We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cottage Lea's Country Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 46 Pickering B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 March 2013

From start to finish my partner and I's stay at Tantara was utterly disappointing. We were the only guests at the hotel and yet they put us in a fairly grotty bedroom (clean but very small, caravan-feel, extremely basic). The weather was freezing (lots of snow) and yet the radiator in the room didn't work so we just had a free-standing heater- and there was no radiator in the bathroom. To be fair to the owners, they were friendly enough, and the breakfast was good, BUT, they seated us in the foyer for breakfast where their children were sat in pyjamas watching TV- hardly what we'd imagined for a romantic weekend away! And they didn't have all the options they claimed to offer on their menu. The whole experience had a very tired and apathetic feel about it- some of the previously opened packets of cheap caterer's jam in the breakfast basket had been left in, the dog begged at our table at breakfast, there was no food on offer in the evening and so we had to brave the terrible roads to find somewhere to eat (there were several inches of snow and the roads around Tantara aren't great at the best of times). I've noticed some reviewers seemed to like feeling "part of the family"--- I felt this was taken too far, especially expecting us to have breakfast in what felt more like the kids' play area. Tantara has the potential to be a lovely place, but from the impression we got, the owners seem to have given up on it a bit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elspeth88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2012

a pleasant surprise! This was a bargain deal, the rooms are as you would expect, reasonable size but not huge, extremely clean, modern, light and airy. A warm welcome on what was a very cold and rainy day.
The food in the restaurant was a massive surprise - I wasnt expecting much but I was totally wrong to think this - the food was great; wholesome, home-cooked and fresh. Try it if you are in the area - it's not luxurious but nor does it pretend to be - it's a clean, modern hotel with great food. The entire bill for the room with breakfast for two, two courses each for two in the restaurant for dinner, and two alcoholic drinks each was just over £100 - a bargain in anyone's book!
It's a little out of the way - but this adds to the charm - a great little hideaway.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy75london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

A good place to stay, not too far from York and adjacent to the NYMR >Excellent food with good portions , which seems to be locally sourced, friendly and efficient staff. could benifit from a sign on the main road.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side can be cool. In winter ask for south facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We couldn't find any accomodation for our party of 5 from work in the Pickering area. All our usual haunts were booked up. Then we found the Tantara who could. Noboby knew it but looking at TA it seemed ok so we went for it. Well, TA reviewers were right, it IS a nice place to stay. Charlotte and her family try very hard to please. The bedrooms were spotless as was the dining room and small bar area. The furnishings are quality. Perhaps the only downside noted was that my room (10) could be made into a suite with the adjacent room and sound carried easily through the connecting door.

The meals are substantial and good although my steak on the first night was a little tough. The second night I tried the chicken wrapped in bacon with a leak sauce - delicious! As for the sticky toffee pudding desert - well my colleaugues and I had it the second night as well - to die for.

All in all, it's worth the treck up the hill from Middleton village. It's handy to get back to Pickering and it's delights or the N York Moors Railway and is in a good location to get onto the North York Moors if you're a walker. Scarborough is only about 30 mins ride away with York about 45 mins so it's ideally situated.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Had a lovely mid week stay at this hotel last week, charming hotel with a relaxing atmosphere ! Exceptionally clean and tidy ! Lovely freshly cooked breakfast ! The family were really friendly and they were really good with our puppy on her first holiday ! The location was good to we managed to go to Scarborough, Whitby, Robin Hoods bay and Denby forest and Goathland without any problem, also surrounded by some lovely villages. Would stay again and think it would be a lovely place for a large family party as the dining room is lovely and it would feel like your own personal hotel !!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xBJx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I booked the tantara because of the low price and was pleasantly surprised - gorgeous location in a lovely village, 5 minutes drive from flamingo land.
Clean cosy rooms, excellent service.
Bar was busy and lively which we didn't mind but was quite noisy until after midnight so may not be good if you are wanting a quiet decent nights sleep.
Fab deep bath and shower with plenty of hot water.
Only downpoint was the breakfast which wasn't up to scratch.
Would definitely stay here again for location, value for money and lovely service.

Room Tip: request a double bed or you will end up with two twins pushed together
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Stayed here a few times now with working down there. Very friendly and clean place lovely views and nice food. I see reviews mention the dogs. They never bothere you there is one who loves to be stroked but we where happy to have the dog sit with us while having a pint. Same goes for the kids there no problem what so ever. The staff will gladly helP you out with any matter. Our only down side is the tv = bag signal and little channels. Although they are replacing them. Oh and the breakfast is very good. Looking forward to going back soon

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Awayallthetime1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
3.0 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
3.7 mi away
Lastingham Grange
Lastingham Grange
#1 of 1 in Lastingham
84 reviews
2.8 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
254 reviews
3.1 mi away
Vivers Mill
Vivers Mill
#32 of 46 in Pickering
61 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lowther House
Lowther House
#7 of 46 in Pickering
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Lea's Country Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Lea's Country Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Nova Lane | Middleton, Pickering YO18 8PN, England (Formerly Tantara Country Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range: £108 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottage Lea's Country Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Cottage Lea's Country Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Lea's Country Hotel And Restaurant Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing