We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent find!”

Restaurant at Fox & Hounds Country Inn
Ranked #17 of 69 Restaurants in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$74
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Shropshire Uk
Level Contributor
146 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Excellent find!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this delightful inn for three days at the beginning of April - great hospitality, lovely attentive staff and absolutely stunning food - Michelin star quality at very reasonable prices - the sirloin steak was delicious - Lincolnshire twice baked cheese soufflé was awesome we would be very happy to return to tjis absolute gem!

Helpful?
Thank chilledtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    35
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sittinbourne GB
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cut above”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Fox and Hounds, Sinnington is an excellent place to have a meal in serene and comfortable surroundings. Superb service and a wonderful choice of food on the menu. Chef to be congratulated!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mickandsylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We ate here last Thursday evening as we were staying in the area for a short break. There were 4 adults and 2 young children in our group. We hadn't booked but we were able to get a table in the very pleasant bar area. There is also a very nice looking restaurant area. The greeting was a little abrupt, have a seat and we'll be with you soon we're a bit busy at the moment, which was a little unnecessary. The service on the whole was excellent, there was just one member of staff who seemed a little unhappy, but the other members of staff were lovely. As it was early evening we had a lighter menu than that which is available later but there was still a good choice. The food was excellent, possibly the best onion rings I have ever tasted! And the wine menu was also very good. One small gripe, the was no baby change facility which I don't understand in an establishment like this. This was a great find and I would most certainly be back if we are in the area again. I would highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahJ2724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Splendid break”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Nice accommodation Excellent staff food good Ambience better in pub area than dining room Will return if in the area again

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank suzyk423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Faultless food and service”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We ate here for Sunday lunch yesterday and cannot find a single fault with the place. We hadn't booked yet despite being a very busy restaurant the staff told us it would be a short wait and we had a drink in a lovely lounge area. The wait was short and we ordered our food - all had the roast. The food when it came was outstanding. The portion sizes were great - two large slices of beef for kids, with a big yorkshire pudding, four slices for adults and lots of lovely veg and cracking roast potatoes. The service was impeccable, with really friendly staff and the atmosphere was nice and relaxed. Can't wait to go back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant at Fox & Hounds Country Inn also viewed

Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Restaurant at Fox & Hounds Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing