We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best I Have Ever Tasted...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eastgate Fisheries Cafe and Takeaway

Eastgate Fisheries Cafe and Takeaway
Ranked #15 of 66 Restaurants in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast food, British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Best I Have Ever Tasted...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

What more can I say...exactly how fish & chips should be.

Visited on 26th Feb 2014 while on a trip with a friend. We stopped for some lunch and couldn't of been more satisfied. The staff are extreamly friendly and the atmosphere was great. We took a table in the resturant which I always think is nice option to have. Restaurant was immaculate and as was the kitchen area. I also used the lady's room (perfect judge) spotless, clean and smelt fresh. Always a good sign of great resturant and delicious food!

We both ordered fish & chips a side of gravy and mushy peas. It was possibly the best fish & chips I have ever tasted. The fish, lightly battered, crispy, fresh and amazing. The chips, fluffy, perfectly cooked and not to greasy like some places.

A must visit when passing, I dont think another fish shop will beat this one. I will most certainly be back!

If only I lived around the corner. 10/10






  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    19
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Best mushy peas and scampi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

I ordered scampi and chips with a side of mushy peas when I visited this quaint little fish shop on a return journey from the staithes - the scampi was delicious, very well cooked, with not a hint of grease in sight!, and (if you love your food like me), it was a decent sized portion. The mushy peas were the best I'd had - so many fish restaurants don't think about their sides at all, definitely a sign of a good resturant and fishery to get the small things right! I'd definitely come again!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Loubear92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent quality and great portions in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stopped by this cafe on a drive back home and it was definitely worth the visit! The staff were friendly and the portions were very generous.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pech0rin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Gluten Free Fish and Chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I was told by a friend of a friend that this take away offered gluten free fish and chips. The staff were very helpful when I rang and advised that as long as they had 15 mins notice they could offer gluten free fish and chips. When I arrived to collect my order the fish was being fried in a separate frier along with the chips. It was delicious and cooked perfectly and it was great to be able to eat this again after being diagnosed as coeliac. I will definitely be back !

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sherlock W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Value and on the doorstep”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

lovely fish and chips, perfect location from Eastgate cottages, its becoming a favourite each time we visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank lisalush70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eastgate Fisheries Cafe and Takeaway also viewed

 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Eastgate Fisheries Cafe and Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing