We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best B&B we've stayed at, ever!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flamborough Rigg Cottage
Ranked #33 of 46 Pickering B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Phil and Caroline have created the most wonderful B&B accommodation that my husband and I have ever stayed at. I'm not one to gush but Flamborough Rigg Cottage brings out the "gusher" in me! We have stayed at many lovely places all over the UK (and world) and our friends would probably call us difficult to please but this B&B does not disappoint - indeed, from the moment we arrived and were offered a glass of bubbles in our lovely room, to our supper platter laden with homemade soups and terrines to the wonderful Yorkshire cooked breakfast, there was nothing we could fault with our stay. Thank you both and we're already checking diaries for our next stay!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pipster46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2011

Flamborough Rigg is a B&B with a self contained cottage at first floor level. We stayed in the cottage for a week at the end of August 2011. It is remote and a longish walk or a drive to any village or town. We loved the place; the peace and tranquility broken only by the calling of the sheep that surround you. The set up at Flamborough Rigg is exceptionally well done, the cottage is very well appointed, from the comfotable bed, completely fitted kitchen with all appliances and utensils. Flat TV's with DVD in lounge and bedroom, modern fitted bathroom with double ended bath and shower over. Everything is virtually brand new. Phil and Caroline our hosts greeted us kindly and bade farewell in similar fashion, apart from which they left us to our own devices. They are at hand across the gravel courtyard should you need anything, not that we did as they even provide a starter kit of food in the kitchen, including delicious local bacon, bread and preserve. An excellent place to stay to explore Yorkshire and the Moors. Beautiful countryside, with the coast and the fantastic city of York both not much more than half an hours drive away. We would unreservedly recommend a stay at Flamborough Rigg. If we return for a shorter stay we would try the B&B and indulge in their lovely breakfasts. A note of re-assurance to those non-dog owners. This establishment is dog friendly but the place is immaculately clean and you'd never know if dogs have stayed here.

Adrian and Michele Grimwade-Smith, Hertfordshire

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamiltonhyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

It is a couple of years since we last visited North Yorkshire and our favourite B&B. This time we were going with another couple. Having raved about it to our friends, when the time came we were slightly nervous that it wouldn’t live up to our expectations. We needn’t have worried; it was as fabulous as ever.

We received a warm welcome from Phil and Caroline, they even remembered and made a fuss of our retriever, Spangle. Our friends were immediately enchanted by Flamborough Rigg cottage and the great setting. We stayed in Shaw and our friends in Lockwood. The high standards and attention to details were still very much evident.

After a dip in the sea at Sandsend for Spangle we took our friends to Whitby and along the coast to the pretty fishing village of Robin Hood’s Bay. The next day we did a forest walk to Levisham for lunch at the Horseshoe Inn, thank goodness Phil made table reservations for us as it is very popular. On day three the boys headed off to Dalby forest for mountain biking and us girls went into York for retail therapy, it is fair to say that we all had the perfect day.

We were very lucky with the weather, on our last night we made the most of the longer summer evenings in the north by taking Phil up on the offer of serving our supper platters out on the sun terrace. This less formal supper option was perfect. Another new addition was the fridge in the summer house which ensured the wine we brought was perfectly chilled. Caroline kindly brought glasses and a wine cooler out to us.

Breakfast was just as delicious as last time. We all went for the cooked every morning although the pastries and Caroline’s home made jams were hard to beat. We particularly liked the gooseberry and black current jam. The berries from the garden and yogurt were also a big hit.

Caroline kindly picked a big bag of fresh berries on our last morning and gave them to us as a gift as we were leaving. This was a lovely touch.

I just wish we had stayed for longer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed in June, due to the location and previous reviews of the property. The location is perfect, not too far from Pickering and Dolby Forrest, but also far enough away to be very peaceful.

The hosts were welcoming, the breakfast was very nice indeed and the facilities were very good. The only minor attention to detail in the Shaw room could be the towel heater having being damaged at some point in the past and held together with duct tape, the tap in the sink fitted too far back and the garden door being very difficult to lock and unlock.

Overall this is a pleasant location, with good amenities and nice friendly hosts. The nice touches were a welcoming drink on arrival, tea, coffee and cookies in the room, a sheltered garden courtyard area with adequate seating and an impressively researched list of places to eat in the area.

Overall we would happily rcommend this B&B and will look to return in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nomadion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of June. Phil and Caroline were excellent hosts - attentive and welcoming and not intrusive. They made us so welcome and everything from the comfy bed, to the breakfast was absolutely perfect. We loved the setting, the garden and the lovely room. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nextwhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

From the minute we arrived , the warm welcome we got made us feel very comfortable. We had booked B+B and our courtyard room was beautiful, attention to detail was nothing short of perfect. The peace and scenery in the surrounding area was stunning and there are lots of things to see and do . There is a self catering flat as well and as we drove away we were already planning when we could go back . Last but not least the breakfast was probably the best we have ever had and we have been to a lot of B+B's! All locally sourced and beautifully cooked and presented with no fuss and very friendly service. This B+B gives the customer everything you would expect and more!

Room Tip: To get the best room all you need do is book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LILLIAN063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We have just returned home following a wonderful 3 night stay at Flamborough Rigg Cottage; Our hosts Phil and Caroline were excellent - nothing was too much trouble for them. We enjoyed their delicious Yorkshire breakfast each morning, including Whitby kippers - a real treat. Using some local knowledge helpfully provided by Phil we took the scenic route over the moors and enjoyed a day at Sandsend - our dog loved the beach too. We'll certainly be back soon and would recommend this superb place.

Room Tip: Lockwood has huge French windows into the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJL078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pickering hotels
3.6 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 29 in Pickering
293 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
5.4 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#2 of 46 in Pickering
435 reviews
5.2 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
256 reviews
7.7 mi away
Beansheaf
Beansheaf
#25 of 46 in Pickering
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamborough Rigg Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamborough Rigg Cottage

Address: Flamborough Rigg Cottage Middlehead Rd | Stape, Pickering YO18 8HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range: £85 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Flamborough Rigg Cottage 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flamborough Rigg Cottage, situated on the edge of Cropton Forest within the North Yorkshire Moors National Park offers you the best of both worlds; a peaceful oasis with all the warmth of a home from home combined with the style and facilities of a boutique hotel. Our rooms are designed to offer everything you may need. We serve a delicious Yorkshire breakfast using local ingredients, including many from our own garden. Ideally placed for walking the dogs or mountain biking through the forest, exploring the beautiful moors or strolling along the beach on Britain's most beautiful coastline. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flamborough Rigg Cottage Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing