We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cabins , great stay.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
England
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely cabins , great stay.”
Reviewed 2 April 2010

I have just returned from a 4 night stay at cropton cabins, and had a great time. I stayed with my husband and 10 year old son.
The site has camping, caravans and the log cabins, we stayed in a 2 bedroom , 2 bathroom cabin , there is a large open plan kitchen/dining lounge area fitted with oven, microwave, fridge and dishwasher, t,v and dvd player. There is a decked area outside with table, chairs, barbeque and hot tub which was lovely all overlooking the forest area. The main bedroom has a double bed with ensuite shower/wet room and the second bedroom had 2 single beds with the main bathroom with bath and shower over opposite. The cabins are lovely and modern all with underfloor heating throughout . There are activities available with the site Rangers for an extra fee, lots to keep the children entertained. There was no mobile phone coverage for quite a few miles which can be a major plus !
The staff were very friendly and helpful , the cabin was very clean and modern and the hot tub very relaxing ! I would definitely recommend cropton cabins for a relaxing break in a rural area.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnglandKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    140
    38
    21
    19
See reviews for
218
211
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

I came to this campsite with my girlfriend for a relaxing break away and we were absolutely blown away by the location. The scenery is magnificent and the local area is beautiful! The facilities are top notch and the staff were friendly, helpful and couldn't do enough for us. We've already booked a return visit and can't wait to return. We've got our heart set on a cabin with a jacuzzi next time for the ultimate luxury :)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isleofpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We camped through Eurocamp, our tent was pitched for us so no worries there, however we had lots of rain and as we were on a hill, the site quickly turned boogy. The toilets and showers were ok, as you would expect for a typical campsite. We didnt bother with the shop, a loaf of bread was over £2.50! The childrens playground was good, and they had a fun day with bouncy castle etc on the saturday. One gripe would be the filthy barbeques left for our use by the tent. If your lucky enough your's isn't pinched, be warned, when u book your tent through eurocamp,spiers house arent really interested should you have any complaints. We found the midges very annoying (there are lots of them) but you are in he middle of a forest! so get your long sockson , your midge spray & happy camping....

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ElizabethDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

camp site looks good from road and first impressions looks good. we stayed on a hard standing select plus. hard standing although new is unlevel and awning pegs are best in steel and at least 12" long as lose stones do not keep awning peged in. beware campers depending where you camp as if it rains you will get bogged in and if unlucky a river will run through your tent as drainage is very poor. toilets where an absolute disgrace no bog roll so take your own and beware of brown stains on walls. showers are not cleaned very well as soap holders always have someone elses soap in them dripping through the mesh. the showers block frequently so you can paddle in brown water. mop in shower area seems to be always dirty will little or no cleaner added. floor looks dirty. shop seems to want to releave you of as much money as it can so use local supermarket. hot food and drinks are served at shop but just remember the hands that serve could be the same that cleaned toilet block emptied the bins and put the chain back on a hire bike, if not the tee shirt will be. chemical toilet hut looks like it never gets cleaned and the flat plate on top keeps a reminder for others to look at. kids beware when cycling on camp roads as road surface will take your skin off easily. whats good the view from top of campsite the sun , woodpeckers and wild life good montain bike routes and walking routes local pubs just the great out doors and friendly campers to talk to. some sitting round thier open fires shouting playing music loud and not a warden in site. happy camping

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jonoengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2009

This site is run by unorganised people who have no idea how to run a caravan site. We went to suprise our son and they had no idea where he was parked ?. Even though the sites are numbered they don't keep a check on who's where. The site is big and hard standings are fine but if parked on the grass its uneven and boggy when it rains. Midges Midges Midges millions every where and protection did'nt bother them. Good news about this site is the toilets & showers are spotless but for the price they should be.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tr00perman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
16.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,024 reviews
3.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
669 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
723 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 29 in Pickering
279 reviews
15.7 mi away
High Paradise Farm
High Paradise Farm
#1 of 9 in Thirsk
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire

Property: Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire
Address: Forest Holidays Cropton, Pickering, Pickering YO18 8ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Pickering
Also Known As:
Cropton Cabins Hotel Pickering
Forest Holidays Cropton, North Yorkshire Pickering

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing