We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms
Ranked #5 of 49 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oldham
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Just had another wonderful break at Rawcliffe Farm. This is the perfect escape. The cottage was very clean (as always) and very thoughtfully laid out. The owners (Jan & Duncan) do everything to try and make sure that the holiday is as relaxing as you want it to be. The location is wonderful with views across the countryside. A short drive and you are in Pickering, a little bit further afield and you're in Whitby or Scarborough, or anywhere else in the North Yorkshire Moors that takes your fancy. We didn't but if you want you can even collect your own eggs from the farm's chickens! We're already trying to work out when we can visit again. A true home from home.

Room Tip: We've stayed in 3 different cottages now - all perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan_RHF, Owner at Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hi Mark, thanks for the kind review and we are glad that you feel that we are a Home from Home. Its always a pleasure to see you both. Its nice that you can come away to a nice peaceful setting and immediately feel relaxed in the rooms. Yet its very easy to get to all the local places of the moors & coast. We look forward to seeing you again when you can fit your next visit in. Jan & Duncan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
138
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baildon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Rawcliffe House is situated in the countryside but with easy access to Pickering, Whitby and the North Yorkshire Moors. The cottages face on to a courtyard with plenty of parking to the side. There is a duck pond and a play area for children. Our room was spacious with comfortable furniture and a large bathroom. We had a small kitchenette with sink, toaster, microwave and fridge so we could please ourselves when to get up for breakfast. Jan and Duncan have put a lot of thought in to making the cottages first class accommodation and are perfect hosts. There are packs in each cottage with walks and drives making the most of the lovely countryside.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan_RHF, Owner at Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the studio room . The rooms are nice and spacious, and plenty of seating areas around for you to enjoy sitting outside looking at the view. As you said the Studio Rooms are ideal for a short break and being able to please yourself as to when you come and go, giving you the freedom to explore this wonderful part of North Yorkshire. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Jan & Duncan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We spent 7 nights in Giltspur with 2 children aged 2 and 5 and grandma. The setting is incredible and you relax as soon as you come down the drive and see the duck pond and hens pottering around. The cottage was so well equipped and spotlessly clean. Delicious cake on arrival. Also really spacious and very comfortable beds!!
Perfect place for kids - lots of space to run about, animals to feed, lovely play area. Also the most amazing playground in the village just a mile away - hidden away so ask for help finding it.
Duncan and Jan were so welcoming and friendly.
All in all a really great place and I want to go back!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan_RHF, Owner at Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Hi Sally, thank you for taking time out to write a review about your stay with us in Giltspur Cottage. This cottage is an ideal family cottage as it has 3 bedrooms and can sleep up to 7 people in full sized beds. It has a lovely aspect with its own patio facing west on the grassed play area. It also gets all the evening sun. We are glad that you and your children enjoyed the holiday and we would look forward to you staying again. Jan & Duncan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We have just got back from 7 wonderful nights spent at Rawcliffe House Farm. The two cottages we had were well equipped, immaculate and had lovely views of open countryside. The large garden that the cottages looked onto provide an abundance of space for children to run around and for the farm ducks to roam free.
Duncan and Jan (owners) are the perfect hosts and are a wealth of information on local walks, some of which incorporate their 43 acres of land.
Overall a very relaxing place to escape the rat race and explore the beautiful surrounding area/attractions.
We will definitely be returning back to Rawcliffe House Farm!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWRHudds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan_RHF, Owner at Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the cottages and that the children enjoyed the large garden to play in. So many people enjoy sitting out on Giltspur patio watching their children play. We find that we often have larger family groups take advantage of booking more than one cottage or room. This allows them the pleasure of being together but the convenience of having their own space. We are also glad that you enjoyed the walks from the door that you found in the folder and of course your trips out into the beautiful North York Moors National Park. We look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Rawcliffe House Farm was a brilliant base for our break. Jan and Duncan are superb hosts and provide top quality accommodation. A real bit of luxury in a beautiful setting. There was easy access to walks, delightful villages to visit and the charming coastal towns with lots to see and do. We will be returning as soon as possible!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan_RHF, Owner at Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the studio room . The area is absolutely beautiful . We are so lucky to be so near such a fantastic coastline with breath-taking views and pretty coastal towns and villages. also the countryside with its rugged moorland interspersed with more pretty villages is hard to beat. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

where can we start
everything was perfect the room had everything you would ever need .
The views were lovely and Jan and Duncan were great hosts
we have been to quite a few B&B s but this was the best yet
we will definitely be visiting again cant recommend Rawcliffe House Farm highly enough
Matt & Jac

Room Tip: all the rooms are lovely but there is a 2 bedroom cottage to die for if you are travelling with fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matthew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan_RHF, Owner at Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was nice meeting you and we're glad you enjoyed the studio room and had a pleasant break. We look forward to seeing you on a return visit to Rawcliffe House Farm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

A friend and I decided to take a short trip to Yorkshire. I am a keen photographer and wanted somewhere off the beaten track to relax but have the option of getting in the car, going for a drive and finding somewhere amazing to photograph.

We were so impressed when we arrived by the cleanliness of the rooms and all the "bits and bobs" that our hosts Duncan and Jan had left for us, particularly the folder of walks and drives with photos and comprehensive directions. The studio rooms are great for independence and the little kitchenette is perfect for two people, with a good size bathroom and also plenty of storage.

The area was fantastic. We were only there for two full days but used our travelling days wisely either side to ensure we got the most out of our break. There was so much to do - we visited Whitby, Goathland, Rievaulx, Gisborough, Farndale and many more places including driving over the Moors several times. We were also very lucky with the weather.

I will be recommending this to everybody I know and will definitely be returning myself :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan_RHF, Owner at Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for writing this review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in our studio room and found everything to your satisfaction. There are many stunningly beautiful places to visit in the area so it is ideal for anyone with a keen interest in photography. We are pleased you found the drives in the folder so useful to take you to these scenic places and pretty little villages. We look forward to welcoming you to Rawcliffe House Farm once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
5.6 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
7.0 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#3 of 49 in Pickering
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
3.5 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 27 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms

Property: Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms
Address: Stape, Pickering YO18 8JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The country-style self-catering cottages and Studio Rooms have been tastefully converted from the farm barns, retaining many original features of rustic beams and stonework. The Four sunny cottages and two studio rooms nestling amongst 42 acres of beautiful open countryside are ideal for a relaxing break with only the sounds of the countryside to disturb your peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages And Studio Rooms Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing