We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tantara Woodland Lodges
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Pickering
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Manse Hotel(Pickering)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Easthill Farm House(Thornton-Le-Dale)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Lastingham Grange(Lastingham)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Head Hotel(Kirkbymoorside)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
20
29
14
8
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
29
14
8
11
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed in lodge 2, we knew beforehand that you need to take towels, toilet roll etc, as thats normal for self catering accomodation. The lodge was lovely, we had a 6 month old, and found we had plenty of room for all her toys, rocker etc, and the second bedroom had enough space for the travel cot, which the lodge arranged for us.

The hot tub is the best bit, as a couple with a six month old, we werent gonna be going out at night, but this allowed us a few drinks and a relaxing time in the hot tub most nights and is heaven, its under shelter and completely private, so bad weather didnt stop us. The hot tub was hot on our arrival and we jumped in the minute my daughter was a sleep.

The beds do have hard mattrasses but statistically more people prefer them, so its never gonna suit everyone, after the first day we slept well on them, and had no problems.

The bathroom has the most amazing power shower and jucuzzi bath, both excellent and well used by us all. The bathroom fixture and fitting are in excellent condition so no issues.

The area of pickering is lovely and had everything you needed, shops, restaurants, supermarket, and apparently a lively night life, there were a lot of pubs we saw when we were shopping, sadly couldnt utilise them due to my little daughter. We walked once and it is walkable in 20 minutes, the lodge is also situated next to a lovely farm shop, with cafe, and the food was lovely from the farm shop, so well worth a trip.

The lodges themselves are so far back from the road you hear nothing, no noices except wildlife, so we found it lovely, quiet and everything i imagined it to be.

The only issues we had and were very small really, its a hard water area, so the kettle was furry with lime scale, so unsuitable for babies bottles so we bought a £13 kettle from the supermarket. The washer dryer had a broken button, so needed to be wedged on, a simple repair to this would resolve that issue, otherwise kitchen had everything you would need.

The electricity meter is expensive, but we had all the heater on, as the weather was cold, and wooden lodges are not exactly insulated, so they were on 24 hours a day, we used the washer every day and dryer ,and over a 7 day period we spent approx £4 to £6 per day, but as i say we were hammering the electicity and used every electical item we could.

The truth is about this place is it was lovely, the accommodation was good, there is a games room on site next to cottages it has a pool table, two games machines, and a football came, but enough to keep a kid busy, and there is also a small outdoor play area for kids, with a fort on it, so it reminded me of holidays in the 80s were kids could run freely around with no worry of coming to any harm where kids can be kids, and adults at night can chill in a hot tub heaven.

The proof of any place is would you go back, and my simple answer is yes yes yes, we have a baby and this place was perfect for us.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Had an amazing weekend at Tantara lodge. Very private and relaxing. Just what we wanted. There are shops about 5 minutes drive away. The hot tub was warm on arrival the heating was on and the lodge was lovely and warm on arrival. There is a meter for the electric which takes £1 coins used £6 in three days but it was warm. The electric is used for T.V, kitchen appliances and radiators. The hot tub is free as it is a different electric supply. The lodge was lovely and clean. Would deffinetly go back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebekah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Arrived at lodge no 3 about 6.30pm to find key in door as arranged, heating and table lamp on giving us a warm and inviting welcome. There are only 6 lodges so you can really appreciate the wonderful setting.....squirrels and pheasants around the hot tub which was heated perfectly on arrival.The lodge itself was perfect, inner hall, lovely bathroom with jaccuzzi bath,sitting room with tv but no dvd as advertised.....not a problem though,and stairs to the 2 bedrooms, dining room and kitchen.....washing machine very noisy and I never did work out how to use the dryer again not a problem as dry and windy whilst we were there, lots of info on local and not so local attractions. Electricity is by coin meter and we used £12 during the 7 days we were there. The town of Pickering is less than a mile away and has everything you could possibly need, shops, petrol station, bank, takeaways and pubs, turn left at the end of the drive and the chocolate box village of Thornton le Dale is a 5 minute drive. The seaside towns of Scarborough and Whitby are both about a 30 min drive and the city of York just a bit further. Dalby forest and Go ape is about 20 mins away and a great day out.....take voucher out of leaflet and entry to forest is just £4.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

lovely place only 2 faults bed is rock solid 2nd fault eats electric cleaness was average hot tub good every thing in kitchen was ok could do with a bigger sighn on entrance because almost drove past washer dryer in lodge taken almost 2 hrs to do 1 wash

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanie1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

ok...the good points... Wonderful location. Brilliant Hot tub/jacuzzi. Excellent size for family of two adults and two teenage kids (although the kids shared one room). Warm without too much expense on heating. Basic microwave, fridge, oven and washer/dryer all in lodge. Hairdryer in bedroom. TV in lounge but no DVD. I would happily travel and stay here again.
Bad points... more attention to detail/cleaning would certainly boost ratings. Clear marking on oven/cooker and stronger fittings. More character in dining room area of lodge (it felt like eating in a garden shed!!). A hot tub that's hot on the first day would be good too!! Electric meters a disappointment, One plate missing from set (rectified with phone call)
Let those bad points not detract you from what was a wonderful four day stay. The tub was wonderfully warm by morning (40 degrees) and you do not pay for the tub heating/power. The surrounding countryside is particularly majestic and seaside towns of Scarborough and Whitby are only 20-30minutes away. Lots of good walks nearby and an abundance of shops of many varieties and a supermarket in Pickering. Main road can be busy but lodges are far from the road with only the sound of wildlife and bird-scarers to wake you. Too many pheasants and wildlife to count (well we did see 80....so perhaps they can be counted!!)
Do not expect the earth from theses lodges and you will have a wonderful time and read all the reviews and take enough pound coins (We got through about 15-20 but it was very cold outside with frost every morning)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Effjay007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews