We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the way but well worth the visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cottage Lea's Country Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 46 Pickering B&B and Inns
Flintshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Out of the way but well worth the visit”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We couldn't find any accomodation for our party of 5 from work in the Pickering area. All our usual haunts were booked up. Then we found the Tantara who could. Noboby knew it but looking at TA it seemed ok so we went for it. Well, TA reviewers were right, it IS a nice place to stay. Charlotte and her family try very hard to please. The bedrooms were spotless as was the dining room and small bar area. The furnishings are quality. Perhaps the only downside noted was that my room (10) could be made into a suite with the adjacent room and sound carried easily through the connecting door.

The meals are substantial and good although my steak on the first night was a little tough. The second night I tried the chicken wrapped in bacon with a leak sauce - delicious! As for the sticky toffee pudding desert - well my colleaugues and I had it the second night as well - to die for.

All in all, it's worth the treck up the hill from Middleton village. It's handy to get back to Pickering and it's delights or the N York Moors Railway and is in a good location to get onto the North York Moors if you're a walker. Scarborough is only about 30 mins ride away with York about 45 mins so it's ideally situated.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    25
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
38
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Had a lovely mid week stay at this hotel last week, charming hotel with a relaxing atmosphere ! Exceptionally clean and tidy ! Lovely freshly cooked breakfast ! The family were really friendly and they were really good with our puppy on her first holiday ! The location was good to we managed to go to Scarborough, Whitby, Robin Hoods bay and Denby forest and Goathland without any problem, also surrounded by some lovely villages. Would stay again and think it would be a lovely place for a large family party as the dining room is lovely and it would feel like your own personal hotel !!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xBJx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I booked the tantara because of the low price and was pleasantly surprised - gorgeous location in a lovely village, 5 minutes drive from flamingo land.
Clean cosy rooms, excellent service.
Bar was busy and lively which we didn't mind but was quite noisy until after midnight so may not be good if you are wanting a quiet decent nights sleep.
Fab deep bath and shower with plenty of hot water.
Only downpoint was the breakfast which wasn't up to scratch.
Would definitely stay here again for location, value for money and lovely service.

Room Tip: request a double bed or you will end up with two twins pushed together
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Stayed here a few times now with working down there. Very friendly and clean place lovely views and nice food. I see reviews mention the dogs. They never bothere you there is one who loves to be stroked but we where happy to have the dog sit with us while having a pint. Same goes for the kids there no problem what so ever. The staff will gladly helP you out with any matter. Our only down side is the tv = bag signal and little channels. Although they are replacing them. Oh and the breakfast is very good. Looking forward to going back soon

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awayallthetime1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

The location was excellent, the views and gardens stunning, plenty of car parking, however...
The service was not particulary friendly, we felt as though we were a bother.
The room was very small, dark and dingy. The one velux window was inadequate. The mirror did not have a light near it, and in the dark and pokey bathroom, the vanity light did not work. During my stay, I was unable to apply any make up because it was just too dark in our room. There was no room to move around or to sit and read.
The bar appeared to be part of the private living area (as members of the family were always sitting watching the TV, usually childrens programmes) and always had a small child running around and a small dog (+plenty of dog hairs!).
It was not a place we wished to linger in, in fact on one evening, we sat in a lay by reading, until it was time to eat...elsewhere!
I could not recommend this hotel, for us, it spoilt our weekend.

Room Tip: Room and en-suite bathroom was far too small, had one velux window and was therefore dark and dingy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sally813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

nice room, but they had disco on at night and it was soo loud we had to go out for a walk at midnight, came back and it was louder, when we complained the staff were not bothered so i had to go to the dj and told him to turn it down. had drunks shouting until 2 after travelling from london to yorkshire then having to get up early for breakfast and christening we thought it was a waste of money. going to a premier next time.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susie573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Just got back from a short stay at the Tantara. We were very disappointed to say the least. On arrival we were greeted by yapping dogs at reception. We were given very little information regarding breakfast, hotel facilities, check out times etc.
The hotel seemed unusually quiet for high season & our room had clearly not been in use for some time as the corners were covered in cobwebs & spiders!!
The room was quite small for the price (£99 a night) & the double bed was 2 beds pushed together!!! A pet hate of ours!! The TV only had badly tuned terrestrial channels (no freeview??) & the wifi signal was intermittent.
On top of all this we slept very badly as our room was an adjoining family room with only a single door separating us & another family. We could hear every word they spoke & I'm sure vice versa which made us feel like we had to whisper (we could even hear them snoring in the night!). This is not what I would expect when paying £99 a night. It was more like staying in a hostel than a hotel!
All this is such a shame as this place as huge potential, it's in a good location with very nice surroundings. If the owners took a bit more care & showed some interest it could have been a very different story.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
3.0 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
3.7 mi away
Lastingham Grange
Lastingham Grange
#1 of 1 in Lastingham
77 reviews
2.8 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
215 reviews
6.0 mi away
Milburn Arms Hotel
Milburn Arms Hotel
#25 of 46 in Pickering
163 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fox & Hounds Country Inn
Fox & Hounds Country Inn
#1 of 3 in Sinnington
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Lea's Country Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Lea's Country Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Cottage Lea's Country Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Nova Lane | Middleton, Pickering YO18 8PN, England (Formerly Tantara Country Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottage Lea's Country Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cottage Lea's Country Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Lea's Country Hotel And Restaurant Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing