We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“much needed 4 day break away, tranquility required! but only if you want it”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 May 2014

this is the 2nd time I have visited these forest cabins, the 1st was a family holiday with children so totally different - on that occasion a couple of years ago we travelled round, visited various attractions and the beach, when at the cabin there was plenty for the youngsters to do too.
However, this was different, a 4 night stay away from it all - marvelous. They have now installed hot tubs - which I was a little dubious about at first - but, very clean and hygienic with daily maintenance to ensure it stayed that way, what a treat!
No mobile phone reception, no WiFi unless you wanted it in the main reception area. Bliss.
The cabins are clean and comfortable, self catering - but everything bar food/drink you need is there inc a dishwasher :-) and non breakables for that glass or 2 of fizz in the hot tub. A lovely 4 night stay away form the madding crowd, if you want peace and quiet this is a definite recommendation - if you want lively entertainment then keep away.... in saying that there was plenty of daytime activity on offer, we chose not to take it.

Room Tip: cabin 53 - or another right away from the centre for peace and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerid01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your latest Forest Holidays break. Your two holidays certainly show that you can choose the type of holiday you have with us and do as much or as little as you please. I am delighted that this time you enjoyed the peace and tranquillity of the forest; it sounds as if you had a complete rest.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed at Keldy for 4 nights in a Golden oak cabin, and wished we could have stayed longer. The forest holiday was the perfect holiday for us and our dog. The cabin was spotless, spacious and cosy. Loved the hot tub and log burner, definitely made the most of them. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We thought £10 a night for our dog was expensive but wouldn't have gone without her! A bit annoying as booked early and paid the £40 for the dog to stay before the offer came on. We will be back next year without a doubt and staying a full week! Thank you for making our holiday a great one to remember.

Room Tip: Golden oak cabins have bath, shower, hot tub and log burner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent break at Keldy. I am pleased you had an enjoyable and relaxing time together with the dog. We look forward to seeing you again next year for a longer break.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just had 10 nights at Keldy and it was our 8th stay, the location is excellent and the staff are great, if their was one thing that let our stay down was that we booked a three bed roomed cabin that sleeps six yet the hot tub is designed to accommodate 4 people 5 at a squeeze so perhaps
the hot tubs need to be bigger in the bigger cabins.
Thanks to Sally, Leanne and all the other staff for providing a great service

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daz4109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for your review following your latest Forest Holiday at Keldy. It is a pleasure to welcome returning guests and I am pleased to hear that the team looked after you well. I hope we will see you for a 9th holiday before too long!

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We have recently got back from a 4 night stay in the silver birch cabins at keldy. We were sad to leave everything was so peaceful and relaxing. Our 2 dogs loved it, although we wore them out walking. The only bad things really were the showers, upstairs one which was a light trickle so couldn't rinse properly and also they are very small so couldn't really move, downstairs shower room smelt very musty so just used this to rinse the dogs off after walks. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely go again and have already suggested it to a few friends. We saw lots of country wildlife while out, like a deer and also saw a deer grazing outside our cabin window when we woke up which was perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank becky264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for your review and feedback following your recent break at Keldy. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your break and delighted you saw the deer close up. We’ll investigate the showers; they should both have been in full working order. I do hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed in a Silver birch cabin for a mid-week stay in mid-May. We originally booked a Copper Beech cabin because we couldn't really justify the price difference for a hot tub but we had a call from Forest Holidays on the morning of our first night to say we'd been upgraded free of charge - bonus! The cabin was clean and had everything we needed. Our bed was super comfy and the hot tub was a great way to relax after an action-packed day. We hired a travel cot and baby bath as we were travelling with a two and a half year old and a 9 month old baby. I agree with a previous review that the charges for these were quite expensive, especially as the bath didn't have a plug! But it saved us from lugging them up the M1. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. We went on the Junior Ranger walk of the forest with AJ, who was really interesting and enthusiastic, and tailored the walk to our toddler's level. We also hired bikes with a trailer and did a lovely 6 mile route which was mostly downhill. The new tv system is great with lots of on demand films and would be a lifesaver on a rainy day, although thankfully the weather was kind to us. We drove the hour to Whitby one day and had awesome fish and chips and then travelled onto Runswick bay, a gorgeous beach great for families and dogs. The only negative we found was that the slide in the playground was far too big for smaller children and some smaller play equipment would have been better for our little ones. Nevertheless we would love to come back, and would probably stay for a week next time to really make the most of it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClareGordon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent Forest Holiday at Keldy. I am delighted you enjoyed your family break and pleased you could enjoy a hot tub too! Thank you too for your feedback, which we will discuss at our next review meeting. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

wonderful break very much a place to chill out and relax, staff very friendly, setting superb, cabin excellent had everything you would need, nice walks nearby, hot tub was fun as we had not ordered a cabin with one but was upgraded as cabin of our type being renovated, one down side if you react to insect (midge)bites take cream, apart from that could not recommend it more. Hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fessee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for your review, I am delighted you enjoyed your Forest Holidays break at Keldy and pleased that you would recommend us. I hope we will see you again before too long –although we can’t promise an upgrade next time!

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a 4 night break in a silver birch cabin. Really enjoyed it, cabin was mostly clean, well equipped and the new on demand TV system is brilliant! Loved having a private hot tub. Had pizza from the forest retreat which was extremely good and fish and chips from the Wednesday van which were also tasty. Would have given this five stars but for the broken flush button, no waste trap and small amount of mould in the overflow in the ensuite bathroom. Bonus being dog friendly but glad was free for the dog in May- £10 per dog per day is really expensive! Also it's a bit mean to charge people for baby extras. There was no bath and no room for a baby bath in the car so had to wash the baby in the shower.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank baby_bassist_gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you liked your Silver Birch cabin and enjoyed your stay. We have regular review meetings to ensure we are keeping our guests happy and we are grateful for your feedback which we will be discussing at the next one. We very much look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
5.4 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
702 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 29 in Pickering
301 reviews
19.8 mi away
Griffon Forest Lodges
Griffon Forest Lodges
#1 of 2 in Flaxton
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
5.2 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
258 reviews
6.5 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#2 of 45 in Pickering
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire

Address: Cawthorne, Pickering YO18 8HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Pickering
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury cabin breaks in the forest with idyllic natural surroundings. Our cabins at Keldy are enveloped in the deep calm of the forest, some hidden beneath the trees and others opening out onto grassy, sunlit glades. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keldy Forest Cabins Hotel Pickering
Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire Pickering

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing