We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Haven from a noisy world”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sevenford House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sevenford House
Ranked #1 of 49 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hull
1 review
“Haven from a noisy world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

A welcome that straight away made us feel relaxed. A warm fire in the large sitting room along with a nice drink of coffee.Plenty of books to read.( Is this Rosedales library?)Ian the perfect host.Bedroom very good.The morning breakfast very good indeed. To all the guests Ian and Linda give a warm and freindly welcome. The surroundings are perfect for photo album filling. Can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian T, Owner at Sevenford House, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Many thanks for taking the trouble to write a review, we are so pleased you both enjoyed your stay with us especially as it was your friends recommendation that brought you here. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
88
267
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
teesside
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Beautiful tranquil scenery. Fantastic hosts - Linda & Ian, extremely helpful and friendly. Lovely rooms and guest lounge. Breakfast - everything you could ask for, fresh fruits, yogurts, cereals along with a wholesome cooked breakfast of your choice. Pub within easy walking distance. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay - Thank you

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artfullodger80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North of England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We arrived here in the late afternoon, all soaked to the skin after long day's walking and could not have received a better welcome. A wonderful drying room for all our gear, lovely large bedrooms, gracious sitting room and tea and biscuits. This is an excellent place and our thanks to Ian and his wife - two very welcoming people. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joantrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian T, Owner at Sevenford House, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we are so pleased you felt welcome after your very "soggy" days walking and trust the weather improved for the rest of your coast to coast walk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Sevenford House is in a stunning setting with beautiful rooms that are so comfortable. The location is tranquil with sprawling hills yet accessible to the town and amenities. Many thanks to our fabulous hosts Ian and Linda for their outstanding service. The breakfast was delicious and the bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in! I long to go back - an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ms m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Just gets better every time we go Linda and Ian are about the best hosts you could get there knowledge of the area is extensive. They know the best places to eat the best walks to do and they go to pick up walkers on all the routes through the area they book Restaurants for you and even book shows at the Glaze Dale theatre. I could not fault them at all to be honest with all that read this you should go and try it for yourselves I am certain you would not be disappointed it is quite simply the best

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

My wife and I have just returned from yet another annual visit to Sevenford House where Lynda and Ian are excellant host full of local information and willing rto help in aqny way. The House is spacious and most comfortable and the breakfast are varied and delightfull. The well kept extensive grounds have great views over Rosedale valley and an hour in the comfortable summer house is ideal before visiting one ogf the nearby hostelries for dinner - we shall certainly return as soon as possible.

Doreen and Dennis Adams

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian T, Owner at Sevenford House, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Many thanks for your review, it is always a pleasure to have you and Doreen staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

This was our fourth visit to Sevenford House and once again we were not disappointed. The room was very tastefully decorated with a really comfy bed. The en-suite was very roomy too.The full english breakfast was also excellent.. Sevenford is set in a really lovely location and the gardens are very pleasant too. The owners are always friendly and very helpful. We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian T, Owner at Sevenford House, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Many thanks for your kind words and Linda tells me you have already booked to come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
8.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
8.7 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
8.5 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ann's Cottage and The Old Smithy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sevenford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sevenford House

Property: Sevenford House
Address: Rosedale Abbey, Pickering YO18 8SE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sevenford House sits in large gardens on the slopes of Rosedale Abbey in the North York Moors national park, about 10 miles from Pickering, and enjoys beautiful views of the village below.Linda Sugars has been welcoming visitors to the North Yorkshire Moors for 25 years and with her partner Ian they offer a warm family welcome. Rosedale Abbey lies at the centre of the Moors National Park, making Sevenford House a great base to explore the region’s many famous attractions and historic sites.Bed and breakfast accommodation includes three beautifully decorated and large guest rooms, a guest lounge with library and open coal fire, a dining room with grand piano that visitors are welcome to use and an information point with tips on things to see and do in the region. The nearly four acre landscaped gardens are open to visitors and include a private summer house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sevenford House Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing