We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing holiday - staff, facilities and scenery were wonderful ...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday - staff, facilities and scenery were wonderful ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Myself and a friend stayed at Cropton for the first time and we absolutely loved it. The staff were always warm and welcoming and when the television wasn't working in the silver birch lodge we were in we got a free upgrade to a golden oak lodge, which was a very generous touch. We were literally in the woods and it was amazing to be so near to the wildlife and trees. We enjoyed our 'twilight walk' with Mark who was very knowledgable about the environment and I was very excited as he pointed out deer through his binoculars. Wonderful facilities all round and some great walks from your doorstep. We will most certainly be back. Thank you to all the fabulous staff.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Steph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent Forest Holiday at Cropton. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your cabin and the forest around you, and I will make sure that the team see your appreciative comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    133
    33
    21
    16
See reviews for
211
203
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had a 4 night mid-week break here with our children. The lodge (Golden Oak) was nice, all modern furnishings, lovely log burning fire and a well equipped kitchen. The highlight was definitely the outdoor hot tub - our kids loved this! The site itself is ideal for families, very safe with lots of opportunity for walks and cycling. Plenty of wildlife to see too. Bedding was OK, but the pillows were quite uncomfortable and cheap feeling. We were provided with 2 bathrobes, but these were laughably tiny - more suitable for children, and certainly not appropriate for my 6 foot husband!! There were a couple of maintenance issues on our first night, but these were sorted out quickly and efficiently, so no complaints there. Someone came round to see how we were settling in - nice touch. The onsite shop was small but stocked beautifully fresh bread, nice coffee and delicious croissants/pain au chocolates in the morning. The pizzas were not great though - sparse toppings, burnt cheese, and all the texture of cardboard! While we were there there seemed to be a lot of building work going on which we hadn't been forewarned about. Noisy and smelly diesel generators, diggers, JCBs etc. I thought it would've been courteous to be told about this, and perhaps offered some form of small token gift to make up for the inconvenience. Also, when we went to hire bikes one morning we were told we couldn't until that evening, as access to the bike storage was blocked by this building equipment! Not great. Apart from this, staff were friendly and helpful. We would definitely return again - it is really ideal for kids. Nearby Pickering is a lovely little town, and I can recommend Feast deli for delicious foodie treats!

Room Tip: I'm not sure if I would pay the extra for a Golden Oak cabin over Silver Birch again, as the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scallywagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for writing a review following your family break at Cropton. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your cabin – particularly the hot tub. Thank you also for your feedback with regard to the building works. We have strived to keep the disturbance to an absolute minimum but I can appreciate that it wasn’t ideal, particularly as you couldn’t hire bikes. I am pleased you would return and we would be delighted to see you again, either here at Cropton or another of our 9 UK location.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Just back from a fabulous 4 night break at Cropton. We stayed in cabin 37 which was a really good location. In truth the majority of the cabins are fine and sited to provide a feeling of privacy although having walked around the site a couple of times, some are better than others in terms of being overlooked on the decking/hot tub. The hot tub was used every day, or twice a day most days. We took our 10 month old dog with us and she loved it - we walked out into the forest morning and night and barely saw another sole whilst out walking. Plenty of wildlife though - pheasants, squirrels, finches, even a deer once. The staff were all helpful, particularly Graeme and Zac. The weather was pretty rubbish unfortunately, wet and a bit cold but even that didn't dampen the relaxed feeling. We went on the North York Moors Railway, walked the Rail Trail, played games together, cycled, chilled in the hot tub, and had a great time. We would recommend Forest Holidays to anyone and are planning our next visit. The site is due to close shortly to add more cabins in time for the summer holidays. We drove over to the Keldy site to have a look at the cabins there. Looks just as nice although a different layout and feel there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riggers41664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent break at Cropton. I am delighted you enjoyed your holiday. It sounds active and relaxing all at the same time, with lots of wildlife, walks, trips and forest fun along with good use of the hot tub. I hope you will stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We had such a lovely 5 day holiday during May half term. The cabin was lovely, clean, and comfortable. The beds were the best I've stayed in away from home! The hot tub was cleaned daily and it was amazing!!! We didn't spend much time out of it... The decking outside was extremely slippy due to the rain which resulted in many bruises. Also we found drying our towels and swimwear difficult with no radiators. We would definitely return to the silver birch cabin (no.32). And tips for future guests- Go Ape was great fun! Dont order the chocolate pizza. And the New Inn pub down the road was yummy. X

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BexyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent girls’ holiday at Cropton. I am delighted you enjoyed your break, it sounds as if you made the most of the hot tub and managed a few activities too. I hope you will be back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

What a lovely relaxing weekend, and a fabulous cabin.

The location is just perfect! You can go on the many forest walks right on the doorstep of your cabin, or if you want to get out, it is only a stones throw from Lastingham (one of the nicest villages in North Yorkshire. The pub there is fantastic by the way!) Actually to be fair, you are only a few miles from Pickering if you want to walk around town, or there are some proper pubs pretty much everywhere in that general area whether in Cropton itself, Kirbymoorside, Appleton-le-moors, Blakey Ridge and so on!

The site seems to have made the decision to move away from also having normal camping onsite to being just cabins is one that I think may detract in one way from the atmosphere, but add in other ways.

When we were there, it was the hottest weekend of the year so far but it was still too easy for people to remain in their cabins with all the luxuries associated. The site was very quiet when compared to the times we have been in the VW Camper and the place was milling with activity and families playing outside.

That said, I can understand why they would do it from a business perspective, and on many occasions I am sure I would prefer the peace and quiet (i.e. when away without the children as we were), but I have to say some of the times I have been in the past when the sound of people BBQ'ing and kids outside playing was fabulous! It certainly feels less family orientated.

They are just about to close for 2 months and build a load more cabins, so I guess I will just have to come again and see if that brings back some of the atmosphere....what a shame eh? :-)

Just one thing I would point out though, if you book a Silver Birch Cabin, remember to take your own towels. The Gold Cabins come inclusive, but I misread the notes and we had to nip to pickering and buy some.

Overall, highly recommended and will be back.

Room Tip: We chose the Silver Birch which included a fabulous hot tub, but for the added convenience of towels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent break at our Cropton cabins. I am pleased you enjoyed your holiday. Please be reassured that families are as welcome as they ever were- children love the forest life and we love having them here. Regarding towels, they are available to hire in Silver Birch cabins but you are quite right, they are not included in the Silver Birch package as they are in the Golden Oak. We look forward to your next stay.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Have arrived home today and am absolutely gutted that we had to leave. We stayed for a week and during our stay had 2 cabins (we decided to extend our stay at late notice so had to swap cabins) although the staff were amazing throughout our stay we were very impressed with the switch of the cabins. We were told that we could stay in our existing cabin until 12 but couldn't check in until 4pm to the new cabin (not a problem we could have gone out) however the staff sorted it that we could move straight in to our new cabin. Nothing is too much for the friendly staff, Zac in particular was very friendly every morning whilst tending to our hot tub! We stayed in the silver birch cabin which was beautiful, spotlessly clean and very well equipped -a home from home. They are all very modern and comfortable with underfloor heating which has the ability to be controlled room by room.
The forest shop was very small, however every time I needed something I popped in and miraculously they had it, it's almost like people have walked in in the past and said 'do you sell...' and they have ensured they stocked it!
We took our 1 year old dog who loved the walks in the forest...my only slight negative here is that during our stay she got cracked paw pads (we took her to the local vet for treatment) who said it would be down to the dry climate of the chalky pavements and the forest. This obviously cannot be helped in anyway (it's the main reason we go!) and certainly would not put us off going again but if you are taking dogs who are not normally walked in that environment take some Vaseline for their paw pads (as instructed by the vet!)
The local village is Pickering which is lovely and has lots of independent shops, you can get most things you will need from there, it's also very picturesque. We also visited Whitby and Scarborough both of which were around a 40-50 minute drive away across some of the most beautiful of Yorkshires countryside.
Overall we have had a fantastic stay and really didn't want to leave, we will definitely be back later in the year and recommend it to anybody.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Firmslee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent break at Cropton. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay – so much that you decided to extend it! Sorry to hear about the dog’s paws but thank you for the good advice for other dog owners. We look forward to seeing you again later in the year.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a four night break. Cabin was beautiful and spotlessly clean. Hot tub was great and cleaned every day. Staff could not have been more helpful. The squirrels and pheasants kept us entertained. Cropton is in a great spot, easy to explore the coast and the moors.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KEZZERGAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent Forest Holidays Break at Cropton. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and I do hope you will be staying with us again.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
3.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
16.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Lastingham Grange
Lastingham Grange
#1 of 1 in Lastingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 27 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
4.0 mi away
Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire

Property: Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire
Address: Cropton, Pickering YO18 8ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Pickering
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Cropton Cabins Hotel Pickering
Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire Pickering

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing