We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy B & B in great location”
Review of Sevenford House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sevenford House
Ranked #1 of 46 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed as a couple for 2 nights in May at this very classy B & B situated in expansive gardens just above Rosedale Abbey, a charming little village approx. 10 miles north of Pickering. The quality of fixtures and furnishings in our spacious room was excellent, as was the quality of the breakfasts. There are great views of the valley below from the house and the gardens. Ian is a helpful and attentive host and is most helpful with advice for exploring the local area. Within a 400 yards walk is a country pub, the White Horse, which serves good food for evening meals and the village itself is a pleasant walk down the hill, where there are further options. Definitely a place to return to soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buryplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

If we can't get a booking at Sevenford House when contemplating a trip to Yorkshire, we just don't visit Yorkshire until we can- it's that simple! I defy anybody to honestly find the smallest fault with any aspect of their stay here. The welcome , the room / house quality and cleanliness,the breakfast and the sheer kindness, humour and friendly disposition of Linda and Ian are exemplary. I have even been forgiven for accidentally taking the key when I left last time and am assured that I may be allowed back now I have posted it to its owners! Short of finding I am on kitchen duties next time we go, I commend the hosts' understanding of my error. Well done all at Sevenford - it is a real pleasure to be able to visit you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We've stayed at Sevenford House several times & we can't resist returning.The house & setting are beautiful,the rooms are tasteful & very comfortable & the breakfasts delicious.The chocs in the room are typical of the nice touches that make it such a special place.
Linda & Ian are so warm & hospitable it's like coming home.Of course we would recommend it to anyone but it's very tempting to keep this little gem to ourselves!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenford H, Owner at Sevenford House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Tom, thank you for another glowing Tripadvisor review, it is so gratifying when people keep coming back and we are pleased you have gone public with your views and not kept Sevenford House a secret.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Very friendly and warm welcome. Just spent two night at this wonderful place and good service. Lovely breakfast and very nice rest for weekend. Beautiful view of countryside Rosedale. Would go back again. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queesra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenford H, Owner at Sevenford House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Queesra, thank you for taking the trouble to write a review of your visit and we hope to see you and Chris back here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Visited with friends, end of April. Everything could not be bettered. Same room as last time clean, comfortable,and well equipped.Ian lit a fire for us in the lounge as weather still a bit nippy.
Superb breakfast and charming hosts, who reaaly care and are passionate about what they do. Will definately be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willowfurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed here on Day 12 of our Coast To Coast. Lovely Linda picked us up from Blakey Ridge after a very long and wet walk from Ingleby Cross as well as dropping us back the following morning. Sevenford House is just stunning. Spectacular views, lovely hosts, superb breakfast, extremely comfortable bed and delightful room. My husband and I felt thoroughly spoilt here. As we were fairly late arriving, Linda even dropped us off at the wonderful local pub for dinner - so kind. Actually I was incredibly grateful as I fear the usual five-minute stroll could have easily taken me 20 minutes due to rather sore feet...!! Wouldn't hesitate to recommend and as Rosedale is a favourite spot of ours, we'll certainly be staying here again in the very near future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuthieRoo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenford H, Owner at Sevenford House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your review, Linda and I are delighted that we were able to spoil you with some home comforts on your long trek.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just spent three nights at this wonderful place and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone. Elegant surroundings, comfortable beds and lovely breakfasts. Ian and Linda are very welcoming hosts and couldn't do enough to make the stay memorable. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paulbell57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian T, Owner at Sevenford House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay, we hope to see you back here soon. We will certainly think of you next time we are on the York "Park and ride"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pickering hotels
8.7 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
698 reviews
8.9 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
8.5 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#2 of 46 in Pickering
436 reviews
8.8 mi away
Bramwood Guest House
Bramwood Guest House
#3 of 46 in Pickering
330 reviews
8.5 mi away
Pear Tree House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sevenford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sevenford House

Address: Rosedale Abbey, Pickering YO18 8SE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range: £35 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sevenford House sits in large gardens on the slopes of Rosedale Abbey in the North York Moors national park, about 10 miles from Pickering, and enjoys beautiful views of the village below.Linda Sugars has been welcoming visitors to the North Yorkshire Moors for 25 years and with her partner Ian they offer a warm family welcome. Rosedale Abbey lies at the centre of the Moors National Park, making Sevenford House a great base to explore the region’s many famous attractions and historic sites.Bed and breakfast accommodation includes three beautifully decorated and large guest rooms, a guest lounge with library and open coal fire, a dining room with grand piano that visitors are welcome to use and an information point with tips on things to see and do in the region. The nearly four acre landscaped gardens are open to visitors and include a private summer house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sevenford House Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing