekend as we had previously been unsure what we were going to do but her recommendations were perfect.
Breakfast was lovely, they accommodated our different requests each day. Good choice of cereals and fruit juices in the mornings. Lovely back garden, and communal areas.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olveragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midsomer Norton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at Woodlands in half term week, the two adults having a lovely comfortable king size bed and our teenage son his own bed - all in room 2. The room was spacious and homely. The beds were great and the room had everything we could need (en suite, tea facilities, TV) including a sea views.

From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Nicole we were made to feel at home. Nicole suggested a route around the lovely area of Pembrokeshire as we were only on a short break - advice which proved really useful and was appreciated by us.

Woodlands is at the top of a steep hill but just a short walk from the picturesque harbour and the shops and restaurants. Despite being on the side of a main road, we had no issues with traffic noise overnight.

We ate at Woodlands on our first night and we cannot praise the food enough; it was absolutely delicious! Mark served us and was so helpful and kind. The breakfasts were also great - especially the mushrooms and the sausages!

Nothing was too much trouble for Nicole or Mark, not that we needed much else as everything was perfect.

Lovely hotel, lovely people. We really hope to return one day. 11 out of 10!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rhyssmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a five night break at The Woodlands hotel on May 12th 2014 till May 17th 2014. It was a most enjoyable stay. We were made to feel so welcome by Nicole and Mark. The hotel it's self was very comfortable and spotlessly clean, and the breakfast wonderful. One night we stayed in the hotel for our evening meal it was excellent on par with any first class restaurant.Along with very good weather we really did have a most enjoyable few day in charming Saundersfoot and would definitely recommend this hotel and Pembrokeshire to any one.
Pat and Graham Barnett

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank patandgrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margetshoechheim, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed in a standard double room for 3 nights in May 2014. Everything was perfect: nice room, a tidy house, and with proprietors Nicole & Marc extremly pleasant hosts. The whole house is well cleaned and tidy and has a beautiful garden.

Usually an excellent full welsh breakfast is served, special wishes are satisfied.

The center of Saundersfoot can be reached within a 5 minute walk (a little bit steep, so it may not be suitable for mobility impaired or asthmatic people), offroad-parking is available.

Nicole and Marc are very helpful and have a lot of good advices for going out in Saundersfoot, activities or route planning.

We have to say thank you for an extremly delightful stay and highly recommend the Woodlands.

Room Tip: The Woodlands is located directly by a not too quiet road. So you should think about taking a rear r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank René S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is my second visit to the Woodlands hotel. As per past visit, it was great. The Woodlands is not a large part of chain business, but is an individual. I guess Mark and Nicole, the owners make it what it is. As soon as you pass the front door, you are greeted with a large and welcoming smile. Tis means a lot, especially when you have been stuck in traffic for 2 hours, as we had been. After reminding us of the local restaurants and area, we were taken up to our room by Nicole and discovered our luggage already in the room.

We had booked a superior double room for my parents and a standard double room for our ourselves. Both rooms were exceptionally clean, with large bath sheet towels which makes a change from normal small towels you get in even bigger rated hotels. Plenty of tea and coffee in the room, with a bottle of water and yummie biscuits. My mum preferred fresh milk which Nicole offered us as well as the use of their fridge in the kitchen.

Breakfast was superb, cooked to order to whatever combination you wanted. Too big for the ladies, but the men made a demolition job. 3 rashers of bacon, large tasty sausage, hash brown, grilled tomato, baked beans, egg to your liking and finally lovely fresh mushrooms tossed in butter. Prior to all this, a wide choice of cereals, muesli, yogourt, fresh fruit juices, fruits of the day and as much toasts and coffee you wished to have. I opted for the continental version one morning, and the mini croissants/pain chocolat were freshly baked that morning, still warm.

We had booked direct after not finding the woodlands on booking.com, but Nicole explained that due the high commission demanded by the agency, they preferred to deal with clients direct in order to keep the price of their rooms down. Well worth a phone call to the hotel direct or by using their booking on line system. All in all, what you see on the tin is what you get, a nice comfortable little hotel, friendly owners and guaranteed great stay. We shall be back.

Room Tip: book direct if you have a preference on floors or rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butler111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We really enjoyed our 4 night break in Saundersfoot and the hospitality of Nicole and Marc, who run a very organised and tidy hotel which is the perfect location for staying in the beautiful area of Pembrokeshire. Breakfast was lovely and lots of choices, rooms very clean and maintained well and all in all a very welcoming hotel. Thank you.

Room Tip: If you are tall ask for a bigger double as husband was too long for a small double but the bed was l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saundersfoot
0.2 mi away
The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
2.5 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,174 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
385 reviews
2.7 mi away
Farnham Hotel
Farnham Hotel
#2 of 23 in Tenby
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Hotel

Property: The Woodlands Hotel
Address: St. Brides Hill, Saundersfoot SA69 9NP, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Saundersfoot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Woodlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small guest accommodation 450 yards village centre and 200 yards from the beach, all rooms en suite, superior rooms are larger with sea view, standard rooms overlook the garden. Free off road parking. Fully licenced, bar leads onto the beer garden. On the Pembrokeshire coastal path route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Saundersfoot
The Woodlands Hotel Saundersfoot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing