We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”
Review of The White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Swan Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I've stayed here once before and happily found the service this time to be of the same high standard as before. The receptionist, bar staff and restaurant staff couldn't be more helpful or friendly without being intrusive. The food in the restaurant was excellent and despite several promises to ourselves not to have a pudding as we'd eaten both a starter and a main course, we failed miserably and had delicious puddings on each of the three nights. Breakfast is also excellent and there is a choice of cereal, fruits, yoghurts etc before you tuck into a cooked breakfast. The eggs benedict is fabulous and so is the homemade marmalade.

We used the Clubroom this time which has an honesty bar, pool table, TVs, magazines and books. A nice place to relax if you don't fancy sitting in the bar. It's a shame the weather wasn't better as there is also a nice outside seating area here.

It's within easy walking distance of the North Yorkshire Moors Railway station so it's great to be able to leave the car behind and take one of the steam trains to any of the small train stations along the route to Whitby and do a circular walk from there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieC100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

A thousand apologies for not responding to your great review sooner. I do try and respond to all reviews but yours seems to have slipped through my net. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your latest visit and that standards are being maintained. We are 28 years as a family business at The White Swan and we are still passionate about what we do! Come again very soon.

Regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

533 - 539 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

We've wanted to stay here for sometime but have always been disappointed as this hotel is always fully booked. Booked a great last minute deal for Easter Sunday and stayed in one of the modern hideaway rooms (no.16). Our room was lovely, the staff were warm and friendly. I cannot fault this hotel and we will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PorscheGirl997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you for your kind review. I am sorry (and surprised) that you haven't been able to get in before now and I only wish it were true that we are always full. Those were the days!

Keep your eye on our web site which is where the best rates are published (as opposed to the on-line travel agents through whom we do very little discounting because they charge mad commissions).

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards

Victor Buchanan - victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed at the white swan for our first anniversary and had a really lovely time. Our room was lovely and the food was amazing. However this time we stayed in room no 1 which is a family room. The room was lovely and again our dining experience was to a very high standard. We returned to our room and there was some noise coming from a wine bar next door. The music gradually got louder, and the people coming out to smoke were loud and this continued until until two in the morning and our young baby was unsettled by the noise. I would recommend the hotel but not room number one as this is not fit as a family room due to so much noise. This is an issue I hope the hotel will take up with the wine bar. We enjoyed everything until bedtime. It spoilt our experience of the white swan inn and if others experience this they would not be happy in the morning. We feel it might be a long time before we return to the white swan as we payed quite a lot of money for our room and had to put up with the really loud noise. We did report it in the morning and the receptionist seemed to be aware that it was the wine bar next door. Maybe there should be a warning to familys who may book this room to avoid upset.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel are not suitable for familys due to noise levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Sharon

I apologise for the experience but I am at pains to say that noise from next door is largely outside our control. I would like to communicate with you directly rather than through here and I certainly don't want this to spoil the relationship you had started to build with the White Swan.

This is an occasional nightmare but fortunately they are only allowed to have music nights every now and then when they apply for a special permit - they are allowed six of these a year I think. The council have forced them to restrict the volume level of their normal music system but the restriction doesn't seem to apply to their 'special nights' - you might have thought they would inform us of these events but they don't even have the courtesy to do that. The owners really couldn't care less (although they claim otherwise to the Council) and percieve us as busy bodies when we complain.

This doesn't alter the fact that their anti-social behavior has had this effect on you and you are right to report it here - even though it will certainly not do us any good. I would also like you to put your experience in writing to me so that I can use it as evidence with the Council. I have just spoken to the Licensing Officer and he will take some action.

We have lots of other rooms that are certainly not affected by our neighbour and I would like you to get in contact with me in order that we can do something about putting your otherwise great experiences of the White Swan back on track.

Best regards

Victor - victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

As I live locally, I have nver stayed at the hotel but have taken lunch, dinner and morning coffee on many occasions often with visiting friends and family. They are always impressed and I can be sure that we will always get the same friendly, comfortable but classy expereince with great food and service - thank you, the White Swan team.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Jan

It is always great to have local fans. It has taken us years to shake off an image that somehow the White Swan is just for tourists. Its not and I'm not sure it ever was - next year will see us celebrating 30 years in the place. Thank you for your custom.

Regards

Victor victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed for three nights in March and found all aspects of our stay to be excellent. The staff were welcoming, efficient and attentive, our room was comfortable and cozy and the food was fantastic. The ambience of the hotel was lovely and we would have no problem in recommending the hotel to others, or indeed coming back.
Nigel Atherden

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NigelRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Huge thank you from me and the team for your kind review. Haste ye back!
Best regards

Victor Buchanan. Victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Beautiful town location, Fine rooms, a warm welcome, brilliant food with a friendly and efficient team of staff and management. Will definitely be visiting again soon. Weekend deals 3 nights for price of two is favourite for me will take the wife! Well done all at the white swan and thank you

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiKill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review and your continued custom. We have a new website being launched in the next few weeks and all the best deals will be on there rather than available through booking agents.

Best regards

Victor Buchanan. Victorb@White-swan.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed in January and had a lovely stay. Great location in the centre of Pickering. The room was spotless and the bathroom very spacious. Staff were very friendly. Great touch that they have a selection of DVDs to borrow free of charge.We had a meal in the restaurant that was top class.We have recommended this hotel to our friends already and we would definitely stay again. There is a lovely residents lounge with anhonesty bar and homemade biscuits!

Room Tip: We stayed in a courtyard room with underfloor heating
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

No prize but congratulations on being the 100th reviewer to leave us a review with the 'excellent' grade of five stars. Thanks also for your room tip. The rooms in the courtyard are called 'hideaway' rooms because we feel that you could just retreat to one and not come out if you so wanted.

We really appreciate your time and thank you for such a kind review. Come back soon.

Best wishes - Victor. victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.1 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.3 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
255 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,118 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
536 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Inn

Address: Market Place | North Yorkshire, Pickering YO18 7AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range: £145 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome awaits you at this proper family run Inn. Next year will be our 30th at The White Swan and we have just about got things organised. From the moment you walk through the doors you'll feel at home. We aim to keep things simple and just let you relax ...Tom Parker Bowles reckons 'Every market town should have a White Swan' and the Daily Telegraph described us as 'God's own Country Pub' on a recent visit. If you read the reviews here you will get a flavour of what we are trying to do. We are an Inn with a lovely restaurant and 2 rosette food but not the plastic fine dining you find in many four star properties. Real food, real people, lovely rooms and great value for money.And by the way if you are not delighted I will give you your money back so long as you tell us at the time.Victor Buchanan - Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Pickering
The White Swan Inn Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing