We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Little Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms
Ranked #4 of 46 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We booked in here quite last minute for a motorbiking event close by. So close in fact that the bike route actually went past the drive to the cottages!
After looking at the website and other reviews we were not disappointed at all. We had a lovely studio room with ensuite bathroom, double bed, ample room and a cute built in kitchenette. It had everything you would need for a short couple of days and woulod even be great for a weeks visit. For us, it was perfect. The kitchen had sink, fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle and cutlery/crockery for two. Everything ws very clean and well kept and incredibly comfortable.
I would definitely recommend this to people wanting to have a comfortable base for the Pickering area. Great value, great accommodation,

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan_RHF, Owner at Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you for taking time out to write a review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your visit to us and that the location was perfect for you. The studio rooms as you said are very good for short breaks and even longer. We take pride in looking after our properties and being on hand to see our guests and also help them to enjoy thier stay.
We hope you enjoyed your motor biking event and hopefully we will see you in the future with or without the bikes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

We booked a couple of nights in a studio at Rawcliffe House Farm in May - it was a late booking and after reading reviews on tripadvisor we weren't disappointed. The place is a short drive from Pickering and ideally situated for exploring the North Yorkshire moors and also handy for going on the beautiful steam railway.
The accommodation was excellent and the hosts Duncan and Jan were extremely welcoming and so helpful - they have even provided walks and drives with full directions in every room for guests to enjoy.
The holiday cottages are set in a lovely courtyard with a view of the surrounding countryside and are just right for sitting out on a warm evening with a glass of wine after a day out exploring the North Yorkshire moors in the sunshine
We wholeheartedly recommend a visit and will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan_RHF, Owner at Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Thank you for taking time to post your kind comments. It was very nice to meet you both and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try and give us much information about the area with the walks & drives so you can explore the wonderfull surroundings of the North Yorkhire Moors & Coast, then come back to Rawcliffe House Farm and as you say sit out in the south facing courtyard wih a drink.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The first time we have stayed at Rawcliffe House Farm, but what a find!!!
We stayed in Pye Corner which sleeps up to five in two bedrooms, one a king size with an extra single bed and the other a twin which can be put together to form a super-king size bed. Both the bedrooms have en-suite bathrooms with bath and electric shower. No shortage of hot water.
The upstairs lounge has excellent views over the countryside and you can walk in any direction from the front door.
A gem of a cottage - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan_RHF, Owner at Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thank you for your kind review. As you have said Pye Corner Cottage is very nice for 2 couples or a family, having 2 bedrooms both en-suite. The lounge being on the first floor gives good open views from the windows. The walks from the door are very good and we have put laminated routes for you to follow if you are new to the area.
Thanks again and it was very nice to meet you all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Lovely little collection of cottages/studios. We stayed in one of the studios for three nights. And we're coming back again - we loved it. It makes an excellent base for walking or driving to see the North Yorkshire Moors. Please note there's not a lot in the immediate vicinity (other than spectacular scenery) - so it is just a base. Every consideration has been made to make your stay clean and comfortable. Duncan and Jan are wonderful hosts and a knock on their farmhouse door will make sure you are well looked after. I must emphasise the base bit though. The nearest village is Newton (1 mile) - where there is a pub - but that's it. If you want milk/bread/newspapers - it's a 6 mile drive to Pickering. The thing to do is spend the most relaxing evenings/nights you can imagine here, and pick up supplies on your daily travels. If you want active days on the NY Moors, and a tranquil retreat - this is it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan_RHF, Owner at Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

Thank you for your kind words and we appreciate you taking the time to write a review. As you said it is a great place to explore the moors and coast. We enjoy meeting our guests and helping them to get the best out of thier stay with us. Thank you for your next booking and we look forwrd to seeing you both soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Perfect in every way, superbly located for exploring the stunning
moors and North Yorkshire coastline.
Comfortable and immaculately clean accommodation, walks from the doorstep!
Good opportunities for photography surround this property the autumn colours were stunning, as was the early morning mist!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We found this place on the internet as our previous years place was not available and we were not disapointed we had one of the self contained studios it was clean and well equipped for what we wanted it was in a lovely setting so quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: Rawcliffe farm house has other accommodations to choose from including cottages self catering with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Edith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We have just spent a fantastic weekend at Rawcliffe House Farm. Jan and Duncan amazed us with their wonderful hospitality and found them to be the perfect hosts. The quality of our accommodation was first class, we found this to be exceptionally clean and very well equipped for all our needs.
We shall defiantly be re booking again in the near future and would highly recommend a stay at Rawcliffe House Farm.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
4.9 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
13.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,094 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
759 reviews
6.2 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#2 of 46 in Pickering
430 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Old Vicarage Pickering
The Old Vicarage Pickering
#5 of 46 in Pickering
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms

Address: Stape, Pickering YO18 8JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range: £72 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The country-style self-catering cottages and Studio Rooms have been tastefully converted from the farm barns, retaining many original features of rustic beams and stonework. The Four sunny cottages and two studio rooms nestling amongst 42 acres of beautiful open countryside are ideal for a relaxing break with only the sounds of the countryside to disturb your peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages And Studio Rooms Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing