We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, Canada
2 reviews
“wonderful holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed in a golden oak cabin with hot tub which was great after a day walking in the forest. Beds very comfy although the upstairs bedroom can get very hot. just back having stayed for 1 week. Staff very helpful and cabin facilities perfect. Lots to do in the surrounding area. Worth visiting Harrogate and taking a boat trip around the bay at Scarborough. Would definately go again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for writing a review following your holiday with us at Keldy. I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable week, the boat trip sounds like a great idea. I hope you will be staying with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    262
    112
    57
    33
See reviews for
383
360
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed three nights in the 'golden oak' cottage, number 47. It was a really relaxing and enjoyable stay. All the staff we met were brilliant - enthusiastic and helpful. The guided night walk was excellent - the technology provided was really useful and the ranger informative and engaging. I've always wanted to hear a nightjar, but to see one to was an unexpected bonus. It was fabulous having a hot tub and sauna and the standard of the cottage itself was really good - high quality fittings throughout with no expense spared.

So, the 'big stuff' was really well done - staff selection and training, capital investment and the overall experience in well-spaced cabins set in the forest (or near-enough, in the case of cottage 47).

But someone is not quite on the ball with the small stuff - and it's easily fixed. Hence this review. Here are some points:

* Why sell a wood, kindling and a zip starter pack with no matches or firelighter - and non provided in the cottage?

* Why provide a complimentary but completely useless little bag with a couple of sticks for the fire and one fireligher? That's just annoyingly stingy. Especially with no matches/firelighter.

* Why does a top-end cottage have a view of the heavy machinery storage area from the balcony and hot tub without any attempt to mask it? It doesn't evoke a 'forest' experience.

* Why not warn guests that on the other side of cottage 47 there would be work happening on another cabin - being either built or refurbished, including on a Sunday?

* It's a great idea to have a member of staff coming round to welcome guests and given them an orientation to the place and the cottage. But why not tell them this will happen when they arrive? We went for a walk after unpacking, missed the visit and spent too much time figuring out how things worked.

* At least in the 'golden oak' category, why not spend an extra pound or two leaving a welcome pack of milk and tea, and some ground coffee for the excellent cafetiere provided. Maybe even washing up liquid and more than the two dishwasher tablets provided. I really don't mind spending money in the shop, and did (it was thoughtfully-provisioned and reasonably priced), but it's a question of saving guests the faff of organizing the small stuff.

I could go on (better signage etc) but won't.

So - I would very much recommend Forest Holidays - the walks and cycling riding routes are fabulous and it's a brilliantly relaxing experience. But I wish the management *would* sweat this kind of small stuff given the high quality of the big stuff.

Room Tip: If you want cottage 47 (highly recommended) ask about the heavy machinery storage area and the build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulT2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent break at Keldy. I am pleased to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your break and that you would recommend us. Thank you also for your constructive suggestions for improvement. These will be highlighted at our next review meeting. We can’t implement everything that our guests suggest but where we can make improvements we certainly will.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Just returned from 3 nights staying in sliver birch lodge at keldy. It was amazing, me and my partner had such a relaxing time. Lodge was fully equipped and spotless. Double bed was so comfy I wanted to bring it home! Hot tub was also amazing. Great selection of films on TV. We ate out in local pub in Crompton with served lovely food. Had a great day out in Whitby too, with excellent fish and chips. Surroundings were peaceful and very pretty views. We also enjoyed a forest walk. Will return it was overall fantastic, only bad thing was having to leave. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ar69mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for a lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your break at Keldy, enjoying not only your cabin but also some of the local attractions too. Fish and chips in Whitby sounds perfect! I do hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from 3 nights at keldy forest, we had a lovely time but don't think id book again. Drive up to the cabins was beautiful, check in was smooth and staff were very helpful. Our cabin- golden oak number 17 was easy to find. Upon travelling 3+ hours and walking around York all day couldn't wait to sit down but upon entering the cabin the floor was still soaked from cleaning so we had to hang about with the door open for 10 minutes waiting for it to dry. I wouldn't say the cabin was spotless but ours was certainly not 'filthy' as some reviewers have stated. Hot tub was nice, well stocked kitchen. The laundry room was awful, we were advised to kick the washing machine to get it to work, it was really smelly and someone had let their wet muddy dog sit on the sofa in there.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank evettelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent break with us at Keldy. I am pleased that you enjoyed your break but obviously disappointed that you wouldn’t stay with us again. We’ll take on board your feedback and make improvements wherever we can.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We recently had a 4 night stay at Pickering and all had a great time, ages ranged from 2 years to 70 years and facilities are suitable for all. The accommodation was clean and very comfortable and the walks in the woods were fantastic!! If taking children I would highly recommend adding the movie package to your stay as it was a life saver on a wet day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear that you all enjoyed your family break, particularly with the age range so diverse. I hope you will all stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have just come back from a great 4 day break at Keldy. Here are some tips for people that have not been before to make your stay even better! We had online delivery - Sainsburys deliver food to the cabin, that worked really well, but you need to plan ahead, as its very far from the shops be prepared taking most of your food with you. There is a shop with basics but a bit expensive as you would imagine. Take bikes with you if you can as some great bike tracks. When you get there book a ranger experience, we did the survival skills and night walk with night vision goggles both with AJ and that was awesome! not to be missed. Archery was good as well. There is no internet in your cabin or mobile phone signal which for us was fantastic as you really can switch off, but you can get internet access at reception which is free. The hot tub was a great idea as well. Great place for dogs as well. Highly recommend holiday!! The staff at Keldy where fantastic and could not be more helpful. If you do queue up for fish and chips on a Wednesday be prepared for a long queue and wait, but worth it.

Room Tip: If you can pick your cabin before you go I would. The cabin is basic and clean and what you need for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for writing a review following your recent Forest Holiday at Keldy. I am pleased that you enjoyed your holiday away from it all and I am sure your suggestions will be helpful for other guests. It’s great to hear that you found the Forest Ranger activities such a good experience too. I hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

our fifth visit here and the cabins have had a much needed refurb! all kitchen appliances now work, the soft furnishings have been renewed and the hot tub water was crystal clear. We enjoyed seven nights of unbroken sleep in the comfortable clean beds and it is a pleasure to awake in the morning to a cup of tea on the decked area whilst listening to birdsong and no other noise pollution whatsoever! the cabins are comfortable and with a fully functioning kitchen we could enjoy home cooked food every evening(don't expect to stock the fridge up from the forest retreat shop as the choice is very limited and prices are extortionate.we opted to shop at a supermarket in the village of pickering which is a short drive away). All in all we love keldy for the peace and quiet, the beautiful surroundings and to be able to unwind from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, our 10 year old son LOVES it and is already pestering us to book again! Theres plenty of days out to be had if you have children too, flamingo land, whitby and scarborough are to name but a few. Just remember that the cabins are situated in a forest……it isn't hilton standards with highly polished marble floors and expensive light fittings……..its stunning simplicity where family time is truly embraced…..oh, and don't forget the hiking boots!! we will be back (again) :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hyperwiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Welcome back and thank you for your kind review. I am delighted you have enjoyed your 5th holiday with us and like the newly refurbished cabins. You clearly enjoy the forest surroundings and it is great that your 10 year old loves it too. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
5.0 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,506 reviews
4.9 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
16.6 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,282 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#2 of 27 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire

Property: Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire
Address: Cropton, Pickering YO18 8HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Pickering
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury cabin breaks in the forest with idyllic natural surroundings. Our Keldy cabins are enveloped in the deep calm of the forest, some hidden beneath the trees and others opening out onto grassy, sunlit glades. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keldy Forest Cabins Hotel Pickering
Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire Pickering

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing