We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
137
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
137
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews play area dalby forest cakes and biscuits on arrival play equipment granary cottage aysgarth falls welcoming touch larger cottage north yorkshire english heritage fountains abbey enjoyable holiday home made cakes places to visit visited york cleaning products
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2018

This was our 5th or 6th visit and have now 'tasted' 4 of the cottages here. Wheelhouse on this occasion but previously Stables, Smithy and Pigeon Cote. All very similar in the way they're set out, comfortable and inviting. On entering they all feel very familiar and welcoming. Keld Head is very well situated to discover and explore the wonderful North Yorks Moor area. Not surprisingly we'll be back.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank philjhCrianlarich
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JulianF1051, Owner at Keld Head Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2018

Thank you for your very positive comments and being such a regular guest. We put our guests comfort and relaxation at the top of our priorities so its good to know we are getting it right.
Hope we will see yourselves back soon.
Penny & Julian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

We stayed here at the end of the summer and it was lovely. Julian and Penny work very hard to make sue everything is perfect. It was the little things we noticed like the lovely welcome basket or the special trip to collect s a paper that wasn't delivered.

The accommodation is clean, spacious, comfortable and well equipped. The outside play area is lovely the site is very safe for kids. We would certainly recommend it to friends and family.

The location is really good - easy access to York, Harrogate, Scarborough, Whitby and the moors. Being near the steam railway is also a bonus!

Any issues? Nothing major. The farm is a bit nearer a main road than we realised which can be a bit noisy. The Wi-Fi was also very limited but we were out and about too much to really notice.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JulianF1051, Owner at Keld Head Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Hello Peter, thank you for your review, it was a pleasure having you with us and glad you took full advantage of the play areas etc. And thank you for the recommendations to your friends and family that's very much appreciated. We try our best to keep the cottages and grounds well equipped its always good to hear we succeed in this. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Really nice location to explore Pickering and the surrounding area. Cottage was lovely and the garden area with lots of children's play equipment was the icing on the cake, our kids loved it! Really great hosts, excellent central library of dvds to borrow, just overall a fabulous experience.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JulianF1051, Owner at Keld Head Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are so glad you enjoyed yourselves here at Keld Head Farm Cottages, Its always great to hear back from our guests. Hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

I stayed on the farm for a fortnight during a Summer holiday. In the middle of my stay, I was called back to my office for an important meeting. I had to leave my family for 2 days. My first thought after coming back to the farm after the short break was "it's so nice to be back home again". It took me a second to realise that it is just a holiday place not my sweet home. :-)

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Michał C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julian F, Owner at Keld Head Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Well Thank you for this review we aim to make our cottages as homely and cosy as we can so its always good to know that we delivered that feel for you, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

We stayed as a family last week in two cottages, one for our son, daughter-in-law and grandson and one for myself and my wife. Both cottages were extremely well appointed and clean with welcoming stocks of cakes and biscuits on arrival. Our cottage (the Smithy) had everything we could need to live in permanently (apart from a large garden which we love). It was warm, peaceful and comfortable. About ten or fifteen yards from our cottage was a little maze and play area and farther on from that was a badminton net and some goalposts for older children. Games equipment were stored in a shed near to a summerhouse which was peaceful and cool. Board games were available at reception if the weather was bad and our grandson used a couple of these over the week that we stayed. The cottages are next to a busy road but we weren't disturbed by noise from traffic and slept well each night. Having a well appointed kitchen meant that we could cook our own meals if we couldn't be bothered to traipse out looking for a nice restaurant. Speaking of nice restaurants, the welcome pack which was provided in each cottage gave recommendations for local fayre and we took advantage of the recommendations in there. The reception area also has many leaflets on local attractions which, again, helped us to decide an itinerary for the week. We found that the Wifi was a little slow and dropped off frequently but that didn't bother us too much as we were on our holiday and didn't need the internet to entertain us. The farmstead was lovely with several local visitors such as Doris and Harley the peacocks, many doves and several chickens to entertain little ones. We loved it and will recommend the place wholeheartedly. The location is next to the main road from Thirsk to Scarborough so access to several worthwhile visiting destinations are available and Dalby forest is about 1 10 to 15 minute drive away on the route to Whitby and Robin Hood's Bay. The farmstead is also about 20 minutes' walk from the centre of Pickering which is worth a leisurely stroll and mooch. Thank you Penny and Julian for a lovely place to visit on our holiday, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room tip: For a couple, the Smithy is ideal
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julian F, Owner at Keld Head Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

What a brilliant review, Thank you so much for taking the time to write it. Looks like you have really enjoyed your time with us at Keld Head and you made the most of the activities on site and also you managed to fit in lots of visits to places nearby. we hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews