We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find in beautiful surroundings”
Review of Sevenford House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sevenford House
Ranked #1 of 46 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby
1 review
“A great find in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 8 July 2010

A very comfortable place to stay, fab breakfast, Linda gives you a wonderful welcome and is full of advice and information.
This was our second visit and we will be returning again, guests we have met are all on return visits. an ideal centre for walkers as there are so many trails from easy to whatever takes your fancy.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotshot1Grimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
93
273
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buttercrambe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Stayed at Sevenford for a long weekend and had a wonderfully relaxing time. Everything was perfect...rooms(spacious and tasteful), breakfast (locally sourced delicious produce of the highest quality), views (stunning), location (secluded and peaceful but very near a number of interesting attractions) etc.
Our host Linda was extremely friendly and attentive from the minute we arrived until we left both Linda and her family made us feel most welcome.
Will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyKH417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We stayed at Sevenford House for three nights recently and on arrival we were greeted by a gentleman who read us a note from the non existant Linda Sugars. We were shown around the house and shown our room. The house is in a stunning location and has a large garden. I was looking forward to relaxing in the garden on one of the sun loungers but they were without cushions!! Our room was comfortable but lacked a summer duvet. The en suite bathroom was small as was the shower!! However the main thing for us was the lack of hospitality during our stay. the only person we ever saw was the young girl who served us our breakfast in the morning and on our departure we settled up with the gentleman who we met on our arrival. We felt as if we were staying in the house on our own and we were disappointed that Sevenford House lacked that special personal touch.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthiereed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We stayed at Sevenford House for two very rainy days. We had a king size and a double room. Both were very comfortable and beautifully decorated, with lovely views out over Rosedale. Linda served an excellent breakfast, with plenty of choice. There are a number of good walks from the B&B. Overall, highly recommended for a relaxing weekend away.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSPLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2010

We loved this beautiful B&B nestled in wonderful countryside. Sevenford is elegant, stylish, very comfortable, great views, and induces a feeling of relaxation. Great walks straight from the house, great driving scenery as well if the weather is poor, lovely pubs and one that is only a short walk away. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

This guest house is in a lovely setting with large gardens surrounding the house and lots of wildlife to see from your window.

There was a warm welcome for us and this continued throughout the weekend with good advice on places to eat, the lovely breakfast topped things off. We'll certainly be going back.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

i can only repeat what most other reviews have said beautiful house , stunning surroundings and a fabulous host in Linda. The breakfast was gorge enough of everthing,and the bed was like a big fluffy cloud!!. Linda was very helpful offering to book any eating establishments.I would reccomend that if you are planning on eating out whilst there that you get the telephone numbers of linda and book a meal well in advance before you go to avoid dissapointment of not getting in that night.All in all a lovely weekend and will be definately going again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flower005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
8.9 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
8.7 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
661 reviews
8.5 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,996 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
712 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ann's Cottage and The Old Smithy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sevenford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sevenford House

Property: Sevenford House
Address: Rosedale Abbey, Pickering YO18 8SE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sevenford House sits in large gardens on the slopes of Rosedale Abbey in the North York Moors national park, about 10 miles from Pickering, and enjoys beautiful views of the village below.Linda Sugars has been welcoming visitors to the North Yorkshire Moors for 25 years and with her partner Ian they offer a warm family welcome. Rosedale Abbey lies at the centre of the Moors National Park, making Sevenford House a great base to explore the region’s many famous attractions and historic sites.Bed and breakfast accommodation includes three beautifully decorated and large guest rooms, a guest lounge with library and open coal fire, a dining room with grand piano that visitors are welcome to use and an information point with tips on things to see and do in the region. The nearly four acre landscaped gardens are open to visitors and include a private summer house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sevenford House Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing