We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the hype and go back to nature whilst keeping the home comforts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cropton Forest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Believe the hype and go back to nature whilst keeping the home comforts”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Having read that property was pitched towards couples/adults I emailed to see whether it was okay for my little family (1 year old son) to book; we'll from the very first email to the entire experience I was blown away. ***Both Sue & Ben are just so welcoming***

We took plenty of things with us, but we need not have bothered there is everything in the beautiful cottage from microwaves to kitchen foil to WiFi to FreeSat(perfect for the World Cup & tour de france). needless to say I haven't stopped raving about it since my return and now my wife and I are pondering when we can book the cottage again with friends either this year or next.

You literally are taken from the hustle and bustle to the tranquility of this location; from the gentle walks in the nearby forest to going further a field through the farmers field. Whilst we found reception we just told friends there wasn't anything :-)

For those of you that enjoy history ensure you have a word with Ben as well as places to see the North Yorkshire Moor Railway, my son was just a little to young to benefit from it all.

Loved it!

WARNING if travelling from the south if your satnav takes you to Lewisham station turn back around you don't want to drive along that route; I'd probably say if you reach the Fox & hound Pub turn left towards Pickering. Of course Sue & Ben tell you this, but I thought my SatNav would avoid private roads.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernVeggieMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
137
92
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have now visited Ben and Sue's place a few times and we keep coming back! It's of the highest quality with all the amenities you could think of, while still remaining cozy and comfortable. The woods around are great and it's so quiet, you can really relax. Even the weather cooperated and it's a great location to explore the North York Moors and everything around. Ben and Sue were, as always, very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Looking forward to our next visit!!

Room Tip: Our favourite cottage is Meadow's Edge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Absolute heaven!
Beautiful cottage in the most tranquil setting - what more could you wish for on a holiday?
Ideal for young and old with plenty of outdoor space and as many or as few nearby attractions/activities to suit every taste.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Cropton Forest Lodge provides comfortable, stylish and well-equipped self-catering accommodation and the owners are on hand when you need advice or a helping hand. Delightful extras include a liight bright conservatory, use of a barbecue prettily situated and a coutyard, secluded garden, all set in acres and acres of forest and meadow. The east coast in one direction and York in the other are easily accessible, with the gorgeous moors in between..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Probably the nicest cottage we've stayed in, and we done quite a few. The owners, Sue and Ben, made us feel like we were friends visiting again despite the fact that this was our first visit. Nothing was too much trouble. The location is remote and tranquil, so peaceful and quiet, really relaxing. I would thoroughly recommend this location. The cottage was clean and thoughtfully put together.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

If you want peace, quiet and tranquillity visit Cropton Forest Lodge. Myself and my wife stayed in Brock Cottage for 3 nights it was sensational, could not fault one thing. Clean, tidy, fresh and all beautiful furnishings. Surrounding area was beautiful. Ben & Sue are quite simply top people, who understand the customers needs and expectations.
If you are visiting Yorkshire which I highly recommend, you must stay here.
Can't wait to book my return visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Whilst searching online for accommodation in the Pickering area we came across Cropton Forest Lodge and booked Midllehead cottage for 3 nights.
The place is just as advertised rural, secluded and tranquil. The owners were very helpful and there when you needed them.
The cottage was perfect, all the mod cons, spotless yet retaining a certain old world charm.
Be prepared for an interesting drive to the property, however we found that although access from Pickering is predominately on narrow roads and track local drivers are very courteous, be prepared to reciprocate.
The location is perfect for getting away from it all yet is not isolated.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
5.4 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
675 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
5.2 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,045 reviews
4.1 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 29 in Pickering
284 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cropton Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cropton Forest Lodge

Property: Cropton Forest Lodge
Address: Stape, Pickering YO18 8HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday cottages complex. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cropton Forest Lodge And Cottages Hotel Pickering
Cropton Forest Lodge Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing