We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
JennyL
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1
Long Holiday
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Jun 2019
We stayed in Wheelhouse cottage which was very spacious and comfortable, the Cottage had all we needed for our stay and the grounds are just beautiful, it was 2 weeks of sun shine so we sat out most evenings, Penny, Julian and Richard were most helpful with advise for day trips and places to eat in Pickering(of which there is so much choice) its our second stay at Keld Head and we will be back.
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£98
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £98
  • eDreams
    £98
0.9 miles from Keld Head Farm Holiday Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£146
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £142
  • Hotels.com
    £146
  • eDreams
    £146
0.8 miles from Keld Head Farm Holiday Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£120
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £120
  • Priceline
    £120
  • Expedia.com
    £120
0.5 miles from Keld Head Farm Holiday Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£126
  • Expedia.com
    £126
  • Hotels.com
    £126
  • Priceline
    £140
0.9 miles from Keld Head Farm Holiday Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£109
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £109
  • eDreams
    £109
1.1 miles from Keld Head Farm Holiday Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£135
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
    £135
  • Agoda.com
    £135
0.9 miles from Keld Head Farm Holiday Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
£130
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    £130
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.6 miles from Keld Head Farm Holiday Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£110
  • Hotels.com
    £102
  • Expedia.com
    £105
  • Agoda.com
    £110
7.8 miles from Keld Head Farm Holiday Cottages
Free parking
Restaurant
Priceline
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.5 miles from Keld Head Farm Holiday Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
4.4 miles from Keld Head Farm Holiday Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pickering
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
137
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
137
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews play area dalby forest cakes and biscuits on arrival play equipment granary cottage aysgarth falls welcoming touch larger cottage north yorkshire english heritage fountains abbey enjoyable holiday home made cakes places to visit visited york cleaning products
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2019

We stayed in Granary Cottage during May half-term. The cottage was large, comfortable, well equipped and spotlessly clean. Julian and Penny have thought of everything that a family could need, from books, dvds and games to washing up liquid, soap and tin foil. The grounds were great for children and our son loved the play park and football area. There was ample parking and the farm was easy to find. Julian and Penny were very welcoming and friendly and the homemade cake and biscuits were a very nice welcome gift. We used the cottage as a base to travel to Scarborough, Dalby Forest, and Goathland, all of which were in easy reach. The parking passes for Dalby Forest saved us £9 per car and the forest is only a short car ride away and is well worth a visit. We also got the steam train to Whitby and back, which was a lovely day out (one tip if you are planning on doing this is to get to Pickering station early as the trains can be very busy). All in all we had a lovely relaxing break at Keld Head Farm and would definitely recommend it.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank LOS72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JulianF1051, Owner at Keld Head Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2019

Thanks for your review looks like you made the most of your time with us at Keld Head, it's always great to hear back from our guests especially when like yourselves packed as much in as you could and made full use of everything we have available on site. So glad you enjoyed yourselves and hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2019

First time in this area and chose Keld Head as a base for touring. We were very impressed with the accommodation. Our 2 bedroom cottage was excellently presented, very comfortable and warm. Ideal location being central to visiting the surrounding area.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Hazel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JulianF1051, Owner at Keld Head Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2019

Thank you for your review Hazel, glad you enjoyed staying with us here at Keld Head and found your cottage comfortable, hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2019

This was our first visit to Keld Head Farm, we stayed over the Easter week with our family in the largest cottage, Pasture View. The cottage was more than big enough for six adults and a toddler, it was spotlessly clean, warm and very well equipped. The bedrooms are a generous size as is the main bathroom and the ensuite. The cottage has its own private garden area with table, chairs and parasol which we made use of in the lovely spring sunshine. There is also a larger communal garden space and children's play area with plenty of outdoor toys provided for the little ones.

Penny and Julian made us feel very welcome and I'm sure we will be staying with them again in the future.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillybob54
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JulianF1051, Owner at Keld Head Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2019

Thank you so much for this review it's always good to hear back from our guests and its equally as nice to hear that you all had an enjoyable time and found the Cottage met your needs for your stay. We'd love to welcome you back again in the future, especially if you bring the nice weather with your like this time. Thanks Again, Penny & Julian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2019

we hired the larger cottage sleeping up to 8 people. We all loved the cottage it was spotless clean in a lovley position, and loads of room inside with everything you need . We really enjoyed our stay and hopefully will return in the future

Date of stay: March 2019
1  Thank Rosemary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JulianF1051, Owner at Keld Head Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write your review Rosemary, we are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and found the Cottage clean and comfortable. We will look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2019 via mobile

An hours drive from our cottage- well worth the drive. A beautiful February day to enjoy the walk from the Abbey to Studley garden lake where we enjoyed tea and scone in the sunshine, watching the geese, swans and ducks. The carpet of snowdrops everywhere are so pretty.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank 551pennyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JulianF1051, Owner at Keld Head Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2019

Fountains Abbey is a National Trust property, so if you were members even better! It is a beautiful place to while a day away, especially on a warm February day. Glad you had a good day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews