We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Spot”
Review of Hungate Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hungate Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We "discovered" Yorkshire about 10 years ago and the family have been coming to Hungate Cottages ever since. The cottages are quiet, peaceful, comfortable and very well equipped. Barbara and Jerry (the hosts) are extremely kind and welcoming.
The centre of Pickering is convenient ( five mins. walk) with more than enough shops, cafes and eateries to suit all ages. The N.Y.M.R. is based here too. If you want the coast, it is 30mins. by car and walking in the area is fantastic. Visiting York is easy. Use the park & ride. We have booked two more visits to Hungate Cottages for 2014 already and can't wait to get back. All in all, a superb place to stay in a great location.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Aroeira_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

Lovely, well specified cottages, all within a few yards walk of Pickering town, its interesting shops, the NY steam railway, an amazing Indian restaurant, free access to the municipal swimming pool, and more pubs and cafes than there are days in the week. Short drive to many other places.

Good for families or couples

The host is extremely welcoming, and helped with any request. We had unlimited free wood for the burner.

The cottages were also reasonably priced, and didn't inflate massively for half-terms unlike other holidays like Center Parcs etc.

Highly recommend

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BristolRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My sisters and I have booked Hungate Cottages for the past nine years for the WW11 weekend. We have stayed in several of the cottages over this period and never found anything wrong with them, they are just fantastic. Everything you could possibly need is contained in them, we just adore the log fire, my two brothers in law fight to see who gets to light and take care of it (sad). The welcome from Jerry and Barbara is second to none. It is like a second home now, the cottages are super clean, tea and coffee tray is laid out and a vase of fresh flowers awaits your arrival. Being placed in the heart of North Yorkshire is wonderful, you can visit so many beautiful towns and villages, great pubs and restaurants too numerous to mention, although if you want decadence try the Black Swan at Helmsley for afternoon tea (you need to book) and is not cheap. Yorkshire has just come 3rd in the world for areas to visit - says it all. You can get free passes to the local swimming pool, and to visit Eden Camp.

Room Tip: Every Cottage is delightful the only difference is how many bedrooms you require.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Annabell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Our second trip to Hungate Cottages.

A different cottage this time(Danbydale) but as before everything was pretty much perfect. One thought I did have was that for tall people like me the over bath shower was not ideal, as I kept banging my head on the exposed roof beam which runs immediately above! However, I just used the other shower, so no problem!

We are returning again next year,as we think that the standard of the cottages, their location and the warm welcome, make Hungate pretty much unbeatable, if you want to stay in this part of the country.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rm48il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We first discovered Hungate four years ago, when our kids were tiny, and have visited again each year since, always staying in Lockton Cottage because of its enclosed garden. The cottages are beautifully presented - spotlessly clean and with everything you could need for a comfortable and relaxing holiday. We've noticed over the years that the décor and furnishings are periodically updated to keep everything looking lovely. The grounds are immaculately kept and this year there was the welcome addition of fantastic new equipment in the kids' play area, where our two could quite happily have spent the entire week! The managers are thoroughly pleasant, and the standard of guest information they provide in the cottages is second to none.

Pickering is a pleasant town to explore, and the castle and local swimming pool are worth a visit. Hungate is ideally situated for daytrips to York, Whitby, Castle Howard and Dalby Forest.

We love it so much we have already booked to come back for our fifth visit next year!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Ecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

this must be the eighth time weaved visited the hungate cottages, every time they have been spotlessly clean with all furniture and equipment to a very high standard. the managers jerry and barbera are always very welcoming,nothing is to much trouble.we look forward to visiting again very soon.brian-denise

Room Tip: try the open fire ,its great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

a group of ten people ( five couples) stayed for a week in the Garden cottage to visit the war weekend and surrounding area's. We cannot rate the accommodation any higher, everything was super. The quality of the cottage was first class it had everything we would ever need and more. Jerry and Barbara gave us a wonderful welcome and were very informative not only about the cottage but with information on local places to visit etc. The cottage was very clean, bedrooms were excellent and a lovely log fire to warm up with after a long day out and about. Free access to Eden Camp (not to be missed) and the swimming pool.
Have already booked for next year !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phylltel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pickering hotels
2.8 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 29 in Pickering
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#2 of 46 in Pickering
435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
256 reviews
2.2 mi away
Beansheaf
Beansheaf
#25 of 46 in Pickering
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hungate Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hungate Cottages

Address: Hungate Cottage Recreation Road, Pickering YO18 7ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Pickering
Price Range: £60 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hungate Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely attractive Hungate Cottages are located on the outskirts of the delightful historic town of Pickering. Pickering is a charming Yorkshire spot, with ample country inns, restaurants and specialist shopping, and it has it's own stop on the North York Moors Steam Railway. The 11 cottages are situated in peaceful gardens, yet within 5 minutes walk of Pickering's shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hungate Cottages Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing