We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“another lovely visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The White Swan Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Tetney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“another lovely visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

This is the 4th time we have been here and it still ticks all the boxes. Wonderful food, beautiful dining room with a roaring fire, faultless accommodation, ( we were given room 19, lovely and warm and decor is top end.) Easy parking. We always feel at home here. The staff are all friendly and welcoming, Tracey and the team provide exceptional service. Such a pleasant place. We will be back. Thank you.

Room Tip: The hideaway rooms are really spacious and a little off site so very quiet. Also the Club room is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Norman195

Thank you very much indeed for your kind words. It is always great to get feedback from 'seasoned' guests who have been several times. I think it shows other TA users that some places can maintain standards. Keep your eye on the web site for offers although you will probably already be receiving them by email (hope you don't find that annoying) It is always good for morale when someone gets a mention by name. Tracie will be pleased.

We await your 5th visit!

Best wishes

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    137
    39
    18
    8
See reviews for
69
417
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We returned to the White Swan for our 30th Anniversay for the first time for many years.We stayed in room 18 which was in the courtyard and very peaceful and well finished.
We found the service very good ,Jeanette especially was excellent.
The food in the restuarant was good, breakfast was worthy of a special mention ,although we felt the lack of use of tablecloths at both breakfast and dinner, let the finish down somewhat.
My only criticism would be that it is relatively expensive, our 2 night break cost well over £500 including dinner and drinks ,for which you could have a weekend in Paris or Barcelona.
But as Pickering holds special memories for us it where we wanted to be on our anniversary,and in their defence its worth pointing out that the White Swan is a very popular hotel and you normally need to book well in advance, so the cost is relative to demand.
On the whole if you want to stay in or near Pickering this is the best hotel in our view

Room Tip: room 18 in the courtyard picks up free wi-fi from the residents games room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean Calculator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Dean

Thank you so much for your kind review and congratulations on your 30th anniversary. We will have been at The White Swan for 30 years in 2014.

It is always good to get a 'revisit' review where our guest maintains the rating. Jeanette will be especially pleased to get a mention by name.

The tablecloth debate rages on - some like formal, some don't. We prefer to have a relaxed and informal atmosphere in the restaurant but we do use tablecloths in the Private Dining Room. Next time you come I will personally make sure you have a table cloth if you would like one - we aim to please and all that.

In defence of our pricing stategy - we are often busy as you point out, we do charge a lot less than some other hotels at our level and unless we maintain prices we simply can't maintain quality because it is a fact that you get what you pay for. I can assure you that there is no Rolls Royce parked at my house! The difference between France and UK is that in France VAT on accommodation is 5% whereas here it is 20%. So much for a common market!

We do however do some great deals via the NEW website. These deals don't appear anywhere else so it is always a good idea to check with us before looking at other web based agents.

Thanks once again

Best wishes

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
179 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Six of us went here for Sunday lunch on Easter Sunday. We had a great lunch. We sat in the front room with the settees and the roaring fire. the menu was just right for Sunday lunch.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul1953uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Danke schoen for your kind review. I hope that you will be the first of many German guests this year. We helped film an episode of Sarah Weiners Culinary Adventures which will go to air on ARTE channel in May. It isn't screened in UK but aparently goes out to 11m people across Germany/France/Switzerland and Austria.

I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your visit to Yorkshire and that next time you might bring your friends and come and stay.

Best wishes

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

The best place in Pickering for a great coffee, warm and cosy bar, and a bowl of water for the dog also! Returned following day for a very nice lunch.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thanks for your review. We are always happy to serve people with dogs and I never understand those of my fellow hoteliers/innkeepers who aren't.

Best regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I've stayed here once before and happily found the service this time to be of the same high standard as before. The receptionist, bar staff and restaurant staff couldn't be more helpful or friendly without being intrusive. The food in the restaurant was excellent and despite several promises to ourselves not to have a pudding as we'd eaten both a starter and a main course, we failed miserably and had delicious puddings on each of the three nights. Breakfast is also excellent and there is a choice of cereal, fruits, yoghurts etc before you tuck into a cooked breakfast. The eggs benedict is fabulous and so is the homemade marmalade.

We used the Clubroom this time which has an honesty bar, pool table, TVs, magazines and books. A nice place to relax if you don't fancy sitting in the bar. It's a shame the weather wasn't better as there is also a nice outside seating area here.

It's within easy walking distance of the North Yorkshire Moors Railway station so it's great to be able to leave the car behind and take one of the steam trains to any of the small train stations along the route to Whitby and do a circular walk from there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieC100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
A thousand apologies for not responding to your great review sooner. I do try and respond to all reviews but yours seems to have slipped through my net. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your latest visit and that standards are being maintained. We are 28 years as a family business at The White Swan and we are still passionate about what we do! Come again very soon.

Regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We've wanted to stay here for sometime but have always been disappointed as this hotel is always fully booked. Booked a great last minute deal for Easter Sunday and stayed in one of the modern hideaway rooms (no.16). Our room was lovely, the staff were warm and friendly. I cannot fault this hotel and we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PorscheGirl997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your kind review. I am sorry (and surprised) that you haven't been able to get in before now and I only wish it were true that we are always full. Those were the days!

Keep your eye on our web site which is where the best rates are published (as opposed to the on-line travel agents through whom we do very little discounting because they charge mad commissions).

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards

Victor Buchanan - victorb@white-swan.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed at the white swan for our first anniversary and had a really lovely time. Our room was lovely and the food was amazing. However this time we stayed in room no 1 which is a family room. The room was lovely and again our dining experience was to a very high standard. We returned to our room and there was some noise coming from a wine bar next door. The music gradually got louder, and the people coming out to smoke were loud and this continued until until two in the morning and our young baby was unsettled by the noise. I would recommend the hotel but not room number one as this is not fit as a family room due to so much noise. This is an issue I hope the hotel will take up with the wine bar. We enjoyed everything until bedtime. It spoilt our experience of the white swan inn and if others experience this they would not be happy in the morning. We feel it might be a long time before we return to the white swan as we payed quite a lot of money for our room and had to put up with the really loud noise. We did report it in the morning and the receptionist seemed to be aware that it was the wine bar next door. Maybe there should be a warning to familys who may book this room to avoid upset.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel are not suitable for familys due to noise levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Sharon

I apologise for the experience but I am at pains to say that noise from next door is largely outside our control. I would like to communicate with you directly rather than through here and I certainly don't want this to spoil the relationship you had started to build with the White Swan.

This is an occasional nightmare but fortunately they are only allowed to have music nights every now and then when they apply for a special permit - they are allowed six of these a year I think. The council have forced them to restrict the volume level of their normal music system but the restriction doesn't seem to apply to their 'special nights' - you might have thought they would inform us of these events but they don't even have the courtesy to do that. The owners really couldn't care less (although they claim otherwise to the Council) and percieve us as busy bodies when we complain.

This doesn't alter the fact that their anti-social behavior has had this effect on you and you are right to report it here - even though it will certainly not do us any good. I would also like you to put your experience in writing to me so that I can use it as evidence with the Council. I have just spoken to the Licensing Officer and he will take some action.

We have lots of other rooms that are certainly not affected by our neighbour and I would like you to get in contact with me in order that we can do something about putting your otherwise great experiences of the White Swan back on track.

Best regards

Victor - victorb@white-swan.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
0.3 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
17.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
13.5 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Inn

Property: The White Swan Inn
Address: Market Place | North Yorkshire, Pickering YO18 7AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome awaits you at this proper family run Inn. Next year will be our 30th at The White Swan and we have just about got things organised. From the moment you walk through the doors you'll feel at home. We aim to keep things simple and just let you relax ...Tom Parker Bowles reckons 'Every market town should have a White Swan' and the Daily Telegraph described us as 'God's own Country Pub' on a recent visit. If you read the reviews here you will get a flavour of what we are trying to do. We are an Inn with a lovely restaurant and 2 rosette food but not the plastic fine dining you find in many four star properties. Real food, real people, lovely rooms and great value for money.And by the way if you are not delighted I will give you your money back so long as you tell us at the time.Victor Buchanan - Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, SpeedyBooker.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your The White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Pickering
The White Swan Inn Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing