We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”
Review of Lowther House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lowther House
Ranked #8 of 46 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We had a fantastic time. The hosts were very welcoming and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. The house was clean and tidy with lots of character. The gardens were very quaint with a little stream to paddle in at the back. Perfect for a quiet get away. We had a brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Lowther House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 89 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2010

This bed and breakfast is beautiful. Phil and Elaine who run the bed and breakfast are very welcoming. We turned up unannounced in January and they were fantastic, we have returned since for our mini honeymoon were they welcomed us with some lovely cake and a bottle of champagne in the room. We definately have plans to go back, Phil and Elaine are such great hosts.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank kateywatey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

My daughter and I loved our stay at Lowther House. The garden was beautiful and peaceful. Our room was cheerful and the bed linens were crisp. There were several local brochures and magazines which helped us plan our trip. The sound of the stream that ran beside the house was tranquil. Our wet room style bathroom was fun and the shower was great. Breakfast was hearty. My only regret was not staying longer.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bates451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

We stayed at Lowther House for just one night, but would have been more than happy to stay longer. The room was clean and well decorated. The view across the garden was lovely. The owners were extremely welcoming and happy to give advice as to where to visit in North Yorkshire. The breakfast was excellent and more than enough to set you up for the day. Altogether a delightful bed and breakfast and highly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Soniajayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pickering hotels
0.8 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
677 reviews
0.9 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
226 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#2 of 46 in Pickering
427 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ingledene Bed & Breakfast
Ingledene Bed & Breakfast
#23 of 46 in Pickering
60 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Old Vicarage Pickering
The Old Vicarage Pickering
#4 of 46 in Pickering
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lowther House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowther House

Address: Newbridge, Pickering YO18 8JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range: £80 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lowther House B & B and Tea Garden is situated in walking distance of the market town of Pickering the home base of the North Yorkshire Moors Steam Railway. The house itself sits within beautiful gardens with a babbling brook and views of the steam railway. Ideal place to get away from it all for a couple of days or just to stop over for homebake snacks, a variety of tea's or coffee and cakes when out walking, cycling or touring the area. Tea Garden and Tea Room open Wednesday - Sunday 11h00 -16h00 From the last week in March to Mid October. Your host John & Helen offer bed & breakfast accommodation and evening dinners by prior arrangement. Relax, Refresh and Rejuvenate in the tranquillity and nature that surrounds us and allows you to 'JUST BE' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lowther House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lowther House Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing