We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Autumn Break at Hungate”
Review of Hungate Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hungate Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We have just returned from Hungate Cottages after a 5 day break with our daughter, son-in-law and their two little girls. We stayed in Glaisdale which had every home comfort provided, from the well equiped kitchen to the comfy beds, not forgetting the cosy log fire. Jerry was on hand for any needs we might have had and a great time was enjoyed by all. The free pass for the Dalby Forest was much appreciated, we used it twice and would have gone more if the weather had been a little kinder. We had a lovely take away from Spice 4 U, just opposite the cottages and we ate out at the Fortune Inn (excellect). We cooked a lovely stew on our last night followed by apple crumble (apples from the orchard at Hungate!) It was our first visit to Hungate but it definately won't be our last. I can't reccommend these cottages highly enough. Thankyou for a lovely break.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alisonD09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed at Hungate Cottages (Farndale) whilst visiting from Perth Australia and where delighted how well equipped the cottage were, everything had been catered for. Excellent base for travelling around Yorkshire whilst the cottages, being a couple of minutes walk from the centre of Pickering, make it ideal for local shopping etc. We visited Goathland, Ryedale Folk Museum. Hutton le Hole, Castle Howard,Eden Camp, York, Scarborough, Beverley and even ventured on the North Yorkshire Railway (Train station 5 minutes walk from the cottages). Lovely village pubs for lunch where ideal and great fish and chips at Whitby.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Car0lPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We have stayed at Hungate Cottages (in 6 of the cottages) and every time we have a most enjoyable stay, unfortunatly qe have not been able to make our annual visit over the last couple of years however we do intend to go back next year. The cottages are all furnished to a high quality with all your needs and as the years have gone by they are updated to include the latest technology. Its true you are in a town but once you go through the big black doors you are in a different world. Pickering is a market town and although you have not got a large supermarket there are the smaller shops so you will find all the food and items you could need. The town has many pubs, restraunts, cafes and takeaways its even got a cinema!! And of course the lovely North Yorkshire Railway - so lovely to see and hear. Just sitting typing this is making me want to be back there now. Can recommend that you give Hungate Cottages, it may be a bit more expensive but worth every penny if you appreciate quality ...

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nooshkacats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We enjoyed a lovely family holiday in Hungate Cottage in July 2011. Our ages ranged from 2-64 years and there was something close by for us all. It was wonderfully close to centre of Pickering but was so quiet in the house and garden you would never know. We visited Scarborough, York, Flamingo Land, went on the steam train and enjoyed the pleasure of the very local 'The Tea Shop' - fabulous cream tea. Dad and grandpa even caught tea at the local trout lake!
Jerry and Barbara were very helpful and keen to assist wherever possible - including sorting out the dishwasher whilst we were out when it decided to be temporarily less than efficient.
The house is comfortable and well proportioned with a lovely garden and huge round dining table for family mealtimes. Plenty of room for us all and the garden felt like an extension to the house.
Definitaly recommend for big families or group of friends.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We stayed here for a weekend break. There was only one door, the front door, no back door. The kitchen only had a very high window which meant it could not really be opened to let smells out if you were cooking. The shower was in a very large bathroom with a wooden floor which became dangerously slippery if you had wet feet from taking a shower. The big bathroom did not seem to have a central heating radiator and was cold. The other bathroom was heated but I noticed small red incect type creatures crawling around the skirting boards! I do not know whether previous occupants dogs had been in there! I could also hear the next door occupants, particularily their children in the evening/night which did not make for a quiet sleep. Despite previously being told we could smoke on arrival we were told no smoking. The downstairs toilet was in a very bad position which meant one had to use it sideways on.

Yes the properties are in a central position but in my opinion are very expensive. Moreover although there is a very expensive supermarket in Pickering if you want a Tesco or Sainsbury it is either long trips to York or Scarborough.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank Amelia61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

We needed to escape and found the most wonderful place to stay here in Pickering. We got the fire roaring, cooked up some yummy food and settled in for a gloriously cosy night. The rest of the weekend was filled with walks on the moors and drinks in the pub; we really couldn't ask for more. The cottage felt very homely, but with added little luxuries like the roll top bath and radios with ipod docks. Bliss!
Now we just need to find another excuse to escape there...

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex_Maynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2010

We were recommended Hungate cottages by some friends and we couldn't have been happier. We had a great weekend with friends and family with all the essentials more than catered for - log fire, spotlessly clean cottages, comfy beds, a warm welcome and a lovely feeling of being hidden away whilst still being a 2 min walk from Pickering. It felt really secure for the children and there was even a little play area so something to keep restless people occupied! Just can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pickering hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
692 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bramwood Guest House
Bramwood Guest House
#3 of 46 in Pickering
323 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 29 in Pickering
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Vicarage Pickering
The Old Vicarage Pickering
#5 of 46 in Pickering
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hungate Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hungate Cottages

Address: Hungate Cottage Recreation Road, Pickering YO18 7ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Pickering
Price Range: £60 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hungate Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely attractive Hungate Cottages are located on the outskirts of the delightful historic town of Pickering. Pickering is a charming Yorkshire spot, with ample country inns, restaurants and specialist shopping, and it has it's own stop on the North York Moors Steam Railway. The 11 cottages are situated in peaceful gardens, yet within 5 minutes walk of Pickering's shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hungate Cottages Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing