We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very impressed!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
hull
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very impressed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Visited at the beginning of April. Fantastic accommodation very clean, everything you could want in the lodges. We spent most of the days visiting nearby places so never rented bikes etc. Could do with a small park (for toddlers) is my only little thing I wanted to mention as its 2mile walk to keldy.

Used the takeaway on the last night. Pizza was nice and garlic bread but chips were very expensive for what you actually got in a portion! The ordering system is handy and its delivered to your door from the on site takeaway.

We will visit again as the walks are fantastic, the hot tubs are great, it's clean and QUIET! Just what you want from a forest holiday


(We took a laptop and HDMI cable for those wanting to watch DVDs as there's not one in the cabin)

Thanks for reading

Visited april14

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank robhullfury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for writing a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your break in the forest matched your expectations so well. Thank you for your suggestions and feedback to and I hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    131
    32
    21
    16
See reviews for
207
199
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had a three night break here during the middle weekend of the school Easter Holidays. We had a silver birch lodge which was spacious and warm. My only gripe was that our hot tub was at the front of the lodge overlooking the parking area - so privacy was a real issue. The kids didn't mind but we tended to use in the evenings as we felt less conspicuous then !! Our lodge was no 7 & apparently no other silver birch lodges have the hot tub at the front so if we visited again we would try & ensure we had another lodge.

The setting however was beautiful - very peaceful & quiet with good walks on your doorstep. We ate at Capplemans fish and chip restaurant in Pickering which we would highly recommend. We also had days out at Scarborough & Robin Hoods Bay.

We don't tend to return to the same place twice but would certainly look at visiting one of the other forest sites.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Matilda52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent break at Cropton. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the setting and spent some time exploring the local area. I am sure you will like our other locations too. All have their own characteristics and all have great places to visit in the local area.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

First time holiday with forest holidays and not disappointed. The 40 cabins are positioned round the edge of a forest in a clearing. Inside they are very spacious and modern. The under floor heating is wondrous with controls in every room. The hot tub is large fitting 4 adults generously. Each day the hot tub was tendered to by the hot tub fairy as we never saw them. The site is very peaceful even though pretty full. Plenty of bird life but disappointed we didn't see the deer. My only complaint would be that the signage for the paths is a bit confusing, I think some of the coloured markers are missing.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank stb91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent break at Cropton; I am delighted you enjoyed your first holiday with us. This is possibly the first time the under floor heating has been described as wondrous, and certainly the first time our hot tub man has been described as a fairy. I hope your holiday has made you want to come back for more and that we will see you again before too long.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here at the beginning of April for 3 nights taking advantage of a special offer. We combined visits to family in the local area with trips to local towns and a splendid ride to Whitby on the North York Moors steam railway! Helmsley,THirsk and Pickering all worth seeing. The cabins are amazing...comfortable,luxurious and so quiet. The hot tub was fantastic..particularly popular with my daughters back from uni! Facilities on the site were great and staff really helpful...we took advantage of ordering pizzas through the TV and the night vision walk was very informative and great fun!!
During our stay we saw birds of prey,deer,and lots of rabbits and pheasants. We will most definitely be back next year.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MaggieB858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent break with us at Cropton. It sounds as if you combined a break in the forest with some sightseeing and family visits, so a full and happy agenda. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

I have never left a review online before but after our stay at Cropton i just had to!
Myself and my husband stayed at Cropton for 3 nights at the end of last month. We wanted to relax and make the most of being on our own!
We had high hopes as we had previously stayed at Keldy forest lodges through Forest holidays and had a superb
time. We were not dissapointed! We had a golden oak cabin and it was beautiful, very clean (apart from one dirty wine glass in the cupboard from the previous guests) and had underfloor heating which made the place feel cosy.
The staff were fantastically helpful from the minute we arrived, nothing was too much trouble. Special mention for Mike who helped my husband out with a bottle of Famous Grouse whiskey! Thanks for going the extra mile to ensure we had a great stay. The staff even helped us out with a jump start when our car battery died!
The hot tubs are all at the back of the lodges which help with any privacy issues (as we have been to some places where the tubs are at the front and everyone can see you!) and after dark no one can see you anyway!
Loved the way you can order hot food to be delivered to your cabin from the TV! And the local fish and chip van visits on a Friday evening too which is really good.
Overall a fantastic relaxing place with beautiful scenery and friendly helpful staff. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Superdupernurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We’re honoured that you have been moved to write your first review after staying with us at Cropton. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your break and that the team looked after you well. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swadlincote
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We wanted something a little different to the normal Easter caravan getaway. I'm so glad we did. The kids thought we were having a cheapy hotel stay so when we pulled up through the amazing forest they couldn't believe it. When we walked in to our amazing log cabin the hot tub was situated on the decking -what can I say (everybody was happy). The cabin itself, clean, modern, fresh,comfortable. The retreat has everything g you need during your stay and the staff are so helpful. We hired some bikes, this was a great activity for the kids along with the Bushskills activity. I will certainly be coming again and most definitely upgrade again to the golden oak with the entertainment package.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freydan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review. I am pleased your decision to book with us turned out so well and that everybody enjoyed the cabin and the activities. We look forward to seeing you all again.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights with our two sons aged 14 and 10, and our pet dog. Absolutely loved it. We enjoyed the walks out every day and followed the trails around and about. We had a great time just trekking and trying to find local landmarks, and making dens in the forest. The team were very helpful and friendly and were fantastic with my youngest son. The site provides a totally relaxing and peaceful environment, enhanced by the local wildlife. We saw roe deers, woodpeckers, squirrels and pheasants. The lodge was home from home and there was plenty of room for our family. The hot tub was maintained daily and we used it every day. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have rebooked already for next Easter. The only thing I would recommend would possibly add a children's play area, there are lots of ranger activities for the kids but think this would enhance the site further.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent break at Cropton. I am pleased that you had a good holiday; you seem to have enjoyed the forest experience and getting back to nature. I am delighted you have booked again and we look forward to seeing you next year.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
5.4 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#2 of 27 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Belmont
Belmont
#11 of 49 in Pickering
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
6.5 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#3 of 49 in Pickering
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
1.8 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#1 of 1 in Cropton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire

Property: Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire
Address: Cropton, Pickering YO18 8ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Pickering
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Cropton Cabins Hotel Pickering
Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire Pickering

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing