We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate - perfect holiday cottage”
Review of Eastgate Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eastgate Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Immaculate - perfect holiday cottage”
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We have now stayed in 4 different Eastgate Cottages, 2 on more than one occasion, and have found each one to be just as superb as the rest. The staff are extremely helpful and do their utmost to ensure that you enjoy your stay in their accommodation, nothing is too much trouble. The cleanliness of the cottages is of very high standards as is the decoration. We have stayed during both summer season and at Christmas and found the area and accommodation to be ideal for both.
I highly recommend Eastgate Cottages - we couldn't fault them.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hebehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
70
75
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2009

We have been visiting Pickering for many years and once we found Eastgate Cottages in 2003 we knew we'd never need to search for any other accommodation; it cannot be beaten on quality, attention to detail, comfort, cleanliness and a warm welcome from all the staff. Each cottage has its own special features, open log fires, beamed ceilings, luxurious bathrooms and beautiful furnishings. There are absolutely no hidden extras to the price; bed linen and towels are provided, coal and logs for the fire, central heating, a free library of dvd's, pets welcome pack with dog blankets and dog towels, basics such as dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid, washing powder, condiments, cling film, foil and all the little things that cost a small fortune when on a self catering holiday are already there. There are lovely touches such as fresh flowers, slices of home made yorkshire tea loaf with wensleydale to welcome you on arrival and a starter pack so that you can have that much needed cup of tea or coffee as soon as you arrive. Elaine and Kevin have thought of everything and are constantly updating the cottages. The single storey cottages are ideal for anyone with a mobility problem, so Eastgate Cottages are accessible to everyone. Eastgate Cottages are also safe and welcoming for children with a small childrens play area in the garden. We have recommended the cottages to all our friends and relatives, many of whom are now regular visitors to Eastgate.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamshireJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2009

These are not just self-catering cottages, these are truly exceptional home from home properties,where a great deal of thought and attention to detail, has created interiors of quality furniture, luxurious bathrooms, including some nice surprises and the most comfortable beds imaginable, we should know we have stayed in nearly all the cottages and after over 35 years of self-catering far and wide ,without hestation can recommend them with confidence. Imagine a courtyard setting where a number of stone built cottages nestle sympathetically within the market town of Pickering, which boasts the North Yorkshire Moors Railway. At Levisham the owners offer 2 delightful cottages, set within the grounds of their own home and a stones throw from Levisham Station and breathtaking scenery. Also dotted around the Moors are several more cottages. A long weekend at Eastgate is not long enough. Kay and David

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2009

We have stayed many times at Eastgate Cottages and have stayed in 5 different cottages. They are all superb. From the welcome tray with homemade cake to the fresh flowers the attention to detail is evident. Each cottage is beautifully furnished. with good quality furniture, comfortable beds and well equipped kitchen.
The cottages are conveniently situated for walking into Pickering for groceries etc . or for a trip on the steam railway but are also close to the beautiful Moors and the seaside towns of Scarborough and Whitby.
We keep returning to Eastgate ...in fact our next stay will be our 20th ! and each time we return we see more improvements,,,,the owners constantly renew and update everything in these lovely cottages .

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindamunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pickering hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
661 reviews
1.5 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#2 of 46 in Pickering
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eleven Westgate
Eleven Westgate
#7 of 46 in Pickering
275 reviews
3.0 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 28 in Pickering
274 reviews
5.8 mi away
Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastgate Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastgate Cottages

Property: Eastgate Cottages
Address: 117 Eastgate, Pickering YO18 7DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastgate Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nine holiday cottages situated in a private courtyard within walking distance of the market town of Pickering. Almost all have en suite facilities, ideal for couples traveling together and all have log fires perfect for winter breaks. Most cottages welcome pets. The cottages individually sleep 2-7. We are open all year for full week or short breaks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eastgate Cottages Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing