We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in the town”
Review of Fortune Inn

Fortune Inn
Ranked #49 of 69 Restaurants in Pickering
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: OPPOSITE TO FAMOUS NORTH YORKSHIRE STEAM RAILWAY STATION
Pickering, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best in the town”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Excellent food always with excellent service guarenteed every time

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    47
    17
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best in pickering”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

By far the beat Chinese restaurant in pickering. Really friendly staff and fast service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Big_Bang_VIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely food, but check your bill”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We called in on the off chance of a table. As we like to eat quite early we were lucky, and got a table almost immediately.
The staff were great, attentive, but not overbearing. The food was piping hot as it should be, and the portions more than ample for us.
I had duck, and it was freshly cooked unlike some places we have visited. The sauce was superb, and very tasty.
The restaurant although busy was not crowded and the tables are not cramped together like in some establishments. We were not rushed, with our meal at all, and we noted that the children that were eating there with their parents, were especially looked after.
When the bill came, it was roughly what I had expected it to be, so when we went to pay at the desk, I was taken aback to be asked for more. As the staff member had my bill in his hand I just thought that I had mis-read the bill, so I duly paid up, left a tip and left.
Once back home I thought again about the cost, and added it up, to my annoyance I found that I had been correct and had been overcharged by £6, so they actually ended up with a 26% tip.......!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tammyjo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not the best and little expensive”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Not the best food intown but the staff are friendly enough.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kaz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Love it, best iv ever been to without a doubt, would definitely advise this to friends and family :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bangtidylsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fortune Inn also viewed

Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Fortune Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing