We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tantara Woodland Lodges
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant.”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed in Cabin no 6 for 4 nights last week and was very impressed. Beds were made up on arrival and although we were told that we would need £1 coins for the electricity we only spent £3 the whole week. Very lovely setting and only 5 minutes drive away from Pickering. We used the hot tub every night, which my boys loved and the power shower in the bathroom was excellent. Very well laid out cabin with the 2 bedrooms upstairs, lounge, kitchen, dining room and bathroom on the ground floor. Would recommend as a very central base for exploring Scarborough, York and Filey.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    29
    14
    8
    11
See reviews for
34
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Just come back from a 3 night stay here as two couples, and we stayed in tawney owl cottage! I wouldnt have a bad word to say! Cottage is spotless, clean, tidy and has everything youd need! The area is 5 minute walk from a small town with pubs, takeaways and restraunts. Its a 10 min drive from flamingoland. And a short journey from whitby, york and Scarborough. The family run site is beautiful, and the family who own it are so helpful also. Weve even booked to come back in 3 weeks! Not a bad word to say!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hprescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We arrived to stay in Cabin 2 on the afternoon of Monday 8th July. We knew to bring toilet roll and pound coins for the electric meter so that was no problem. The TV had a DVD player as stated in the description. There were sufficient plates, cutlery, pans, cups etc to cook a meal for 4 which we did each night.
The beds were clean and made when we arrived and were reasonably comfortable to sleep in. I've definitely slept in much less comfortable ones.
One complaint was the heat inside the cabins, I'm not sure if this could even be helped as the buildings are wood so they retain heat. It would have been nice to maybe have a fan available.The windows also looked as though they hadn't been cleaned in a while. Two in the living room even had 'clean me' written on them by a previous guest.
The hot tub was definitely the best part of these cabins. It was hot when we arrived and there was plenty room for all 4 of us inside them. We did notice that after being in it for a while, it started to get a few degrees cooler but by that point we were pretty much ready to get out anyway.
We did have a few issues on the 2nd day but after a phone call both were rectified before we arrived back at the cabin from a day out which was very much appreciated.
Overall, the week was a very enjoyable experience and everyone in the group would be very happy to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatfaceG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed in lodge 2, we knew beforehand that you need to take towels, toilet roll etc, as thats normal for self catering accomodation. The lodge was lovely, we had a 6 month old, and found we had plenty of room for all her toys, rocker etc, and the second bedroom had enough space for the travel cot, which the lodge arranged for us.

The hot tub is the best bit, as a couple with a six month old, we werent gonna be going out at night, but this allowed us a few drinks and a relaxing time in the hot tub most nights and is heaven, its under shelter and completely private, so bad weather didnt stop us. The hot tub was hot on our arrival and we jumped in the minute my daughter was a sleep.

The beds do have hard mattrasses but statistically more people prefer them, so its never gonna suit everyone, after the first day we slept well on them, and had no problems.

The bathroom has the most amazing power shower and jucuzzi bath, both excellent and well used by us all. The bathroom fixture and fitting are in excellent condition so no issues.

The area of pickering is lovely and had everything you needed, shops, restaurants, supermarket, and apparently a lively night life, there were a lot of pubs we saw when we were shopping, sadly couldnt utilise them due to my little daughter. We walked once and it is walkable in 20 minutes, the lodge is also situated next to a lovely farm shop, with cafe, and the food was lovely from the farm shop, so well worth a trip.

The lodges themselves are so far back from the road you hear nothing, no noices except wildlife, so we found it lovely, quiet and everything i imagined it to be.

The only issues we had and were very small really, its a hard water area, so the kettle was furry with lime scale, so unsuitable for babies bottles so we bought a £13 kettle from the supermarket. The washer dryer had a broken button, so needed to be wedged on, a simple repair to this would resolve that issue, otherwise kitchen had everything you would need.

The electricity meter is expensive, but we had all the heater on, as the weather was cold, and wooden lodges are not exactly insulated, so they were on 24 hours a day, we used the washer every day and dryer ,and over a 7 day period we spent approx £4 to £6 per day, but as i say we were hammering the electicity and used every electical item we could.

The truth is about this place is it was lovely, the accommodation was good, there is a games room on site next to cottages it has a pool table, two games machines, and a football came, but enough to keep a kid busy, and there is also a small outdoor play area for kids, with a fort on it, so it reminded me of holidays in the 80s were kids could run freely around with no worry of coming to any harm where kids can be kids, and adults at night can chill in a hot tub heaven.

The proof of any place is would you go back, and my simple answer is yes yes yes, we have a baby and this place was perfect for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Had an amazing weekend at Tantara lodge. Very private and relaxing. Just what we wanted. There are shops about 5 minutes drive away. The hot tub was warm on arrival the heating was on and the lodge was lovely and warm on arrival. There is a meter for the electric which takes £1 coins used £6 in three days but it was warm. The electric is used for T.V, kitchen appliances and radiators. The hot tub is free as it is a different electric supply. The lodge was lovely and clean. Would deffinetly go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebekah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Arrived at lodge no 3 about 6.30pm to find key in door as arranged, heating and table lamp on giving us a warm and inviting welcome. There are only 6 lodges so you can really appreciate the wonderful setting.....squirrels and pheasants around the hot tub which was heated perfectly on arrival.The lodge itself was perfect, inner hall, lovely bathroom with jaccuzzi bath,sitting room with tv but no dvd as advertised.....not a problem though,and stairs to the 2 bedrooms, dining room and kitchen.....washing machine very noisy and I never did work out how to use the dryer again not a problem as dry and windy whilst we were there, lots of info on local and not so local attractions. Electricity is by coin meter and we used £12 during the 7 days we were there. The town of Pickering is less than a mile away and has everything you could possibly need, shops, petrol station, bank, takeaways and pubs, turn left at the end of the drive and the chocolate box village of Thornton le Dale is a 5 minute drive. The seaside towns of Scarborough and Whitby are both about a 30 min drive and the city of York just a bit further. Dalby forest and Go ape is about 20 mins away and a great day out.....take voucher out of leaflet and entry to forest is just £4.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2013

lovely place only 2 faults bed is rock solid 2nd fault eats electric cleaness was average hot tub good every thing in kitchen was ok could do with a bigger sighn on entrance because almost drove past washer dryer in lodge taken almost 2 hrs to do 1 wash

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanie1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pickering hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
1.0 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 27 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Low Costa Mill Cottages
Low Costa Mill Cottages
#8 of 27 in Pickering
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ingledene Bed & Breakfast
Ingledene Bed & Breakfast
#27 of 49 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.8 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#3 of 49 in Pickering
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tantara Woodland Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tantara Woodland Lodges

Property: Tantara Woodland Lodges
Address: Thornton Road, Pickering YO18 7JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Pickering
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Tantara Woodland Hotel Pickering
Tantara Woodland Lodges Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing