We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent break recommended”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent break recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We have come back from our first forest holiday break. The staff were lovely and the ranger spent time chatting to us and telling us the work he is currently doing to upgrade the site. The lodge was superb, clean and cosy. The outdoor balcony was fab and it was lovely sitting out chilling in such lovely surroundings. A hot tub would be a nice addition to our next break as requested by our 7 year old !! Would recommend the site and forest holidays. Thank you for a superb break.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hendy222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted you enjoyed your holiday at Keldy and I hope we will see you again soon – in a cabin with a hot tub!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    262
    112
    57
    33
See reviews for
385
360
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Booked a short weekend break and was a bit nervous considering the price and some of the reviews but it was close for us and what we were looking for. Keldy is really "out in the sticks" and away from it all surrounded by some great countryside and forest. On arrival we were met by really friendly staff and checking in was done in minutes, even better within a few minutes of getting into our lodge another member of staff popped in and quickly showed us how to use the hot tub and were everything was. Job done me and the family was unpacked, in the hot tub, no phone signal just chill time. Having a 7 and 2 year old we are restricted a bit in activities, not a problem, great short signposted walks through the forest, play park, BBQ area, wildlife information and interactive games etc. Shop on site serves about verything you would need or forgot at home. We didn't want to leave and are considering their great looking Xmas package and the wife will never go away at Xmas, says something!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank refurbisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent break at Keldy, I am so pleased you enjoyed it and that it worked well for your family. We’d love to see you at Christmas, and I hope you do decide to book with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I would just like to inform you of our disappointment with Forest Holidays and in particular the Keldy site.

We have just returned from a midweek break at Keldy - Cabin 25 and would like to let you know the following (this was also completed on a card and handed in to reception on our departure.
1. Check in - 4pm - we was informed it would be more 4pm than earlier - our cabin was not ready until 4:30 pm - no apology given just a cup of coffee.
2. Within 30 minutes of receiving the keys to the cabin someone called to check everything was okay. Due to the shortness in time the only thing we had chance to notice was the lack of coat hangers - this was rectified the same evening. The time between receiving the cabin keys and the courtesy call is really too short.
3. The whole cabin did not have a clean and welcoming appearance/feel considering the delay in receiving the keys.
Hallway/Entrance
4. Birds nesting under the eaves which is not the problem - the problem was with the amount of bird droppings around the door and bin compartment - it was apparent this had not been cleaned in a while.
4a. The outside light was not working.
Lounge Area
5. Floor not clean - sticky in places.
5a. Radiator loose on the wall.
5b. Windows very dirty - not cleaned.
Kitchen/Dining Area
6. We were finding lots of pieces of scale from kettle in drinks - took the kettle to reception to be told it needed descaling - given a replacement which was just as bad.
6a. There were no heat protective mats on which to put hot dishes from the oven.
6b. There were no baking trays of any description - the only items we found for the oven were casserole dishes.
6c. No oven gloves.
Decking
7. The decking needed cleaning / sweeping down.
7a. The picnic table was dirty and stained.
Bathrooms
8. The hot tap in the disabled bathroom only run very very slowly and the water failed to get hot.

Also on one evening a guest from a different cabin called to ask if we had a corkscrew as they had purchased a bottle of wine and were unable to find a corkscrew and the shop had closed for the evening. We didn't have a problem dealing with this but at the same time each cabin should contain simple equipment such as a corkscrew, therefore an inventory should be carried out on a periodic basis and the cabin should be give a once over on completion of cleaning before keys are given out.

We have been coming to Forest Holidays and in particular Keldy for a long while and feel the standard has certainly deteriorated, indeed it just seems to be about profit now. There is no longer any welcome pack apart from 1 dish cloth and 1 dishwasher tablet which to be honest seems ludicrous. There is no local information in the cabin, it is all at the Retreat - maps i.e. dog friendly walks - charge £1 - in fact everything seems to be overpriced. Although wi-fi was freely available whilst at the Retreat you needed to request a user name and password each day. The use of buggies by the staff - these just seemed to be something to race around in by several staff members with the game being how large a dust cloud could you make.

At one time we would have agreed 100% about the cabins and services provided being luxurious and we have always looked forward to our holidays there, we have also recommended you to friends and family. Now it seems that due to the changes and cut backs which are evident the luxury element is missing - there is more competition now from other holiday companies which charge the same prices as you but do supply the items which make it luxurious i.e. welcome hamper, towels as standard, even down to a welcome pack for the dog - your standard charge per dog is £10 per night, regardless of length of stay, and yet there is not even a bowl for water to use for a dog never mind about a dog biscuit.

Despite completing an online feedback form and emailing the e-commerce manager direct we never received any response to our complaint even though we was informed it had been passed onto customer services.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your review. As you are aware we have now spoken to you directly regarding your complaint. I can assure you that we are looking into it and will be in contact very soon.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I am a 14 year old (don't discard me as a child with silly opinions, please!) and my family and I stayed in a Silver Birch Cabin here from the 4th-11th August 2014. We took our two dogs (one an 18 week old puppy) with us which was great as the area nearby is wonderful for walking in, especially as there are marked walks on site which are amazing for spotting wildlife such as deer, and the cabin was very dog friendly, with wooden flooring throughout the downstairs area.
To get to the cabins you have to travel down the old, bumpy, narrow lanes, but this is often what you get when you're staying on a site in the middle of nowhere. Check-in was from 4pm on the Monday, which is quite late, to say you pay for a whole week, only to check out at 10am the following Monday. When we arrived at reception, we went up to the front desk, only to be told that there was no internet in the cabins, which is false advertising, and very misleading as we had paid extra for this package. "Oh, but not to worry" they said, telling us there was free wifi available in reception. This wifi must have been slower than a snail. This wouldn't have been such an issue if there was mobile service on site, but no. No signal anywhere. This meant communicating with people at home was through a pay phone. And before you say it would've done us young people good to be disconnected for a while, and allow our square eyes to reform their natural circle shape, I wouldn't have been so unimpressed had there been more to do around the site, or if we were only a stones throw away from a village or town with activities to do there, but you had to drive everywhere and there were only a few ranger walks or a bit of archery at the forest; not great in the rain. We went on one of the "Night Vision" ranger walks, which was okay, but slightly overrated. It cost £10 each which was a rip off. This event took place at dusk, and you were given an 'Optic' which allowed you to see things in the dark. The man leading it must have thought he was Bear Grylls, telling us his (probably made up) "adventure stories" on how he once had a "bark-off" with a deer, and then he got extremely excited when we saw a deer, probably the same one we had seen earlier on in the clear daylight, for free.
My first impressions of the cabin weren't great, as the whole outside of the cabin was covered in cobwebs and dust, suggesting the outside had never been cleaned. (I'm not saying the cabin needs to be thoroughly washed every time a new family arrive, as it is in a forest, but an occasional clean would make a big difference). However, not all is lost, as inside was a whole different story; the decor was modern and the place was clean. A new kitchen had been installed, with a dishwasher, toaster, microwave, oven and hob (the only let down in the kitchen was the one draw freezer, which me and my mum had fun trying to squeeze everything into. Oh, and the fact that there is no large bowls, so if you're big pasta or spaghetti lovers like my family, take some bowls, as eating spaghetti from a plate can be a task). A tip for buying food to take in the car with you, don't! Order a tesco delivery and it saves a lot of space in the car. And on the decking, my favourite part...THE HOT TUB! It's fair to say we got our money's worth from that. The beds were comfy, and the living room area was spacious, all in all a nice cabin.
We went out almost every day, as it isn't too far a drive to Whitby, Goathland, Grosmont, Levisham, or Pickering, which are all lovely places for walking. My favourite place was Mallyan Spout in Goathland; a beautiful little waterfall (wear sensible footwear, as clambering over the slippery wet rocks was slightly dangerous). There are lots of nice pubs nearby to eat out at, most allowing dogs indoors.
Overall, the holiday was great, but the site we were staying on was disappointing. If you're looking for a base just to sleep at, great, but definitely do not go here expecting Center Parcs style entertainment. Expect to be in your own little bubble of log cabins and trees, away from civilization.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for the feedback, it’s great to hear from one of our younger guests, although I’m sorry to hear that there were a number of things you weren’t impressed with. Without going into detail on every point, please let me reassure you that your comments are helpful to us. I will jump to the defence of AJ, the Forest Ranger– he has actually had a bark-off with a deer and he is genuinely passionate about the forest, hence his excitement. I can appreciate your frustration at being cut off from the world too, but for many of our guests your final sentence describes exactly why they stay with us. I hope the more positive aspects of your break will persuade you to return in the future.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just back from a Monday to Friday break at Keldy, our first time with Forest Holidays. We are a family adult group of six aged from 51 down to 19. At first we felt a little misled after having booked our holiday to include the entertainment package so that we had access to the internet. There is no mobile signal so we wanted some access to the civilized world! However, we soon got used to the isolation and get away from it all feeling and it probably did us good to detox from it for a few days! The only part of the package available is the movies for which they charged £14.95. We watched a movie late each evening so this was good for us. The main gripe is that the whole package should not be advertised if it isn't available. The website says available from 25th July 2014, we were there 4th-8th August. Yes wifi is available at the Forest Retreat but it is so slow it isn't worth the effort!
The cabin itself was beautiful. Spacious with quality furniture and very clean. We have done Center Parcs a few times, and this cabin was far superior to the woodland lodges there, which are also very nice but no where near as big as this. The beds are very comfortable. There were not many coat hangers so if you want to hang everything up take some with you. We stayed in a Golden Oak cabin and all our towels were provided including separate ones for the hot tub. Take a towel for the kitchen area, although a tea towel is provided. There was a full size fridge freezer, dishwasher, oven, hob and microwave so good for self catering. We did, however, struggle a bit with the small range of pans for cooking for six! There is a standard set of three saucepans and a frying pan, and one small casserole dish. Five dishwasher tablets and a dishcloth were provided but bring your own washing up liquid. There is also some toiletries provided in the bathrooms including a small hand soap. The master bedroom also has the luxury of two big fluffy bathrobes and slippers, a nice touch.
The hot tub is great, we used it every evening. Some of our family members went out running during our stay, and some of us went for forest walks. We didn't take part in any of the organised walks or activities as we went out everyday. Make sure you are good at reversing the car as it is a very narrow lane leading to the complex, and on leaving Friday morning we met a bus coming the other way and a stream of cars had to reverse a fair way back to find a passing place. We also had other incidents with narrow lanes and tractors and large vehicles.
Another tip to make your short break a little longer - we stayed in a Premier Inn at York on the Sunday evening, on one of their cheap deals. So we took in York on Sunday afternoon and Monday before travelling the 45 minute journey to Keldy to arrive around 6. We called in at Morrisons just off the A64 at Malton to buy our perishables for the self catering.
We all had a fabulous time at Keldy, much more peaceful and away from it all than Center Parcs, great for getting the family together and get them away from their mobile phones and laptops!! We would do a Forest Holidays break again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent family break at Keldy. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I am sure your information and tips will be useful to other guests. With regard to Wi-Fi, we will check the website and make sure it accurately reflects what is currently available. I am pleased to hear that you would stay with us again and I hope we will see you soon.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

After a long drive we arrived staff were friendly and greeted us with a smile and very helpful we got to our room located right next to the retreat and were very pleased the rest of the week however didn't go to plan for is the following day (Saturday) our van broke down on the way to Whitby and was in the garage until the Wednesday so we felt slightly apprehensive with the fact we were in the middle of a forest nearest town with just a pub was 4 miles away and shops were about 7 miles away other than the retreat and we were not sure how we would spend our time. However we fully embraced the forest holiday and booked up archery which we did twice kids loved it and so did we also we booked the survival outing which was fun and interesting and went on a bike ride to the pub for lunch and did all the other walks with our bikes and dog and had a fantastic time which surprised us a lot usually we don't make the most of where we stay but we had no choice and we were glad we had no van!!! there was enough food choice to feed the family too and the chocolate pizzas are very yummy. Luckily we managed to see Pickering and get to Whitby and York before we had to head home defiantly worth the trips to see them. Keldy cabins is the perfect location for exploring and relaxing on site and off and the staff were very good too. We were there for a week in total and will be booking a different location to explore with forest holidays very soon. We have also previously been to Nottingham and stayed for a weekend and were pleased there too.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephgaryg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review. I am pleased that you had such an enjoyable holiday. It’s a shame about your van but it seems to have worked out very well in the end and allowed you to fully embrace the forest experience. We look forward to seeing you on your next Forest Holiday, wherever you decide to book.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My immediate and extended family went to Keldy forest cabins last weekend to celebrate my cousins wedding and spend time together as an extended family. First of all the hot tubs are delightful! Our stay was so comfortable and relaxing - even for a 6 month pregnant lady! The staff were friendly and helpful and the whole forest is just a beautiful view to wake up to every morning! The cabins have everything you could need for your stay and we had members of all ages from 1 right up to 83 staying and we all had a fabulous stay! Would not hesitate to go back here *****

Room Tip: The gold cabins are the best - worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma40s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your review; I am delighted that you enjoyed your extended family get together – what an age range! It sounds as if you had a good time together and particularly enjoyed the hot tub. I hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
3.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
9.3 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
17.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
15.1 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 27 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire

Property: Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire
Address: Cropton, Pickering YO18 8HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Pickering
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury cabin breaks in the forest with idyllic natural surroundings. Our Keldy cabins are enveloped in the deep calm of the forest, some hidden beneath the trees and others opening out onto grassy, sunlit glades. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keldy Forest Cabins Hotel Pickering
Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire Pickering

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing