We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”
Review of The White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Swan Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We had a fantastic weekend at the White Swan , we arrived late friday evening to be greeted by very friendly staff that made us feel very welcome. We were shown to our room personally (which we thought was a lovely touch), we then went for a meal in the restaurant and again nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the meal was superb. Our room was excellent with the little extra's from dressing gowns to bottled water. The room was lovely with outstanding quality furnishings and was exceptionally clean as was everywhere within the hotel. The breakfast again was outstanding and it was so good to sample the local produce of the area. The guest welcome pack book was a treat to read as it had great humour which had us both in stitches reading it .... Thank you all at The White Swan for a great relaxing weekend

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CumbriaRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review. Our basic game plan is to offer lots of 'details' like the ones you picked up on in a friendly (but not over familiar) way, in a relaxed setting to a higher standard than one might expect in a Market Town Inn.

My pet hates are stuck-up Armani suited hotel employees who behave like security guards and kitchen staff who think that whizzing up mushroom soup, or lark's vomit or whatever into a froth makes them a chef.

So you won't ever find those here - as you happily have noticed. Glad you also enjoyed the room guide. The original version of the room guide was written in 1996 and we have just released the 2012 version so I hope that was the one you read. If not - you will have to come back to read it!

Regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 692 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed at The White Swan last year and are looking forward to going back again this year. The staff were very helpful and struck the perfect balance between being very friendly but with total professional. The room was lovely with good quality furnishings and was exceptionally clean. The food was an absolute treat - I only wished we lived closer so we could visit the restaurant more often! Superb management team, a real gem to find.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2012

Dear Joanna F

Thanks for your kind review. Have you booked yet? Take a really good look at the web site if you haven't because if you are flexible with dates there are a few 'High 5' days left. Where we sell 5 rooms off our website at a potty price for Dinner Bed & Breakfast - £100 pounds off to be precise. It is only available on a couple of days per month however. Let me know when you are coming?

Regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Part of a group of 10 staying for 2 nights dinner, bed and breakfast we were very impressed with The White Swan. The friendly but polite staff gave us excellent service and nothing was too much trouble if asked. The food was consistently delicious with an excellent choice of wines and beers. The residents lounge was a particularly great party room for our group to use for pre dinner drinks as all the pub rooms were full.We had a super 2 nights and a special thank you to all the staff for helping to make it so enjoyable. Can't wait to go again. Lynn Hewison.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L1nnH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Thank you very much for your 5 star review. It was indeed a pleasure to host your group and we look forward to your next visit - either as a group or on your own.

After a number of observations on this site about price, we took a decision to change our price structure this week so there are now some excellent rates that only appear on our website or direct with us.

Regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Stayed for a weekend with a group of friends. The Hideaway rooms in the main hotel are small but adequate for a couple of days, there was a problem with the shower but this was fixed straight away.
Couldn't fault the staff or the food, we ate in a private room on both nights, and the guest ales were an added bonus!
There is a seperate lounge for guests across the car park with TV and honesty bar, which is useful as the main bar/lounge can get busy on a weekend.
Would definitely recommend for a weekend break together with a trip on the North Yorkshire Moors Railway to Whitby.

Room Tip: The Vintage rooms are bigger and would recommend for a longer stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Thanks for your kind review. It was a pleasure to look after your group and I hope that you all enjoyed the Steam Gala.

Regards

Victor

NB - One correction though is that the rooms inside the main hotel are called Vintage and the rooms outside are called Hideaway - the Hideaways are bigger than all but two of the Vintage rooms and are priced slightly higher.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We had a lovely couple of days at the White Swan and look forward to a return visit. The inn itself is very old and has loads of character. The bar and the snug are both quite small, but very cosy. Our room was one of the Hideaway rooms in the courtyard and we were very pleased with it. It was quite a large room decorated in neutral coulours with a great york stone floor with underfloor heating (I think). The room was very well equipped with large flat screen TV, mini bar fridge, wine and water glasses, complimentary waters. The room was certainly large enough to take a second comfy chair, or small settee, which would be a good idea so that one person is not left sitting on the bed. The bathroom was clean, all white and very modern, with a big bath and a walk in shower. There were very good quality towels and bathrobes and nice soaps and shower gels (+ candles in the bathroom, a nice thought). Best of all it was so peaceful, we never heard a thing outside. You can park your car right outside the room (big relief, since the inn is on the busy main street) and it's only then a hop and a skip across the courtyard into the inn for dinner and lots of great wine! We ate both nights in the restaurant and the food was first class. I can definitely recommend the fish and chips with mushy peas! Breakfast was very good indeed. It was a very cold couple of days and although our room was lovely and warm, this is an old inn and there were slight draughts in the dining room. I don't say this as a criticism, it can't be helped in such an old building, just don't go sleeveless in cold weather. To be honest, it was just a bit expensive, but I did know that before booking so no use complaining! The service throughout was excellent and the staff are clearly trying to please and to make sure that everyone has a great stay. I'm really looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: Hideaway room was very quiet, no noise or disturbance at all.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank curlycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Thank you so much for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for the feedback re draughts in the dining room. Because we have a fire in the restaurant we have to have ventilation of a specified size according to building regs. This can sometimes - but certainly not always - cause a draught at one end of the restaurant that really affects only two tables. It is perfectly possible to avoid the draught so the next time you come just let us know that you previously experienced it and we will make sure that you sit well away.

Best regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Great place for a weekend. Right in the middle of the lovely town of Pickering and good access to local areas. The hotel really tries hard on all fronts with excellent friendly staff, nice rooms, decent food and a lovely lounge and bar with good real ales. There is also a very good wine list with some older vintages and a special focus on St Emilion. My only criticism is that the glassware doesn't measure up to the quality of the wines - they need to invest in better quality (lighter, thinner glass and better shaped) glasses at least for the finer wines.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidH21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Dear David

Thank you for your review. I thought I had replied to it already so apologies for the delay. We will certainly have a look at our glassware - we do try and strike a balance between having beautiful but impractical glasses and ones that stand-up to the beating they get in the hotel. Yours is the first feedback we have on this and I agree you have a point so it will be discussed the next time we are buying glasses.

Regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights at the White Swan to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary last week. Have to say that we couldn't fault it. We were warmly greeted at Reception and were given a comphrehensive introduction on what was on offer and everything we needed to know about our stay. Our room was a Vintage Nest which although was a little small was in fact well decorated, clean and very comfortable (and with his/her bathrobes !). Having said that we only look at bedrooms as somewhere to bathe and sleep. Whenever we came across a member of staff, young and old, whatever their position, they always said hello with a smile, very refreshing ! We ate in the restuarant on one of our nights and boy what a meal ! It was just fantastic ! The restaurant itself is very quaint with a terrific ambience (open fire if its nippy) and an ideal atmosphere to eat. Breakfast was equally as good. Some comments on TA are saying that its expensive to stay here, I can see why they would say that, but for us it was very good value for money and the price won't stop us from going back at some point. Thanks White Swan Inn for helping to give us a memorable wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToastieTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Thank you for your kind review and I'm glad your 30th Anniversary was a success. Why not try a Hideaway room the next time you come which are considerably bigger than the Vintage Nest rooms. There are currently some cracking bargains on our web site which we don't offer anywhere else.

Best regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.1 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.3 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
256 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,132 reviews
11.6 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
11.5 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Inn

Address: Market Place | North Yorkshire, Pickering YO18 7AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range: £154 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome awaits you at this proper family run Inn. Next year will be our 30th at The White Swan and we have just about got things organised. From the moment you walk through the doors you'll feel at home. We aim to keep things simple and just let you relax ...Tom Parker Bowles reckons 'Every market town should have a White Swan' and the Daily Telegraph described us as 'God's own Country Pub' on a recent visit. If you read the reviews here you will get a flavour of what we are trying to do. We are an Inn with a lovely restaurant and 2 rosette food but not the plastic fine dining you find in many four star properties. Real food, real people, lovely rooms and great value for money.And by the way if you are not delighted I will give you your money back so long as you tell us at the time.Victor Buchanan - Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Pickering
The White Swan Inn Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing