We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Manse Hotel(Pickering)
Free cancellation until 30/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beansheaf(Pickering)(Great Value!)
US$96
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rocklands Lodges(Pickering)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Crossways Hotel(Pickering)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,099)
Filter reviews
1,099 results
Traveller rating
558
300
132
69
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
558
300
132
69
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolden oakhot tubforest holidayssilver birch cabinlog burneron arrivalferal catszip wireentertainment packageupstairs bedroomtree houserelaxing breakhired bikesroecenter parcsmid week breaknight vision
Filter
Updating list...
534 - 539 of 1,099 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Just home from our 4 night stay at Keldy, or third visit to these cabins since 2002. I love this part of the world, the cabins are lovely and it really is a beautiful location. In terms of cleanliness it is perfect, and the hot tubs are great (there's something about sitting in a hot tub at night looking up at the stars).

There were some downsides though. I was disappointed there was no wifi, as i'd booked this package (it really shouldn't be sold as an option if its not available). This caused me some grief as i have teenage daughters. Also, it just felt as though attention to detail wasn't quite there. There was no cd player (in the paperwork on arrival it states 'most rooms' have a cd player, well why only most, they're not an expensive item). The toilet roll holder in the master bedroom collapsed on touch, the shelf in the shower wasnt affixed properly, and there was a big burn mark on the table outisde where someone clearly didn't understand where they should have been putting their instant bbq. The prices in the shop are also very expensive, to be honest it feels more commercial now. I just wonder whether the success of the cabins has led to some complacency in terms of the customer service.

The negatives didnt spoil the holiday (well perhaps apart from the lack of wifi, which was raised to me on several occasions), but it wasn't quite top marks.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent break at Keldy. I am pleased you enjoyed your break on the whole but would like to apologise to you and your daughters for the situation regarding Wi-Fi, for which you have hopefully been refunded. Having upgraded our Entertainments Package we encountered a problem with the Wi-Fi connection, which is in the hands of BT. We didn’t initially inform guests because we had been given a date which should have made it available with the rest of the Entertainments Package. We have now temporarily removed it from the booking system until BT can confirm connection. In the meantime, there is free Wi-Fi available in the Forest Retreat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This was a great family holiday, a change from our normal overseas breaks. Being out in the forest, without wifi on tap and mobile phone reception was a tonic from the hustle of the routine life. All the staff were friendly and genuinely keen to help.The lodge was clean, tidy and well appointed. Things to do on site are good but you do have to book in advance as some are quite popular. It is a holiday in a forest, close to nature - but the hot tub does provide a bit of luxury.Spending time in the forest learning about bushcraft and using night vision scopes to watch deer will stay with us for a long time. I loved taking a run on the forest tracks and the kids took a long ride out on their bikes. Nearby Pickering and the mountain bike routes at Dalby forest were good too. Will be going back some time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent Forest Holiday at Keldy. I am pleased it worked out well as a change from your normal overseas holidays and that you enjoyed the luxury of both the forest and the hot tub. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

we had the big lodges with the tree house and lovely environment. had a spa outside and nice and quiet. lots of outdoor paths and archery, quad biking activities.
quiet and lovely ambience. staff were helpful and made sure we were settling in ok. spa had a service everyday which was good :)

cleanliness wise i wouldnt say the best since the showers could have been better cleaned.
Equipments and space was luxurious.

Room Tip: No phone range and no broadband other than at the reception. visit flamingo land, try the archery the tree house experience was great!! need the heating on pretty much all the time if the weather is cold so if you are stepping out make sure your heating is set already for when you come in.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank babluthegr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank for your review following your recent stay at Keldy, It sounds as if you had a relaxing time as well as trying out lots of activities. I am pleased you enjoyed your holiday and I hope we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This was our second Forest Holiday break, booked in a hurry after having to cancel a camping trip a couple of weeks ago due to the awful weather. Must say it was a lot nicer being able to turn up and jump in the hot tub rather than mess about putting a tent up. The kids loved it, and I think one of my favourite moments of the whole trip was going in this morning before we left and watching a woodpecker tapping away on a tree a few yards away. We did a lot of biking, walking and running, and it was lovely to sit in the tub after these activities too.

Plus points - lots of nature, loved having that woodland feel when you looked through the trees or sat on the veranda. Beds very comfy. Feels like there's something for everyone, whatever age.
Not so plus points - a few maintenance issues (which were fixed straight away though) and problems with wifi in the retreat which other people have mentioned. Would be easier to have open wifi which everyone can log into, rather than the staff having to issue new passwords each time.
Also if your children a quite young and you're in a Silver Birch cabin you might feel jumpy about sleeping on a different floor to them.

Had already booked a weekend in Thorpe Forest in November and am making a mental note to bring:

- more food so we're not reliant on the shop
- more than one swimming costume each so we're not putting wet stuff back on
- more towels

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you for writing a review following your break at Keldy. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. It sounds as if you made the most of the forest setting and enjoyed the hot tub too. We look forward to seeing you again at Thorpe Forest in November.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We decided to look for a break for summer as work commitments meant we were unable to go abroad during school holidays. Keldy Forest with Forest holidays was perfect for us as is fairly close to where I needed to work one evening and as the cabins have wifi as an option I could spend one or two evenings keeping up with the urgent work.
On arrival we were told the wifi was not available. Ok problems happen but it had been off almost a week and this was the first we had heard - in the middle of a forest where there is no phone signal. If Forest Holidays had had the courtesy to call and warn us of this I could have arranged work back up. We were able to use wifi till 8pm at the Forest retreat which meant having to go backwards and forwards during the day to work - at a time we should have been having fun with our children. Eventually we had to leave for that reason a day early.
Aside from that issue the lodge was very nice - especially the hot tub. We were unfortunate not to encounter any wildlife during our stay but our girls enjoyed one of the short walks because there are some great hiding dens in the woods. Would have like a bath rather than showers in the lodge but that's a personal thing.

Having been to Griffon Forest previously I have to say I preferred it there to Keldy. It felt more private there, we saw deer and squirrels regularly, there was a lovely fire in our cabin and little touches like forest flowers in the room and biscuits for us on arrival.

So to me this place was nice but pretty average when compared to our previous lodge breaks and the wifi issue cast a dark cloud on the whole break. I'm sure for others it will be a more positive experience.

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank loulubelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that the Wi-Fi issue caused you problems. We genuinely believed it would be available, having been given a July go live date by BT. Having missed the date, we were then waiting for connection on a day-to-day basis, and we have now taken the decision to temporarily remove it from the booking process until BT have sorted it out. It’s not much help to you now I realise, but I hope it reassures you that we were not being deliberately discourteous.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews