We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb cottages with breakfast brought to your table.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ann's Cottage and The Old Smithy
Ranked #2 of 49 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb cottages with breakfast brought to your table.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

Our second stay with Ann and Colin (1st time in Old Smithy)This time we stayed in Anns cottage. As with our first visit Ann and Colin provided a first class service and superb breakfast.
There is plenty to do from this location, we spent 4 days here as below:
Day One - Whitby.
Day Two - We drove to Grosmont, then took a beautiful walk to Goathland, had a drink and snack there than caught the North Yorkshire Moors steam train back to Grosmont, it is a lovely experience and well worth trying. We had a Moors Kitchen meal that evening, delicious home cooked food, served piping hot in the cottage.
Day Three- A circular walk aroung Rosedale followed by a lovely Sunday lunch at the Blackmiths Arms in Lastingham.
Day Four - Castle Howard.

Room Tip: The Old Smithy is large and quite sumptuous. Anns cottage is compact but opens out onto a large law...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bez06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
162
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leics
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

Ann's cottage is a perfect country retreat. Ann and Colin put their hearts into making sure that we had a comfortable stay. Their welcome is open and warm. They bring in beautiful breakfast. They light a log fire while you are out so that you come home to a snug glow. The cottage is clean as a new pin and yet very homely. All in one, with shower room at rear, thre's a cooker and pans for self catering, fridge stocked with juice, milk and fresh fruit and cupboards stocked with tea, coffee and cereal. There are views out along beautiful Rosedale and picnic tables in the garden for warm afternoons and evenings. Pubs nearby (about 2 miles) and magnificent walking.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonviveur2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2008

I also have stayed at Ann's cottage, twice now and have booked again for this year!!
It is perfect. The Old Smithy is gorgeous, it has oak floors and two big squashy couches, ideal when you come in from a long walk. Colin always makes sure the wood burning stove is burning nicely for you on your return. The pubs are not very far and serve superb food. Ann and Colin make you so welcome, you feel like family. We stay in December which is a perfect time to cuddle up on the setee with a glass of wine. Don't tell too many people about this place I want it for myself!!

  • Liked — The friendly hosts
  • Disliked — nothing!!!
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jacboy103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2008

If you are looking for a quiet, rural location, central for the North York Moors and beyond you have found it!

Ann's Cottage alongside the Old Smithy is perfect. With fantastic hosts Ann and Colin you could not ask for more. They have such a warm welcome, it is like visiting family. We stayed bed and breakfast, which is fantastic however the facilities are they to stay self-catering or to cook food on an evening.

The location is superb, the views are amazing, the walks are fantastic and the local villages are great.

Ann's Cottage is quaint, perfectly designed, romantic, cosy and immaculate!!

I could not recommend this place highly enough. All you need for a relaxing weekend away or a walking holiday.

You are sure to be welcomed by Ann and Colin.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Having to come home!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
10.2 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
10.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
10.0 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
11.1 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#3 of 49 in Pickering
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
7.5 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#2 of 27 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ann's Cottage and The Old Smithy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ann's Cottage and The Old Smithy

Property: Ann's Cottage and The Old Smithy
Address: Hillyard Cottage | Rosedale East, Pickering YO18 8RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ann's Cottage and The Old Smithy 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful 5 star B&B cottages are winners of the VisitEngland Rose Award for Service Excellence 2015. If you are looking for the perfect escape from everyday life then look no further than Ann's Cottage and The Old Smithy nestled in the heart of The National Park of the North Yorkshire Moors. Formerly farm buildings, our beautifully converted characterful cottages offer a perfect hideaway with log burning stoves and sumptuous furnishings creating the ambiance of a private escape. We offer a unique stay in our quintessentially English country cottages with a hearty award winning Yorkshire breakfast. The rural retreat features rustic stone walls and dark oak beams with solid oak flooring in neutral tones accented with golden hues and rich reds. The cottages host deluxe king doubles with en suite shower rooms, living areas and full kitchen diners sleeping up to 2 adults with garden and dale views. Have BBQs or picnics in the garden or venture beyond the garden walls into the beautiful valley of Rosedale Abbey exploring the natural beauty of the local area whether it be on the scenic drives, hiking trails or cycle ways. For history lovers, the area is teeming with abbeys, castles, churches with crypts and so much more. The stone arches of the old iron ore mines gaze down on our idyllic retreat creating a dynamic atmosphere that reflects the drama of the vibrant heather covered moorland. Blow the cobwebs away on our bracing circular moorland walk skirting the valley discovering the relics of the old mining days before returning rosy cheeked to the privacy of your own country cottage perfect for all seasons. We are happy to help direct you to points of interest, local restaurants, country pubs, shops and tea rooms, there is so much to do and more if you can be tempted out of this romantic bolthole. Your stay includes free WIFI, Freeview Flatscreen TV, DVD/CD player,logs for your wood burning stove and use of a BBQ. Winners of the "Welcome to Excellence" award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ann's Cottage and The Old Smithy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ann's Cottage And The Old Smithy Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing