We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Cottages within a few minutes walk of town.”
Review of Hungate Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hungate Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottages within a few minutes walk of town.”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three nights to celebrate a special birthday with family, six adults, three children aged 13, 9 & 5 & an 11 month old baby.
We had Hungate Garden Cottage which accommodates 10-12 people.
Two double bedrooms, three twin bedrooms & a wonderful alcoved area for baby's cot. There are two Z beds if required.
This cottage is absolutely beautiful with it's own driveway & beautiful private garden. A few minutes walk to town. Would love to visit in late Spring or Summer to take advantage of garden with table & ample seating.
Cottage is very well equipped & to a high standard. We loved the log fire in the evenings.
Nice play area for children. Free passes for swimming pool just a few minutes walk from property & also to Dalby Forest.
Jerry was very welcoming & extremely helpful. Would certainly love to visit again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jebbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
66
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Just back from a fabulous work team weekend away in Pickering. Hungate Garden Cottage was just beautiful. It was very comfortable for our party of 10. I loved the kitchen. We were all amazed there was lots of lovely hot water on tap for showers and hot baths when we came in frozen. I know many of us have gone home thinking of booking again this time with our prospective families. Very good position for Pickering and exploring further.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookyducky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Our family of 16 have just thoroughly enjoyed a long weekend in the, Ellerbeck and the Hungate Garden Cotttage and we can say it was not a disappointment. The cottages were extremely well kitted out and were immaculate on arrival. The endless supply of wood kept us all warm and very cosy. Some of the family took an easy 20 minute drive to Whitby for the day while others enjoyed a stroll around Pickering village were a delicious meal was enjoyed at the White Swan pub, which comes highly recommended. This was our first visit but most certainly wont be our last.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Our family of 4 stayed for 2 weeks in the Levisham Cottage over Christmas 2013. Barbara & Jerry are wonderful hosts and made us very welcome. The cottage was well appointed with everything we needed. Easy access to town with all amenities. Will definitely be coming back again one day in the future. Christmas Carols and mulled wine were wonderful treats too :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie6766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungate, Manager at Hungate Cottages, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thanks for your wonderful review. Glad you enjoyed your time with us, especially our annual Carols@Hungate event. It makes the effort worthwhile to see our guests singing carols around the Christmas Tree accompanied by the wonderful band. And of course the mulled wine and mince pies! Hope to see you again next time you're over here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

This is our 4th visit to Hungate and our second in Ellerbeck. Yet again we have been delighted with the cottage, it's facilities and the welcome we always get from Jerry and Barbara.

This was the first time here for my Mother in law, who has also fallen in love with the place.

Love the endless supply of logs, the gas poker that makes the lighting of the logs a doddle and the equipment levels generally.

As ever the place is immaculately clean and everything works. When a bulb went it was changed in minutes.

Rebooked for later in the year since we do have to go home in a day or two.................

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NGHD12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We "discovered" Yorkshire about 10 years ago and the family have been coming to Hungate Cottages ever since. The cottages are quiet, peaceful, comfortable and very well equipped. Barbara and Jerry (the hosts) are extremely kind and welcoming.
The centre of Pickering is convenient ( five mins. walk) with more than enough shops, cafes and eateries to suit all ages. The N.Y.M.R. is based here too. If you want the coast, it is 30mins. by car and walking in the area is fantastic. Visiting York is easy. Use the park & ride. We have booked two more visits to Hungate Cottages for 2014 already and can't wait to get back. All in all, a superb place to stay in a great location.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Aroeira_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Lovely, well specified cottages, all within a few yards walk of Pickering town, its interesting shops, the NY steam railway, an amazing Indian restaurant, free access to the municipal swimming pool, and more pubs and cafes than there are days in the week. Short drive to many other places.

Good for families or couples

The host is extremely welcoming, and helped with any request. We had unlimited free wood for the burner.

The cottages were also reasonably priced, and didn't inflate massively for half-terms unlike other holidays like Center Parcs etc.

Highly recommend

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BristolRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pickering hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.4 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#2 of 46 in Pickering
411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ingledene Bed & Breakfast
Ingledene Bed & Breakfast
#24 of 46 in Pickering
55 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 28 in Pickering
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hungate Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hungate Cottages

Property: Hungate Cottages
Address: Hungate Cottage Recreation Road, Pickering YO18 7ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hungate Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely attractive Hungate Cottages are located on the outskirts of the delightful historic town of Pickering. Pickering is a charming Yorkshire spot, with ample country inns, restaurants and specialist shopping, and it has it's own stop on the North York Moors Steam Railway. The 11 cottages are situated in peaceful gardens, yet within 5 minutes walk of Pickering's shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hungate Cottages Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing