We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive, Mis-leading Advertising, In Summary - A Very Big Let-Down”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive, Mis-leading Advertising, In Summary - A Very Big Let-Down”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stayed last week - only booked 2 weeks prior. Site currently has 35 cabins, but i was told whilst there that it is being increased to 60. Building works in full swing, and have obviously been at it for a number of weeks/months. Despite this, there was no mention of it on the Forest Holidays website when we booked. However, a week before departure we got an email from Forest Holidays saying that there was ongoing building work that was taking place between 08.00 and 18.00 hours daily and that as a goodwill gesture they were giving us a £50 voucher to spend on site and 10% off our next booking !!. Should definitely have been made aware of building works at time of booking- feel that this is/was very underhand by Forest Holidays who obviously knew this work was going to be taking place weeks/months in advance. While we were there they started on 5 new cabins - by which I mean put in the stilts, and laid the concrete floors. Probably About 10 other cabins in build, either being roofed or fitted out inside. So will be a fair while longer yet.
With only a weeks notice, and no chance of getting anything similar, what choice did we have but to go ? Anyway, got there ok, and 1st thing that hit us, not literally, was the filthy, muddy, puddle filled roads around the site (we weren't expecting block paving, i'ts a forest) ,made terrible by all the diggers/crane working on site. Actual noise from builders working not obtrusive to us, but they were definately working past 6pm most nights when we were there. Also, was very surprised to see a large number of motorhomes, caravans and tents on the site. Again no mention of this on the Forest Holidays website, and, sorry to any campers, but does rather downgrade the 'luxury secluded cabin' experience that is supposed to be on offer.Went to the shop (retreat) to get some bread, to be told that it is cooked fresh in the morning- lovely. Paid for the bread and was told it would be ready at 9am to collect - went at 9.30 bread not ready yet - finally got it at 10.30am - so a late breakfast that day. After the late breakfast we went back to the Retreat to sort out the bikes that we had pre-booked and paid for only to be told that they didn't have enough bikes and could we come back in half an hour ? I said that we were ready to go on a ride (we were, we had packed sandwiches and our rucksack), so no, half an hour wasn't really good enough, especially as bikes had been booked and paid for in advance - 5 minutes later we all had a bike, although to be fair to the member of staff he did lend my son his own bike- but staff shouldn't have to be doing that sort of thing if the thing is run properly - there are only 35 cabins on site, so we're not taking about a Centre Parcs style bike operation here.
TV reception in the cabins is virtually non-existent, if you like ITV, best to record everything at home, because you won't see it here. On the plus side, I did miss the apparently awful performance of England v The Republic Of Ireland. So not all bad. This is actually a minor gripe. We went to go cycling with the kids and to be in the countryside, not to sit about watching TV. But it is still a gripe because this is marketed as luxury accommodation, and I would expect to find a TV with the free channels available almost everywhere, and once the kids have gone to bed it is nice to watch a bit of TV and have a chat over a glass of wine. If you are a mobile phone/ipad geek then prepare to freak out as there is no mobile signal on site (apart from in the Retreat) - which I liked as at least it meant that work couldn't keep annoy me.
Highlight of the stay, by a mile, was the dusk walk, accompanied by a ranger (A.J). There were about 15-20 in our group, and the walk through the forest lasted just over 2 1/4 hours. A.J was informative about the birds and other wildlife, and the forest the area in general, and is clearly someone who enjoys doing the walks and being outside. He had loads of info for both children and parents, and made for a really good couple of hours walking. Lots of talk of birds hunting prey, which kept the children wide-eyed and hanging on his every word. Good stuff.
Accomodation was ok. Spacious living room and kitchen/dining area. Bedrooms ok, ours had a small en-suite which was fine, and the boys shared the bathroom, which was also good.
Major irritation was the tall windows at the front of the cabins - theses are the windows into the double bedroom, and are probably about 12 feet at the highest point Bottom window has a curtain - top window does not - trouble is that at this time of year its light at 5.30 am as I found out when I woke - then couldn't get back to sleep because of all the light in the room - surely they could afford a blind ? Little things that make a big difference to people.
In my opinion this site could be made very nice indeed, but organisation, or lack of, lets it down badly. Should probably focus more on the forest/nature element as the setting is fantastic, rather than pushing the luxury side, which I felt it missed by a considerable margin.
Don't stay until 2014 at the earliest as the digger tracks all over the grass in front of some cabins, and ongoing building works would make this year a write off for me. Will need 12 months for the grass areas/roads to settle down.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that the experience wasn’t everything you had hoped it to be. Your comments and suggestions are most welcome and we will work on how we can improve those areas that you found wanting. As you rightly say we are building and refurbishing cabins at Cropton the moment, but it will be completed quite soon and nature reclaims the territory very quickly once things have settled.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    135
    34
    21
    18
See reviews for
214
208
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed in cabin 10 in May 2013 for 4 nights (Monday to Friday) which cost us £750 (including £40 to take our dog). It was a very disappointing trip.
Where to start? We only booked this 2 weeks ahead and did so on strength of website/tv adverts and them being dog friendly (we have 1 dog). A few days before setting off we received an email to say they were currently building more cabins and as compensation for the potential disruption we would be given a £50 voucher to spend in the Retreat plus 10% off any future forest lodge holiday. We were annoyed there had been no mention of this on the website but it was too late to change our booking and we thought as we would be out and about in the day it wouldn't have a large impact so weren't overly concerned. As it happens, the building works didn't impact that much but beware, they are building a lot of extra cabins and the onsite roads are very muddy.
On arrival we were however, shocked to be faced by a large campsite (tents, caravans etc) of which there is no mention on the Forest Holidays website. The cabins are essentially round the edge of a clearing, the centre of which is packed full of tents and caravans (it was school half term week). The cabins are NOT secluded although the hot tubs are to the rear but ours was still clearly visible from other cabins and we could overhear the couple in their hot tub in the cabin next to us.
The Retreat turns out to be a very small shop - it sells some lovely fresh bread and croissants etc and we had a tasty pasta dish for tea but again this had been over sold by the website which on the overview page states: ' Eat freshly cooked meals and snacks in the warm, inviting café, relax in the comfortable bar, and buy anything from essential groceries to special gifts at the Forest Retreat shop'. There is no cafe and no bar. You can buy a drink in the tiny shop and sit outside on some seats but even then that area had rubbish everywhere.
The whole break was characterised by constant niggles - none of them critical but irritating none-the-less. They were:
- the promised visit within an hour of arrival to explain everything didn't happen. We found a dirty plate on barbecue area and there were only 2 forks (we're a family of 4), no DVD player as promised on description although there was a remote for one! A visit to the Retreat resulted in a lovely helpful guy with about 6 forks turning up who could answer all our questions but the promised DVD player never did turn up despite a further request....
- the cabin had obviously had a fairly recent refurb and the space was good - but the finish quite poor including poorly fitted socket in bedroom which would have worried me if my kids were smaller, whiff of drains in en-suite, paint spatter on kitchen equipment, wood floor etc, tear in sofa, stained cushions, broken shower fitting and a lot of dust. The kitchen equipment was just about adequate but again, bottle opener broken, (tiny) frying pan's nonstick badly scratched and really it needed replacing.
-Cabin was hot - each room supposedly had individual thermostats - whatever temp you set them to made no difference.
- pizza order didn't initially arrive. A visit to the Retreat found apologetic staff (order missed) but it was nearly 2 hours after initial order when pizzas arrived - one a different flavour than ordered. To be fair they ended up not charging us for them but it was just one more niggle.

To sum up: The website is not a fair representation of the reality and we felt it was very expensive for what you got compared to other cabins we've stayed in. The cabins are basically ok but not luxury (we were in a Silver Birch), albeit, the hottubs are very nice. The staff were all very friendly but the site is chronically understaffed and so unable to keep up with what needed doing. The on site facilities are limited and on par for a nice campsite only. The cabins are not separate from the campsite and although we experienced no noise issues, it definitely was not a forest retreat experience. Sorry, but we won't book again with this company or be recommending them to friends. The concept was good but the reality poor.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that your holiday didn’t live up to your expectations and I would like to invite you to email our Customer Services team on customerservices@forestholidays.co.uk to enable us to provide with you a more personal response.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

A group of us stayed on this site from 6-10/5/13, in tents, we were near the re-developement works so the ground was a bit lumpy for tents, the staff did say we could re-locate after the busy Bank Holiday weekend and were very helpful, but we decided to stay put. The site is very peaceful and quiet with forest walkks all around and is very close for the North Yorks Moors and Whitby and Scarborough, with York being about three quarters of an hour drive away. One complaint that I have read on other reviews PLEASE can the staff check the Mens toilets for cleanliness and TOILET PAPER more often, I took a roll with me just in case !!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Camping in the Forest. I am pleased that you enjoyed a peaceful break and I will bring your review and feedback to the attention of the team at Cropton.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I have visited here the last three years each time staying in a Silver Birch Cabin. The first time we visited we stayed in March & the second two times we opted for November. What better way to start the day than sitting it the hot tub with the frost on the ground watching the wildlife waking up.. The cabins them self are done to a really good standard and are very well heated with under floor heating through out. During the day there are some activities you can book on to or hire a bike.. Although these are quite expensive.. Think bike hire was nearly £60 for one day for a family of 4... As we take our small children & dog they love the walks through the forest.. of which there are many. We like to walk through to the Keldy site and have a drink at their retreat before heading back or down to the pub in the village. Once night starts to fall the kids again love looking out at the wildlife in the heated cabin. For me another dip in the hot tub is required..
On the last occasion we went we did have a couple of small problems but the helpful / friendly staff were really good and things were sorted very quickly.

One thing i would recommend is that you take a good torch and don't bother taking your mobile as there is very little service.

This November 2013 we have decided to book again but this time we have opted to stay at the slightly larger site of Keldy to see how it compares with Cropton so keep an eye out for the review on that.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Thank you for your review, it is always a pleasure to welcome returning guests and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay once again. I think the hot tub was the key to your holiday - perfect for relaxing! We look forward to your visit to Keldy in November and I am sure you will have another rewarding and relaxing break.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I recently stayed here for a 3 night weekend with some friends. The cabins are located brilliantly within the Forest and are surrounded with some great walks and bike trails. There are activities available on site which can be booked on arrival and bike hire is also available though I did think £18 per day was a little excessive.
The cabins were very well built and extremely sturdy and very well heated via underfloor heating. However, they were a little rough around the edges and in need of some maintenance. Things such as splatter marks on walls, rough grouting around the bath, some damp and mould in a wardrobe. Dont get me wrong I enjoyed my stay, just I would not class them as luxury. Some maintenance time needs to be planned. They appeared older than their 4 years.
The staff were brilliant though and when we reported 2 very minor things they were on site to fix and deal with within 20 mins. They are really really nice too and cook up a great steak pasty in the forest retreat cafe.

Room Tip: rooms do get very hot so maybe take a fan!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for your review following your stay at Cropton forest. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your break, particularly that steak pasty. You’ll be pleased to hear that we do have a refurbishment programme underway at the moment to refresh the cabins. I hope we’ll see you again at Cropton, or indeed one of our other forest locations in the UK soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Set in beautiful woodlands and the best cabins with hot tubs. Staff were really nice and helpful especially the brilliant welcome talk by AJ. Have booked to go to the sister site in Keldy in the new year. Would highly recommend for couples, mates and anyone who just wants to wind down. Nicky, Merseyside

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildy_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for your review following your weekend break at Cropton. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed it and that the team at Cropton looked after you well. We look forward to welcoming you to Keldy when you visit, where I am sure you will have an equally relaxing break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We've been to spiers house twice and we loved it the campsite was clean all round the staff was great. The walks and cycle tracks in the forest are priceless. We will be returning again this year.its best to book early to make sure you get a plot as they do get taken fast.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Thank you very much for writing a review. I am pleased to hear that you had a great time. Cropton is a beautiful location with long forest walks on your doorstep. We hope to see you back again; why not stay in one of our luxury cabins complete with your own private hot tub?

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
3.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
16.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Lastingham Grange
Lastingham Grange
#1 of 1 in Lastingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 27 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
4.0 mi away
Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire

Property: Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire
Address: Cropton, Pickering YO18 8ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Pickering
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Cropton Cabins Hotel Pickering
Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire Pickering

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing