We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eating in Pickering”
Review of Fortune Inn

Fortune Inn
Ranked #50 of 69 Restaurants in Pickering
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Opposite To Famous North Yorkshire Steam Railway Station
Reviewed 29 June 2014

There are a few options to eat in Pickering, from pub meals to restaurants. We chose the Fortune Inn.
A very good choice. A friendly greeting, excellent decor and a extensive menu.
The food was excellent, and plentiful. About average price, and well worth the money for the overall eating experience.
Only complaint would be the limiyed choice of drinks, no draught bitter and a not too nice lager.
Shouldnt put you off though, a really nice place, with good food, promptly served by friendly staff

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ARKAYESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Owner at Fortune Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear ARKAYEES,

Thank you for taking your time to review our restaurant with your positive comments.

I am glad that you enjoyed your evening meal , however, sorry if our staff did not tell you that we do serve John Smith Extra Smooth draught bitter. Please accept my sincere apology for our lagers which Stella Artois 4% and the Chinese Tsang Tao beer were not your liking. Have you seen our wine list which contain 28 different wine and champagne. Please do contact me before your next visit to us, see whether I can organise your drinks for you.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Jennifer Mo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 114 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

If you go to Pickering you must visit the Fortune Inn.
From first entering at 5.30pm we were made very welcome and nothing was too much trouble.
The waiter had a good sense of humour and we had a perfect night.
We all ate something different and all plates were cleared it was hot delicious and very good sized portions.
We all had deserts and they put a candle in one and we sang to our friend with the waiter joining in.
The bill was not expensive (we paid £90 for four adults and this included a bottle of wine)
We all talked about what a lovely time we had had for days and will definitely return if we go to Pickering again.
Perfect night thank you.

Thank Bierlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Owner at Fortune Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Bierlein,

Wow, what a amazing review!! Our Ming was so so happy when I showed him your positive feedback. He said " Thank you very much ".

I am glad that you and your family enjoyed the food and service on your 25th Wedding Aniversary. Many congratulations on this special occasion.

Thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

Best regards,

Jennifer Mo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Delicious Chinese food done to perfection. If you are going to pickering, this restaurant is an absolute must!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Owner at Fortune Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Laura T,

Thank you for taking your time to review our restaurant.

I will share your comment with our staff and hope this will encourage them to keep up the high standard. We hope that we will see you again soon in Pickering and a " must " visit Fortune Inn in Pickering.

Thank you very much indeed and look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best regards,

Jennifer Mo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Very good high quality food. Great selection from a large Cantonese menu. The service is very quick, the staff are all very friendly and will make you feel at home. Nice busy atmosphere on weekends. We went on a bank holiday so booked a table in advance. Will be calling again soon, thanks very much Jenny!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Harry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Owner at Fortune Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Harry A,

Thank you for taking your time to write a pleasant review especially mentioned the high quality food. People come out to enjoy, therefore " quality " is the main element in our restaurant including service, comfort and honesty.

We have a lot of regular customers like you enjoying return and return.

Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you in near future.

Best regards,

Jennifer Mo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

If you are looking for a high standard of food and service I would definitely recommend the Fortune Inn. The staff are very friendly and always smiling and willing to help with any issue. The food is always of the highest quality, with a wide variation to choose from. Not to mention the drinks with a variety of Chinese teas and wines, to gorgeous cocktails if you ask for them. The costs are fair for the amount of food you get, you will never leave still hungry. This is my first choice in Pickering if I am wanting a takeaway or to sit in somewhere as you are always welcomed with smiles and good food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Owner at Fortune Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Jessica F,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write this fabulous review.
I will share it with all my team in next few days and am sure that they will be delighted.
I like your photograph which put onto here too. In addition, your recommendation on our cocktails. Yes, they are quite popular especially Ming's Sling. I am so glad that you enjoyed your recent dining and cocktail drinks experience with us.

Thank you once again and our entire team look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Jennifer Mo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fortune Inn also viewed

Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Fortune Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing