We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A convenient Pickering Hotel with exceptional staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The White Swan Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Reigate, United Kingdom
1 review
“A convenient Pickering Hotel with exceptional staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

The White Swan was chosen as a venue for a reunion of business colleagues and their wives, following a recommendation. The Hotel lived up to this in every respect including the use of a private dining room. The staff were efficient and friendly throughout and Tracie, on Reception, was most helpful dealing with a postponement and rearrangement due to weather.

Stayed April 2011
Helpful?
Thank 504181Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2011
Thank you for your review. We do a lot of sporting parties in the winter so small groups are something we like to think we do well. Hope business is booming so that you can come back soon. Tracy always enjoys a name check so thanks for that too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    137
    39
    18
    8
See reviews for
69
417
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

after a wonderful stay between Xmas and New Year, i returned for a few days with my 14 year old son......more perfection. it seems impossible to fault this place and they did us proud once again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryLouStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2011
Great to have you back and thank you for another lovely review. Come again soon. We have a White Swan Club for frequently flyers so keep coming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire - ENGLAND
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

We arrived to a very warm welcome and complimentary tea and coffee. Dinner was delicious and the wine was very reasonably priced with a good selection. The little things made the difference; complimentary papers, lots of glossy magazines in the club room (and a pool table!) which was nicely furnished also free canapes before dinner!

It reminded us of a Hotel Du Vin but with better food!

For our second night we stayed in a Contemporary Court Yard Room, which if you get a good rate would deffinately be our choice.

ALL of the staff were polite, professional and a credit to the hotel.

Room Tip: Book a Courtyard Room, well worth the extra £
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stubeyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2011
Thank you for your great review. Not everyone gets our food so pleased you did. Come back soon and next time you are tempted by a H du V special offer - tell me and I'll match it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We stayed in a Vintage Inn room which was not huge but very clean and nicely furnished and equipped - big bath, plenty of hot water, bathrobes, comfortable bed. The amosphere was upmarket but relaxed. Lovely open fires. Could not find fault with the service or food - we had two breakfasts and two evening meals which were delicious and we stayed in the resturant all night without being rushed. The Club Room is an excellent extra facility for hotel guests. We have recommended this to our relatives who have already booked to stay next month.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pigfoot39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2011
Thank you for your kind review and apologies for not saying this sooner. I hope your relatives had a great time too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigg, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

A beautiful place to stay, very warm and welcoming with friendly approachable staff on hand. Comfy relaxing bar areas with lovely real log fires and cosy aarmchairs in which to relax. Restaurant is very spacious, but also very cosy, with a big log fire. Food was 5* - excellent and a very good choice for excellent value and extremely well presented. The rooms have been done out to a high standard with every extra finishing touch - candles in the bathroom, homemade biscuits aand bathrobes just to mention a few!! The bathroom itself was lovely with an amazing and very powerful shower. Overall, we had a fantasic weekend stay and will definately be coming back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby080810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2011
Thank you for your review. The guy who made the biscuits is now making them for us next door in our new Deli and cafe called Feast. I do hope you fancy a weekend in Pickering again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

Brilliant Stay! I wish we had stayed longer. From the moment we arrived we felt comfortable. The room although smallish was nice. Decorated nicely and to a high standard! Rooms had a DVD player, comfortable bed and even home made cookies! The welcome guide was a good read! So many nice personal touches that made the stay special.

The staff were very nice, helpful and very professional. Made us feel welcome and that nothing was too much trouble

The food was fabulous! Dinner was excellent, just wish I had enough room for pudding! Breakfast was lovely, home made marmalade, gorgeous sausages from local butcher and the eggs Benedict was delicious!

We would definitely stay again – I just wish it was closer to Hampshire which is where we are from.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dizzypen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2011
Thank you for your great review. Can't offer much assistance on the geography front except that the train service from Kings X to York connects with a train to Malton which is 8 miles away. The journey is 2.5hrs from London and then a ten minute taxi ride. If you come when the NYM Steam Railway is running then you can easily get away without a car here with plenty to do - and Sunday afternoon in 1st Class (for nothing if you book ahead) with the papers isn't a bad way to travel on the way back. (There is also a train to York direct from Reading I think but it takes a bit longer)

I do hope you can come back soon - stay for longer even and make the journey really worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

When booking this hotel as a suprise 40th birthday present for my wife the hotel were asked to send all correspondence through my inlaws but 1 week after booking the confirmation letter and reciept were sent to my home address and addressed to MY WIFE. Contacted the hotel who did apologise but the damage was done.
Arrived at the hotel which was tidy and clean and all log fires. Room was nice and reasonably spacious.
Throughout the visit the staff were very polite but also very robotic and slightly personalityless.
Hotel restaurant was nice but very expensive and again a bit lacking in atmosphere.
On the whole it was very disappointing and would not recommend for the price.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hica123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, 22 February 2011
I can't imagine the disappointment of having your surprise spoiled by our incompetence of sending the confirmation to the wrong address and I thoroughly accept that it wasn't enough just to give you an upgrade and then not mention it again during your stay - no wonder you didn't enjoy it much. This is really poor service on our part and I apologise profusely. I will be in touch privately to see if we can't make amends somehow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
0.3 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
17.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
13.5 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Inn

Property: The White Swan Inn
Address: Market Place | North Yorkshire, Pickering YO18 7AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome awaits you at this proper family run Inn. Next year will be our 30th at The White Swan and we have just about got things organised. From the moment you walk through the doors you'll feel at home. We aim to keep things simple and just let you relax ...Tom Parker Bowles reckons 'Every market town should have a White Swan' and the Daily Telegraph described us as 'God's own Country Pub' on a recent visit. If you read the reviews here you will get a flavour of what we are trying to do. We are an Inn with a lovely restaurant and 2 rosette food but not the plastic fine dining you find in many four star properties. Real food, real people, lovely rooms and great value for money.And by the way if you are not delighted I will give you your money back so long as you tell us at the time.Victor Buchanan - Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, SpeedyBooker.com and Priceline so you can book your The White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Pickering
The White Swan Inn Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing