We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Weekend break”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We went to join our family who were staying there for the week and we were impressed with the layout of the cabin. It was pleasant and comfortable and for anyone who likes the countryside and tranquility this is the place. Helmsley, Pickering and Harome are well worth a visit should you wish to eat out. The highlight of the cabin for me was the hot tub, relaxing with a glass of wine! Perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Golden Oak cabin which has a lovely open view at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your review following your weekend away at Keldy. I am pleased to hear that you were impressed with the cabin and that you enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub with a glass of wine! I hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    263
    112
    57
    33
See reviews for
385
360
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We just returned from a four day break at Keldy and were bowled over by the forest location, the quality and comfort of the log cabin with a great hot tub on the outdoor deck and friendly and helpful staff. This is a must if you have a dog: there are lots of covered poo bins, great forest walks and designated pet-friendly cabins. We had our dog on lead for most of the time although there are some great open areas where he could run to his heart's content. For us, it was the ideal place to unwind, you felt completely off the grid as there is no mobile phone signal, the nearest town (Pickering) is about 4 miles away and while there is a very slow wi-fi connection in reception it was hardly worth using it. An amazing place and we are looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in log cabin 31 which is adjacent to forest land - ideal if you have a dog
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katerina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent Forest Holidays break at Keldy. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and particularly that you felt it was a good place to bring the dog. We welcome pets and the forest is a great place for them. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just returned from a fantastic long weekend break in a silver birch cabin in Keldy. So impressed with the standard of our cabin, very clean, very cosy but yet spacious and very pretty. Stayed in cabin 40, lovely location. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Travelled with 11 year old and 15 year old who both thoroughly enjoyed the trip. Visited Pickering on Saturday where kids played in a park and then hot tub on the night, loved the hot tub! On Sunday we visited Go Ape which was very good value for money and would definitely recommend it!
Overall we really enjoyed our stay and we are already planning our next break.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bailesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent family break at Keldy. I am pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and also that the children did too - they can be hard to please at that age but there is always something for them to in the forest. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We came and stayed for 2 nights.. It's in a beautiful part of the world thats for sure, we found the staff were friendly and welcoming but thats were it ended... the lodge itself is basically furnished, dreary and there is no privacy, the hot tub is at the back and in clear view of neighbouring lodges.
Great for families I suspect but not for a couples break... Sorry wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grumpyoldmanswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy the romantic break you were hoping for. You should try one of our Hideaway cabins that we have at some of our other locations; they are designed specifically for a romantic break and I am sure you would enjoy the experience.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Keldy. I was a bit put off by some of the reviews saying that the cabins were dirty, but when we arrived my mind was totally put at ease. The cabin (golden oak) was beautiful, clean and had everything you could need for your stay.

My son Will who is 8 had a fantastic time especially when he was out with AJ doing the junior ranger activity and the archery (which was also a hit with his Dad!) Will was gutted when we didn't see AJ before we left because he wanted to tell him we saw some grey squirrels in the trees next to the cabin when we were in the hot tub! He's really interested in nature now which is great!

We will definitely be back soon hopefully for a week this time! for anyone thinking about booking just do it, its an amazing place!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review following your recent Forest Holidays break at Keldy. It sounds like you took to the forest life and AJ will be delighted to have ignited your son’s interest in the natural world. The beauty of the Forest Ranger activities is that there are so many things to learn but it doesn’t feel like learning, it just feels like fun. I do hope you will all be back before too long.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Just got back from a 3 nights stay in the silver birch ,a lovely , relaxing break with our 5year old daughter .The cabin was a good size and really clean , and the hot tub was great too which our daughter really enjoyed. Location in the forest was brilliant too (no phone signal which was a god send) , the surrounding areas are beautiful too , the walks are lovely too which are signposted for u to follow. Really friendly and helpful staff too, which on your arrival they talk you through how to work the hot tub, log burner which is very helpful , we will be defo returning again .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
I am pleased to hear that you had a relaxing break at Cropton; thank you for taking the time to write a review. You can fill a happy few days exploring the forest and the surrounding area and it sounds as if that is exactly what you did. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Stopped at Keldy Forest over the Easter break , picked this location over Crompton and we glad that we did . The two sites are a about 2 miles apart and in easy walking distance through the forest trails and paths . The Keldy lodges are more in the trees and appear to be more away from each other than the ones at Crompton . Also at Crompton caravans and camping guests and also pitch there which makes it more of a camp site than a lodge retreat . At Keldy office you also have a small inside coffe shop where you can sit down inside or outside depending on the weather , Crompton , only outside seating . The staff at Keldy are very knowledgeable about the area , and very helpful in every thing you could possibly need or need to know . Lady that worked in the shop at Crompton on one of our walks there had no idea of any of the surrounding area or even when going through the exit of the site where it lead you too . Plenty of thing to do at both sites , from survival skills to bow and arrow skills , each activity is payable and can be very expensive if you have got children that want to do these as they are not cheap to do . We did the bush skills with our guide AJ , brilliant guy , fanstatic with kids knows just about every thing about the great outdoors . Just meeting him and you listening to his story's you can not help but like him , The lodges , can not fault these at all , everything you need even a dishwasher , beds clean , comfort great , log fire to use , tv , dvd player , two bathrooms . Full range of kitchen items all clean and nothing broken , you even have a hot tub on your balcony . After a long day walking , or just sitting watching the wild life , in the hot tub about 9-30pm when everything is in total darkness and just listen to the sounds of the night . Not done anything like this before , when we first got there you are very remote , no petrol stations , no street lights , no supermarkets nothing at all close by , and I thought to myself what have I let my self in for here ? , but you know what by the end of the second day I was totally relaxed and I fitted in not worrying about the outside world ? What a holiday this has been , I am glad that I had the chance to do it , and I would certainly love to go again . A weekend break or holiday for families , couples , one not to be missed . Keldy forest lodges fanstatic and to all the staff that work there thank you .

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Migwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It sounds as if we have a new convert to the simple luxuries that we offer at Forest Holidays! Once you start to relax and enjoy the forest around you, and of course the hot tub too, it can turn into a real break away from the world. I hope you will be back for more before too long.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
3.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
648 reviews
9.3 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
17.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
210 reviews
17.8 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,304 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#2 of 27 in Pickering
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire

Property: Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire
Address: Cropton, Pickering YO18 8HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Pickering
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury cabin breaks in the forest with idyllic natural surroundings. Our Keldy cabins are enveloped in the deep calm of the forest, some hidden beneath the trees and others opening out onto grassy, sunlit glades. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keldy Forest Cabins Hotel Pickering
Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire Pickering

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing