We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good”
Review of Sevenford House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sevenford House
Ranked #1 of 46 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at Sevenford House a second time recently, and our pleasant experience was consistent with last year. Again, the house was spotlessly clean, the breakfasts were wonderful, and our hosts Ian and Linda were very gracious.

The dedicated guest WiFi connection was good in the 2 rooms that we used, and the pot of tea and cakes on arrival was very welcome. All in all, it’s a wonderful place to stay with plenty of peace & quiet, no ‘city glow’, ample parking and treats on the welcome tray

There was a little fog/Saharan pollution in the area during our stay which limited the views somewhat, but that’s all the more reason to return!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atw63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian T, Owner at Sevenford House, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for yet another review, Linda and I were delighted to see you and your parents back at Sevenford and we look forward to welcoming your sister in the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
93
273
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fishguard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

By far and away the best B & B we have stayed in for years. Apart from the location, which is absolutely stunning, the room facilities are excellent, the hosts exceptionally welcoming and helpful, and breakfast choice superb. Wished we lived nearer - we would be visiting every month!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 678Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian T, Owner at Sevenford House, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Many thanks for your review, Linda and I would be only too happy if you were to move nearer and come and stay every month!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORTH LINCOLNSHIRE
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Loved everything about this place.
We received a lovely welcome from the hosts and we're immediately offered a tray of tea and biscuits in the library, complete with a lit open fire and large comfy sofas.
The room was delightful, lovely views of the countryside and very large.
The bed was so comfortable and facilities in general were fine.
Beautiful location for exploring the countryside,
Breakfast was very good, in all our stay at £80.00 for the night was well worth it and we will be returning for longer next time. Thanks to you both

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KITCHES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian T, Owner at Sevenford House, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us and we certainly look forward to your longer stay next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is not the first time we have been to Sevenford House, but it never fails to impress. Nestling on the hillside above the village it is both a tranquil spot and an excellent starting point for the many walks in the area. The house itself is immaculate, the breakfasts delicious and the hospitality second to none. It's a wonderful place for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just back from a fabulous stay at this wonderful b and b. Linda and Ian couldn't have been more helpful. We were given lifts to and from the pub we were visiting for a micro brewery tour, Linda offered to ring and book a table for us at the local pub for dinner and gave us lots of useful information on the local area. The house itself was beautiful and we had a great breakfast this morning, would definitely recommend the poached eggs. Only downside was that we only stayed for one night! Thanks again for such a lovely time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2014

we stayed in the coach house and had breakfast in the main house, it was fantastic.
we couldnt fault it at all, totally spoilt us.we had been walking all day and when we got there, ian had lit the stove for us in the coach house, which was perfect. cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margo201214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

A beautiful house and loving family to welcome you after travelling so far, with a garden full of trees in the middle of Eden. Ian and Linda were full of helpful information and showed me the way to a great walk into the moors.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paradon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
8.9 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
8.7 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
661 reviews
8.5 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,997 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
712 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ann's Cottage and The Old Smithy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sevenford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sevenford House

Property: Sevenford House
Address: Rosedale Abbey, Pickering YO18 8SE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sevenford House sits in large gardens on the slopes of Rosedale Abbey in the North York Moors national park, about 10 miles from Pickering, and enjoys beautiful views of the village below.Linda Sugars has been welcoming visitors to the North Yorkshire Moors for 25 years and with her partner Ian they offer a warm family welcome. Rosedale Abbey lies at the centre of the Moors National Park, making Sevenford House a great base to explore the region’s many famous attractions and historic sites.Bed and breakfast accommodation includes three beautifully decorated and large guest rooms, a guest lounge with library and open coal fire, a dining room with grand piano that visitors are welcome to use and an information point with tips on things to see and do in the region. The nearly four acre landscaped gardens are open to visitors and include a private summer house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sevenford House Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing