We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit and still wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms
Ranked #5 of 49 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Second visit and still wonderful”
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We visited as two families with five small children between us, renting out Pye and Giltspur. The cottages are fitted out to a very high standard with all the necessary amenities. The area is perfect for both those with and without children offering walks, historic sites, adventure activities and play areas. For those with children I recommend:

- Dalby Forest
- Monk's Farm
- Chocolate Factory in Hutton-le-hole

Thanks to both Duncan and Jan for being great host's.

Room Tip: Pye Corner is easier to keep clean for those with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stockholmdanderyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
144
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We booked to go to Rawcliffe House Farm last minute and so didn't look into that much before hand. The location is simply amazing as the Farm is surround on all sides by fields and there is a great view out to the surrounding woodland that has developed on a nearby hillside. This makes the Farm feel hidden away and there is even a short walk that has been marked out through the fields upto a small viewing platform to chck out the views on the area. A number of walking routes are available and i managed to do two great runs around the trails, old roads and fields of the area as there are so may to choose from. The room was great too and is part of the old farm barn out buildings that have been carefully reconstructed and have a solid rustic feel yet contain modern touches such as LCD tv and new bathroom. The outside of the room door was a courtyard overlooking the fields and forrestry and so is a great place to relax in the evening too with other gardens available also. Breakfast was top notch and you can also see a full list of where each product is sourced from locally. We had a meal at the White Swan nearby and that was also excellent and the village of Newton on Rawcliffe is a nice touch.. with its duck pond, villiage hall and grass verges...lovely. All in all was a very good trip and we will be looking to come back with friends later in the year!!! Thanks Jan and Duncan

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

My husband and I have just returned from our weekend at Rawcliffe Farm House B&B and I really have nothing but praised for them! The room was cosy and clean - the bed was really comfy and the towels where fluffy. The B&B rooms are also in a separate building to the main house and each room has its own entrance which we liked. There was also fresh milk provided with the tea & coffee making facilities which makes such a difference when you're having a brew! Breakfast was served in the main house and had a really nice family feel. All the food was locally sourced including Duncan's Mum's homemade jams! Breakfast was delicious and made to order. Our hosts - Jan and Duncan - where really welcoming and friendly. Their local knowledge was amazing and they gave us plenty of ideas and suggestions to keep us busy over the weekend. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and hope to be returning soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlotteJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Norfolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Well another trip to our "second home". Last time we stayed we were knee deep in snow (November 2010) & this time we had glorious sunshine. We usually do B & B with Jan & Duncan but decided to try a cottage this time - again, as with the B & B rooms it was great. We stayed in Hindburn, it was beautiful & had everything we needed & more. It was lovely to sit on the patio overlooking the fields & just watch the world go by. The only thing we did miss though were the great breakfasts, somehow cornflakes don't have the same appeal as a Jan & Duncan breakfast!! Never fear Jan & Duncan we'll be back because we just can't keep away.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norfolk928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Have just returned from our 11th holiday in six years at Rawcliffe, With the welcome of Jan & Duncan how could we possibly go anywhere else in Yorkshire. We will return. Jenny & Brian. Northampton

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Armstrongfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Very attractive accommodation, warm and comfortable. Jan and Duncan, (and the dogs!) made us feel welcome straight away. Breakfast was superb and there was always helpful advice about places we wanted to visit. Pickering is a delightful town with easy parking and a great fish and chip restaurant!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libra1933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Just recently had our 8th stay with Jan and Duncan, and as usual everything was top class. We always have the Gowland Room (B&B). Normally we stay for 2 weeks in Sepetember, but we thought we would try a different time of year this time and we were not disappointed.
Jan and Duncan, well what can I say? Lovely down to earth people who genuinely love what they do and this shines through in how they treat their guests and how they run the business. Nothing is too much trouble.
The cottages are beautiful decorated and very comfortable with everything you could wish for and more.
Fantastic breakfasts that set you up for the day, using mainly local produce and homemade jams.
Idyllic location, the only noise you can hear is the wildlife and the occasionaly "choo choo" from the stream train. Rawcliffe is well placed for all the main locations, attractions and for exploring. In each room, there is a folder of different walks (covers all walking abilities) and drives starting from the farm.
Also within the area, there are a lot of great pubs that serve good quality food at good pirces.
Overall, a fantastic place to stay, you will not be disappointed.
We will be back very soon.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuernseyLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
5.2 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
5.6 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
5.5 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
7.0 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#3 of 49 in Pickering
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms

Property: Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms
Address: Stape, Pickering YO18 8JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The country-style self-catering cottages and Studio Rooms have been tastefully converted from the farm barns, retaining many original features of rustic beams and stonework. The Four sunny cottages and two studio rooms nestling amongst 42 acres of beautiful open countryside are ideal for a relaxing break with only the sounds of the countryside to disturb your peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages And Studio Rooms Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing