We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Eastgate Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eastgate Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Bampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have been staying at Eastgate cottages for quite a long time and there has never been a time when we have not enjoyed our stay. We have stayed in different ones and they all have the same standard - excellent. You have everything you need within each of the cottages and there is always a welcome from Elaine and her staff. We stay for a week every year and we are booked in for the next two years as well - they can't get rid of us. Keep it up.

Room Tip: No two cottages are the same but Wellburn does have a log burner - so good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastgate Cottag... I, Front Office Manager at Eastgate Cottages, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review and for the lovely comments. See you next October
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
67
73
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We were a party of six staying at the Old Farm House. The house was perfect with everything you needed - plenty of crockery, glasses, cutlery etc. The rooms were of a good size with very comfortable bedrooms. It was clean and very well appointed. The owners were very helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The cottages are situated in Pickering with a short walk to shops, pubs and fish and chip shop etc. If we had wanted to light a fire everything was provided. I would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxed holiday. Pickering is close to Helmsley, Whitby, Scarborough, Malton and also Castle Howard. Eden Camp is a short distance which is well worth a visit but you need a good three hours.

Room Tip: The Old Farm House is very suitable for 6 people or 7 with a child sharing. Although in the centre o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy334100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastgate Cottag... I, Front Office Manager at Eastgate Cottages, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our cottages, and pleased that you had a lovely time. Hopefully we can welcome you back sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is the second time my wife and I have stayed at Eastgate Cottages having first discovered them in 2012, and we would recommend them to anyone. On both occasions the booking experience was conducted in an exceedingly smooth, helpful and efficient manner, and was supported by an excellent web site, which proved easy to navigate and answered all the right questions.
The cottages in the courtyard complex at Eastgate are ideally situated parking is away from the main roads and safe access for all ages. On both occasions we have stayed in Littlebeck Cottage, which is beautifully furnished, well equipped and maintained, and a lovely welcoming gesture of milk, Yorkshire tea, Yorkshire cake and cheese, local newspaper and portfolio of all in cottage equipment and ‘How To’
The said cottage is only five minutes walk from the centre of Pickering, so we had days when we didn’t use our car, but wandered around town and visited numerous places of interest. Pickering is very centrally located for Scarborough, Whitby, Malton and other attractions, all well supported by a network of bus services, and being senior citizens we made full use of our bus passes, (sadly does not apply to the steam / diesel railway).
Eastgate cottages have set a standard with the bar very high, and thanks to Kevin, Elaine, Helen and all the other members of the team, it is can only continue; many, many thanks for your hard work in making our holidays so enjoyable.
Yes we have booked again for next year, this time in Maybeck Cottage.
John and Brenda Davies

Room Tip: Suggest a cottage within the courtyard also discuss your requirements with either Elaine or Helen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastgate Cottag... I, Front Office Manager at Eastgate Cottages, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time and for your very kind review, and repeat custom. We are pleased that you are thinking ahead and have already re-booked to come again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Good place to stay the farmhouse is big very clean and everything u need is in the cottage. Great play area for kids .very handy for all amenities andgreat days out to whitby /goathland . Scarborough . Very kindly offered the free pass to dalby forest as its £7 to get in .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tucks123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastgate Cottag... I, Front Office Manager at Eastgate Cottages, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review. We are pleased you enjoyed The Farmhouse and our local area. Hope we can welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newark, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We booked a very last minute stay through Eastwood Cottages and chose the Hazelwood cottage as our original choice (the cottage next door) was unavailable. Eastwood Cottages were fantastic to book through, made everything easy and straightforward and the two ladies that I spoke to were great.

We arrived at the cottage and were delighted. It was very small but well maintained and furnished, lovely little touches such as milk, biscuits, sweets and a paper had been left for us, along with instructions for the bins etc. The whole cottage is furnished beautifully, a lovely roll top bath, solid wood furniture and brass beds. There is no tumble dryer though which makes drying washing difficult.

It was only as we entered into the evening that we realised just how busy the road the cottage is situated on is. There is a nearly constant stream of traffic throughout the day and the night and both double bedrooms overlook the road. This coupled with the noise from the neighbours in the other rental cottage was just too much for us and by Wednesday I was considering going home! I fully understand that this may be a personal thing and shouldn't be a reflection of Eastgate Cottages. The visitors book in the cottage was full of great reviews and perhaps we were just unlucky with the people in the adjoining holiday cottage.

That said, the cottage is only a five minute walk to the centre of Pickering and is very centrally located for Scarborough, Whitby, Malton and other attractions. It is this position that I have given a 5 rating, not its location on the road! We had a jam packed 7 days with friends but we spent most of our time at their cottage which was amazing (and cheaper) than ours.

To sum up, we had a great holiday with friends. I wouldn't book again but due to the very late availability we didn't have many options available and it was certainly a very lovely cottage for such short notice. If you aren't bothered by noise then I would definitely recommend Hazelwood or 51, the cottage next door.



  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stargirllou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastgate Cottag... I, Owner at Eastgate Cottages, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
We are really sorry that your stay in Hazlewood cottage did not meet expectations. The cottage is on the main road and therefore we expect some traffic noise but had no idea it was so bad as we have not had any comments before, so thank you for bringing it to our attention. The noisy neighbours is very unlucky, I wish you had reported it, we could have had a word with them, they probably did not realise that they could be heard next door.
Hazlewood Cottage has actually been sold, the last guests leave next Saturday or we would have spoken to the owners about the possibility of secondary glazing which works well on our other roadside properties.
We do have other cottages that are not on the main road and very much hope you will stay with us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We love Eastgate Cottages, you know before you arrive that everything will be just fine, the cottages are of good quality, very clean and of a very high standard. Kevin and Elaine (and Helen in the office) are on hand if you need anything sorted during your stay. Another bonus is that you can take your dog in many of the cottages at no extra cost, also there is no extra cost for heating (coal/wood for fire). We have stayed in many of the cottages and will continue to book with them for many years to come.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank narrowboatlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastgate Cottag... I, Front Office Manager at Eastgate Cottages, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review and the lovely comments. We like to give a homely feel in all our cottages, and as you say there are no hidden extra's everything is inclusive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Having just arrived back at Eastgate Cottages today I remember why we keep coming. Greeted like old friends and having given assurance that we were fine and knew where we were going we were left to get on with sorting ourselves out knowing we could just call if we needed anything. Cottage was to the usual high standard and very quickly felt like home.

We have been coming here for 5 years now, since our daughter was 12 weeks old, in various combinations of with and without children and grandparents. The cottages in the courtyard complex in Eastgate are ideal. Parking is away from the road and safe for the children, there is play equipment outside and games and DVDs available. The cottages we have stayed in have all been very well equipped and with king sized beds, very important when the men in our family are all well over 6 foot. The proximity to the centre of Pickering also means that we often have days when we don't use the car but walk from the cottage to the steam railway or wander around the town and up to the castle.

Hartoft is a lovely cottage in its own secluded garden for a weekend away without the children and taking two cottages has worked well for us when holidaying with the extended family, close but not too close!

Eastgate cottages make finding somewhere to stay in other parts of the country very hard as they set such a high standard that we are now unwilling to settle for less.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalfpintDavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastgate Cottag... I, Front Office Manager at Eastgate Cottages, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. We always look forward to seeing our guests come back again and again. Hope to see you again next year, you can always try another cottage to work your way around them in the courtyard....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pickering hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 27 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
1.5 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#3 of 49 in Pickering
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eleven Westgate
Eleven Westgate
#9 of 49 in Pickering
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastgate Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastgate Cottages

Property: Eastgate Cottages
Address: 117 Eastgate, Pickering YO18 7DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastgate Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nine holiday cottages situated in a private courtyard within walking distance of the market town of Pickering. Almost all have en suite facilities, ideal for couples traveling together and all have log fires perfect for winter breaks. Most cottages welcome pets. The cottages individually sleep 2-7. We are open all year for full week or short breaks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eastgate Cottages Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing