We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eastgate Cottages
Nearby Hotels
US$273
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Manse Hotel(Pickering)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lastingham Grange(Lastingham)
US$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Head Hotel(Kirkbymoorside)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
183
5
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
183
5
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslavender cottagecling filmplentiful suppliesyorkshire teafree passcakedalby forestexcellent propertydecorated for christmasplenty places to eatwelcome packhome from homehigh standardmulled wineabsolutely everythingon arrivalhuge garden
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed in the Maybeck cottage for two people for a week in April and had a lovely stay. We have been to Pickering before but not to Eastgate Cottages and we were very plesaed with the quality of the accommodation. It all looked brand spanking new! Despite being in a group of cottages, we didn't feel overlooked and we enjoyed breakfast outside most mornings. Look forward to staying there again in future!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tyrwhittali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Lovely property far exceeded our expectations! Spotless throughout - exceptionally so! Very well equipped with quality fixtures and fittings. Welcome tray a nice touch.Could not fault this cottage - cosy and welcoming.
We were a family of 4 with 2 adult size teenagers and it was more than big enough for us all especially having 2 bathrooms - an added bonus.
Excellent location for sightseeing in this beautiful area. We loved the steam trains and did a 3 mile walk from Goathland station to Beck Hole following the "Rail Trail" - beware pub is closed at Beck Hole on a Tuesday! Thornton-le-Dale very picturesque. Grosmont will please steam enthusiasts.
Would love to move to this area one day but in the meantime will be back at this cottage!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jill123Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We booked Bransdale cottage a couple of weeks before the holiday. We were looking for a base for a family holiday in the North Yorkshire Moors. Our plan was to do some cycling and walking and this cottage provided the perfect location and place to return at the end of the day. The five star luxury was a bonus. It has been a chilly few days and the wood burner was perfect to curl in front of on our return from our adventures. The kitchen was well equipped, the beds comfy and the bathrooms luxurious. We have two young children and the cottage, whilst perfect for adults, is equally suitable for kids. The owners were happy to provide a high chair and stair gate, plus board games and a DVD library were added extras that kept the kids entertained between our trips out. There's is also swings and a slide shared by other cottages in the courtyard. We also appreciated the homemade cake on arrival and a bottle of wine! The garden was enclosed/private with BBQ and garden furniture - sadly the cold weather prevented us from making use of this but perfect for warmer days I'm sure!,

We were here for a four night break and Pickering was the ideal location for bike riding in the Dalby Forest (the cottage owners have a few Dalby Forest parking passes to lend you - a nice surprise saving us £7, thank you) and for an adventure on the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors Railway as well as a wander around Staithes (location for 'Old Jack's Boat' for those of you who watch CBeebies!) and Whitby.

Will be returning to the cottage for sure and will be recommending to friends!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLHWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed in Hartoft again this year, though we have sampled many of the other Eastgate Cottages.
Hartoft, Welburn and Bransdale are our favourites.
All the cottages are spotless, and I mean completely well and truly spotless, as well as being beautifully furnished and well equipped. The Pickering cottages are perfectly positioned for exploring the area on foot or by car/steam train. We prefer the cottages both owned and managed by Eastgate (as opposed to the ones which are only managed by them). They seem to have that extra something, probably because the owners are constantly refurbishing and keeping them high spec. yet very cosy.
We have stopped bothering trying out other accommodation as they are always a disappointment compared to Eastgate.
See you next year!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Has a mini-break in Pickering last week. Had a lovely peaceful and relaxing time and Lavender Cottage managed by Eastgate Cottage was really comfortable, classily decorated and warm. We were looked after very well and can very much recommend both the town and Eastgate to visitors. Banged my head really hard on the door between Kitchen and Dining area - but to be fair we were warned!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 206John_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews