We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White Swan Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Manse Hotel(Pickering)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Easthill Farm House(Thornton-Le-Dale)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Lastingham Grange(Lastingham)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Head Hotel(Kirkbymoorside)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (724)
Filter reviews
724 results
Traveller rating
494
159
42
20
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
494
159
42
20
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshideaway roomginger pighonesty barvintage roommain buildingkedgereewine bar next doorhomemade biscuitsbelly porkresidents loungecosy barcomfy sofasunderfloor heatingfish and chipsopen firebirthday treatthe north yorkshire moors railway
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
418 - 423 of 724 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I'd been looking to stay in York but really didn't fancy your run of the mill chain hotel then came across the White Swan and struck gold!! Although its about a 40 minute drive from York its well worth it. We stayed in courtyard room 14 which was n 2 levels with the bottom floor consisting of a lounge area including roll top bath and separate bathroom which was wet room style with shower made for 2. The upstairs area was the bedroom with dressing table. The room had a mini bar (tho i thought the prices were a bit steep) as well as usual tea and coffee but also very yummy hand made biscuits!!! The inn is in the centre of the very pretty town of Pickering which has a few places to eat in the evening as well as many tea shops for the day time. We ate in the restaurant on one of our nights and the food was very nice. The breakfasts were very good and you were definitely set up for the day. I'd recommend that anyone staying here makes sure they read the a-z advice book in the room...very amusing!!! All the staff at the inn were extremely friendly and helpful making the whole weekend very relaxing which was wonderful. All in all a great place to stay!!!

Room Tip: Room 14 was just great !!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milliemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Very disappointing. Despite booking months in advance and having written confirmation the rooms we had booked were not available. To add insult to injury they tried to charge for the higher room rate. Not a good customer experience

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for review. I apologise unreservedly and we must accept that sometimes things just go wrong. We have recently taken on a brilliant new Head Receptionist and so hopefully mistakes like this will be kept to a minimum. Too late for you of course. Sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

An absolutely brilliant place for a last minute weekend away for the wife and me who were allowed to accompany Sid (officially the World's most excellent dog). He was very happy with his sofa - and even more impressed with the reaction he got in the bar. His dish of water arrived faster than my pint - but was no more welcome. The food, service, decor, are all first class - and the Full Englis breakfast even better than that, if that is possible. PIckering itself is a lovely quiet market town in the midst of some of the most beautiful countryside. I can't recommend this place highly enough - especially if you're looking for somewhere that is truly dog friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed just one night here last week, but wished it could have been more. This is an old coaching inn with real character, and although it does not look particularly impressive from the street, inside it is a very well appointed small hotel with excellent staff. We had booked a superior room in the old part of the building and found ourselves with a comfortable sitting room as well as a large bedroom. The furnishings were far better than those in most hotels and the bed, though rather low, was large and comfortable. The evening meal was excellent - we had been advised to book a table well in advance and even on a damp Tuesday night in late September the restaurant was full, a very good sign. Meal are not cheap, but the quality is excellent. Breakfast equally good, with proper pots of homemade jams and marmalades on the table - none of your plastic sealed containers. The attention of the staff to every detail is worth a special mention - and everything done with a friendly smile. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CM_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

As a couple we stayed for a four night-but-pay-for-three break mid September.

We had our whippet with us and so were accommodated in the Hideaway Rooms at the rear of the hotel. Parking was dead easy and there were no problems with finding a space. Consequently luggage transfer was a cinch!

The staff were very efficient and really must be well-motivated as early in the morning when taking the dog for a walk I was acknowledged in the street by one of the employees.

The room was warm and comfortable but some may find it too warm if settings are used on the room thermostat as one would at home but if it's reduced to say 15*C then the room is fine. The reason for this is that the 'stat is positioned only a metre from the floor rather than the 1.8m as is the norm.

Housekeeping was excellent with good supplies of tea and coffee etc.

The evening meals in the restaurant are very good, maybe a little pricey but at least what is served is top-quality. The Harrogate mineral water in a 750 ml bottle at £6-25 a bottle however is at the top-end and actually is more expensive then petrol but not as expensive as printer ink!

Our whippet was made welcome everywhere except for the main restaurant and we ate in the front parlour (with a good view of the street) instead with her.

WiFi access is challenging and where it's excellent in the old hotel (AFAIK), in the Hideaway rooms it was poor due to the fact that the Netgear 2 GHz antenna is mounted in a corner, low down, next to a wall and effectively shielded so that the radiation is attenuated. The public room known as "The Bothy" opposite to it is well-served and is the best spot.

We would certainly stay here again

Room Tip: The west facing Hideaway Rooms are away from the extract fan noise of the kitchen
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gee4oyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews