We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, rural Yorkshire”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sevenford House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sevenford House
Ranked #1 of 49 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful, rural Yorkshire”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed at Sevenford in late November when the moors were frosted and everything was rather deserted except of course for the sheep. Unfortunately the proprietors were on holiday and we were greeted with a note and a cold house. Nevertheless, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in their big, empty house - a spacious and comfortable spot deep in the Yorkshire moors. The B&B, housed in a large farm house is truly a step back in time. With grand manor sized rooms, high ceilings and an eclectic collection of furniture well in keeping with this period property one can truly sense an other worldliness that is hard to describe.

Breakfast is served in one of the main rooms with a panoramic view of the surrounding countryside and loads of bunnies playing in the garden. A spacious and delightful sitting room is also generously provided to guests complete with fire, books and lots of comfortable seating – perfect when the weather cut our off season explorations short.

If you have an imagination and like magical places then Sevenford is for you - at once remote and mystical whilst at the same time full of the inviting charm that makes Yorkshire so special.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jac p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenford H, Owner at Sevenford House, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Yorkshire and must apologise for nobody being here to welcome you when you arrived on that chilly November day , we do hope you will return when the sun is shining and we can give you a proper warm Sevenford welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
88
267
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

We have just returned from spending Christmas at the Coach House at Sevenford, and have probably had our “Best Christmas Ever” at this wonderful location. Greeted on arrival with chocolates, a bottle of bubbly, a roaring log fire and a wonderful Christmas tree the scene was set for a superb week. As hosts you simply can not fault Ian and Linda who greet you more like family than guests, and the location is perfect for all your outdoor activities, or for simply relaxing in the well equipped and beautifully styled Coach House. We had a fantastic time as did the 18 guests we hosted in our 7 day stay, many of whom I know are planning to return themselves. If you have never visited Rosedale then you should plan to do so in 2013, and trust me – this is the place to stay - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenford H, Manager at Sevenford House, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
We are always pleased when visitors return to Sevenford and we are so happy that you enjoyed your Christmas with us. Thank you very much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

We were pleased that we had located Sevenford House on our sat nav before leaving home, because we arrived one dark winter's evening when the weather was terrible, with torrential rain coming down horizontally. Not the sort of night to get lost on unfamiliar narrow lanes. But there was a real welcome awaiting, and a good coal fire in the lounge.
Our room was comfortable and warm despite the low temperatures outside. The bed was good and our breakfasts were excellent. Lovely views from the windows. The house was spotlessly clean.
We stayed 3 nights, and had dinners in 3 different pubs, which were all excellent and friendly (a refreshing change from some parts of the UK where the locals don't mix).
We will book Sevenford again because it was such a pleasant stay, and is located in such a beautiful area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HamptonYZs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed for the weekend at Sevenford House and had a lovely time. The pub at the end of the track had a good menu and food to match. We did a circular walk on the Saturday from Rosedale with great views. The B&B was everything we wanted for our weekend away with a lovely room and great hospitality along with a view across the valley and the rabbits in the garden. We will definitely return.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

We booked for four nights and really enjoyed our stay. Our room was clean and spacious. The views are wonderful. It is a great place to get away from it all, relax and enjoy peace and quiet. It is ideal for exploring the North York Moors and the coast. There are lots of local walks and a lovely pub down the lane with great beer and food. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshguyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

Quite simply the most pleasant of hosts and the best of B&Bs in a wonderful house. Anyone who fails to enjoy their stay here is beyond pleasing! To add even more to the enjoyment of staying at Sevenford House is a nearby pub called The White Horse which is ideal for dinner and a tipple at the end of that busy day.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

My friend and I stayed for 2 nights at Sevenford House and had a fabulous time the hotel is spotless and the breakfast was great. The owners of the hotel are a lovely couple very helpful and knowledgeable about the local area The views from the hotel are spectacular and if I am in the area again I would definatly stay there again

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monica12351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
8.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
8.7 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
8.5 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ann's Cottage and The Old Smithy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sevenford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sevenford House

Property: Sevenford House
Address: Rosedale Abbey, Pickering YO18 8SE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sevenford House sits in large gardens on the slopes of Rosedale Abbey in the North York Moors national park, about 10 miles from Pickering, and enjoys beautiful views of the village below.Linda Sugars has been welcoming visitors to the North Yorkshire Moors for 25 years and with her partner Ian they offer a warm family welcome. Rosedale Abbey lies at the centre of the Moors National Park, making Sevenford House a great base to explore the region’s many famous attractions and historic sites.Bed and breakfast accommodation includes three beautifully decorated and large guest rooms, a guest lounge with library and open coal fire, a dining room with grand piano that visitors are welcome to use and an information point with tips on things to see and do in the region. The nearly four acre landscaped gardens are open to visitors and include a private summer house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sevenford House Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing